Emergency

Status
Not open for further replies.

Din

Member Since 2023
My cierra going hypo. 3.2
I’m keep giving her honey not responding. She had 6 day’s diarrhoea.
Find out CKDstage 3
 
I tagged several experts for you they should contact you shortly:bighug::cat::cat:
Thank you so much Corky, All of them have helped me in the past alot and alot. I keep giving her honey now it’s going to 4.6 hope to increase it more thank you again
 
Thank you so much Corky, All of them have helped me in the past alot and alot. I keep giving her honey now it’s going to 4.6 hope to increase it more thank you again
Do you have Medium carb foods between 12-15% or high carbs (gravy) foods between 15-20% ? the Karo syrup or honey is just a quick fix, if you fed 1 tsp every 1/2-1 hour and test after 15 minutes of eating you will see better results, and it will help the BG be in a safer number, I tried looking at your spreadsheet, but I was not able to change it to US or find todays data, to be hypoglycemic in US numbers it would be 50 or lower, try giving small amounts of food, no more honey and u watch results while other members post you below is a food chart, the third column has the % of carbs for each food and there are many brands
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/dr-pierson-new-food-chart.174147/
 
  • Like
Reactions: Din
Do you have Medium carb foods between 12-15% or high carbs (gravy) foods between 15-20% ? the Karo syrup or honey is just a quick fix, if you fed 1 tsp every 1/2-1 hour and test after 15 minutes of eating you will see better results, and it will help the BG be in a safer number, I tried looking at your spreadsheet, but I was not able to change it to US or find todays data, to be hypoglycemic in US numbers it would be 50 or lower, try giving small amounts of food, no more honey and u watch results while other members post you below is a food chart, the third column has the % of carbs for each food and there are many brands
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/dr-pierson-new-food-chart.174147/
Do you have Medium carb foods between 12-15% or high carbs (gravy) foods between 15-20% ? the Karo syrup or honey is just a quick fix, if you fed 1 tsp every 1/2-1 hour and test after 15 minutes of eating you will see better results, and it will help the BG be in a safer number, I tried looking at your spreadsheet, but I was not able to change it to US or find todays data, to be hypoglycemic in US numbers it would be 50 or lower, try giving small amounts of food, no more honey and u watch results while other members post you below is a food chart, the third column has the % of carbs for each food and there are many brands
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/dr-pierson-new-food-chart.174147/
I have 14. Carbs food , and honey , because she got diarrhoea what she eat she does poo within few minutes. Now I’m giving honey from around two hours. It’s going up and Down :(
 
I have 14. Carbs food , and honey , because she got diarrhoea what she eat she does poo within few minutes. Now I’m giving honey from around two hours. It’s going up and Down :(

try giving 1/2-1 tsp at a time every 1/2 hour of the 14 carb, wait 15 minutes test, repeat, perhaps too much honey is causing the diarrhea, and like I said the honey is just a quick fix, the food will stable the BG. do you know the US conversion of his
BG for his last test?
 
Sorry I have desaster messed life . I have not updated SS. I do not check BG everyday, because I’m using Freestyle libre . And don’t have money to keep buy it. I do set one libre for a month. US number is 58
 
Sorry I have desaster messed life . I have not updated SS. I do not check BG everyday, because I’m using Freestyle libre . And don’t have money to keep buy it. I do set one libre for a month. US number is 58
do not go by the Libre, unfortunately is not only expensive but the monitor totally misreads the low numbers 58 it is low but not hypo yet, and probably not accurate, the libre tends to fall off or stop working before the 14 days, most of us members use the ReliOn Premier Human meter and strips, very inexpensive $ 12.00US for the monitor and for 50 strips $9.00US , he is probably by my experience with the Libre his BG is not 58 but probably in the 60's, just continue feeding small amounts of food, no more honey ok, I will tag My ProZinc expert again, she will respond shortly I am sure, don't worry we are here for you:bighug::bighug:;):cat::cat:
@Suzanne & Darcy
 
try giving 1/2-1 tsp at a time every 1/2 hour of the 14 carb, wait 15 minutes test, repeat, perhaps too much honey is causing the diarrhea, and like I said the honey is just a quick fix, the food will stable the BG. do you know the US conversion of his
BG for his last test?
Thank you so much Corky, much appreciate your reply’s I reply below more information
 
