Emma 6/28 AMPS 383 +6 208 PMPS 297

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: Emma 6/28 AMPS 383

It's possible she is bouncing from last nite.
AMPS can take longer to lower - but I hope you see some pretty blues today.

Have a good Day Kristen!
 
Re: Emma 6/28 AMPS 383

HI Kristen, Yes, it's frustrating to get those high AMPS. It's probably a bounce, so wait to see if Emma comes down later today.

Ella & Stu
 
Re: Emma 6/28 AMPS 383

Ok, thanks! I'm back to work today, but I'll be popping home to test her around +6, and then I'll be home around +10 for rest of the evening. I think this is how I'll refer to all my times now - it's no longer noon, it's +6 :)

I spoke with the vet this AM, and she wants to keep her at 0.5U BID for 2 weeks then have me do a curve at home (Emma is a nightmare at the vet's office - she's #2 on their list of really bad patients). I also told her about the spreadsheet you all have put together, and she's interested to see Emma's, so I'm going to email her the link when I get home today.

I'm grateful that I've had some time to get used to testing her BG and to the idea that insulin was coming at some point, otherwise I can see how this whole thing can be overwhelming. And I really appreciate everyone's input - thank you!
 
Re: Emma 6/28 AMPS 383 +6 208

Hi Kristen. Just wanted to wish you and Emma a good BG week. :smile:
 
It takes about 5 - 7 days for the initial doses of Lantus to contribute toward building the shed. In practical terms, what this means is that not all of the Lantus that you're shooting is fully available fur use. A little bit of each dose goes into storage. If you go back to the sticky note on the dosing protocols, you'll see that we begin to raise the dose after that initial period. It also means that it will be up to you whether you want to follow your vet's direction and hold the dose for two weeks or follow the dosing protocol. You might want to send the vet a copy of the Rand version of the protocol since it is directly from a vet and it references an article published in a veterinary journal.
 
Re: Emma 6/28 AMPS 383 +6 208 PMPS 297 +2 220 +4 187

thank you Sienne - I've read all the sticky notes, but I didn't catch the 5-7 days to fill the storage shed. I'm a bit leary about moving too fast in changing her dose because her numbers aren't astronomical. She actually got into the blues last night! But, I will talk to the vet and see what she thinks. I emailed her a link to emma's spreadsheet last night so she can keep tabs on it.

Thanks again.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top