do not go by the Libre, unfortunately is not only expensive but the monitor totally misreads the low numbers 58 it is low but not hypo yet, and probably not accurate, the libre tends to fall off or stop working before the 14 days, most of us members use the ReliOn Premier Human meter and strips, very inexpensive $ 12.00US for the monitor and for 50 strips $9.00US , he is probably by my experience with the Libre his BG is not 58 but probably in the 60's, just continue feeding small amounts of food, no more honey ok, I will tag My ProZinc expert again, she will respond shortly I am sure, don't worry we are here for you:bighug::bighug:;):cat::cat:
@Suzanne & Darcy
Thank you so much Corky I really appreciate, I will stop giving honey now thank you again
 
have you been trying the food sequence as I explained? what is his BG right now US
Yes Corky , she did eat small amount of food but I put honey again hour and 30 minutes ago. But she poo every thing she ate. She got diarrhoea. Now it’s 68from US , according to libre it’s Red mark.
 
Yes Corky , she did eat small amount of food but I put honey again hour and 30 minutes ago. But she poo every thing she ate. She got diarrhoea. Now it’s 68from US , according to libre it’s Red mark.
NO HONEY!! please, that’s what’s causing the diarrea, 68 is not hypo just continue 1 tsp of low or medium carb every 1/2 hour and test no high carbs otherwise the opposite will happen between the honey and high carbs, only low or medium carb ok?? I’m here for you:bighug::bighug::cat::cat:
 
Yes Corky , she did eat small amount of food but I put honey again hour and 30 minutes ago. But she poo every thing she ate. She got diarrhoea. Now it’s 68from US , according to libre it’s Red mark.
like I said do not trust the Libre you need to test with a human monitor like ReliON Premier or the Accu, the low BGs are read by the Libre about 10 numbers lower, but still continue the food only, you can give some pumpkin puree for the diarrhea, like a 1/4 tsp in every other 1/2 tsp of food you do not want him to get dehydrated
 
still ok so far, just continue the food protocol every 1/2 hour/test when is the next dose?
Thank You Corky , ok I’ll stop giving honey now. I’m trying to feed her but she is not eating much, only few licks. Her AMPS Ccoming within 7 minutes. Also I did not give her PMPS because BG was low . I will update my Ss
 
Thank You Corky , ok I’ll stop giving honey now. I’m trying to feed her but she is not eating much, only few licks. Her AMPS Ccoming within 7 minutes. Also I did not give her PMPS because BG was low . I will update my Ss
licking is good, if you have gravy foods, then let her lick that, is higher carb, and is good you skipped the dose it was under the 80's, but no ore honey unless she goes 50 under, for now keep testing every 1/2hour or so, remember the Libre will always read lower than with an accurate human meter. do this for about 1 hour or so , I am here, if I cannot answer your concern I will tag someone who will, you can always PM a post, it is received as urgent, click on the profile phot, click on conversation, on title
type eg, !!? Low Bg for instance:bighug::bighug::cat::cat: we are here for you
 
Is Cierra showing signs of hypo? 58 (3.2) is above what we'd consider hypo range. And the Libre can often register lower than a hand held at that range. If you have a hand held BG meter, it's good to double check those lower numbers.
 
licking is good, if you have gravy foods, then let her lick that, is higher carb, and is good you skipped the dose it was under the 80's, but no ore honey unless she goes 50 under, for now keep testing every 1/2hour or so, remember the Libre will always read lower than with an accurate human meter. do this for about 1 hour or so , I am here, if I cannot answer your concern I will tag someone who will, you can always PM a post, it is received as urgent, click on the profile phot, click on conversation, on title
type eg, !!? Low Bg for instance:bighug::bighug::cat::cat: we are here for you
Thank you Corky, it’s 68 now , but now she is not eating anything I’ll try pumping purée for diarrhoea, now it’s 7 days vet gave Pro kolin, but it didn’t work.
 
Is Cierra showing signs of hypo? 58 (3.2) is above what we'd consider hypo range. And the Libre can often register lower than a hand held at that range. If you have a hand held BG meter, it's good to double check those lower numbers.
Hi , she was extremely lethargic, and couldn’t walk straight. Mabe it’s because she didn’t have any energy because she had diarrhoea Since Monday . Thank god it’s now not red it’s just pass red mark. Thank you Wendy and Neko
 
Thank you Corky, it’s 68 now , but now she is not eating anything I’ll try pumping purée for diarrhoea, now it’s 7 days vet gaveI told you the 1/2 tsps of food Pro kolin, but it didn’t work.
so now you know, when you see low BGs like in the 60-up to 65 more or less NO HONEY you know the protocol of test / tsps. until she gets high, the honey/KARO are only and only used when she would reach 50, ;)Good Job!!!!!!!:bighug::bighug::cat::cat:
 
  • Like
Reactions: Din
Hi , she was extremely lethargic, and couldn’t walk straight. Mabe it’s because she didn’t have any energy because she had diarrhoea Since Monday . Thank god it’s now not red it’s just pass red mark. Thank you Wendy and Neko
you can also hydrate her with water in a small 2ml units syringe about 3-4 times a day
 
@CORKY
Din lives in Australia so can’t get the ReliOn meters here.
Din, do you know what has caused the diarrhoea? Does your other kitty have it too?
Is she still weak and lethargic ?
How much insulin is she on now and have you been giving her all the doses?
One thing you could try giving her is cooked pumpkin. Buy some pumpkin from the supermarket and boil it in some water. Nothing else. Then drain it and mash it. Then give a teaspoon three times a day and see if that helps the diarrhoea.
 
Din, I can’t see your current SS. Do you have one?
gotcha on the ReliOn, I could not see the SS either, I wanted to say that I've tried to find that blue link help us help you and can't find it so I just copy paste the link, I hope that's ok, have a great weekend:bighug::bighug::cat:
 
so now you know, when you see low BGs like in the 60-up to 65 more or less NO HONEY you know the protocol of test / tsps. until she gets high, the honey/KARO are only and only used when she would reach 50, ;)Good Job!!!!!!!:bighug::bighug::cat::cat:
Thank you Corky ,really appreciated , yes no Honey if it’s above 50
 
@CORKY
Din lives in Australia so can’t get the ReliOn meters here.
Din, do you know what has caused the diarrhoea? Does your other kitty have it too?
Is she still weak and lethargic ?
How much insulin is she on now and have you been giving her all the doses?
One thing you could try giving her is cooked pumpkin. Buy some pumpkin from the supermarket and boil it in some water. Nothing else. Then drain it and mash it. Then give a teaspoon three times a day and see if that helps the diarrhoea.

Hi Bron,
Yes she is lethargic and sleeping every minute
Ii didn’t know what happened to her, she ate same food( raw chicken/ cooked chicken/ + RMM , Freeze dried chicken, or Freeze dried Lamb and Weruwa can food ) her tools were really good except the weruwa days) in Monday she got loose poo at night. Tuesday morning it was more , and Tuesday night started to poo in the room as well. So I kept kept her at laundry room since Tuesday night.
She ate but not her usual amount of food. Thursday we took her to vet . Not the vet in this town. We drove 50-60 km to next city. He did check blood pressure- it was super high, did blood work and her Unfortunately Creatinine 279
Urea 41
Phosphorus 3.66
SDMA 37
Vet said she got kidney issues, after scan he said one kidney is smaller.
I’m shattering Bron. I gave her low phosphorus food last two years. Ocationaly some food with high phosphorus.
I ask why she drinking her own pee, vet said he never heard anything like that,
He said diarrhoea can be because of the kidney issue.

Also I gave her worm medicine 14,
Anyway vet gave pro - kolin Gastro , I used it 6 times but I failed three times. She used to get 3.5 in the morning 2.5 in the afternoon, Thursday her BG was 10. So I didn’t give the insulin, Friday I gave 2.5 units in the morning 2 units evening , Saturday ( yesterday I gave 2.5 units in the morning ( BG was 13.) no insulin at night because BG was 5.9

do you remember we feed Royal canine dry food one night because I made a mistake and BG went down. After that I fed dry food today. I had to get some from my neighbour. Because now she is just liking smal amount of her usual food but not eating. She was so happy to see and eat kibbles

I did ask vet what should I do , he said give low protein and low phosphorus foods. Suggested Royal canine renal food. But I didn’t buy. After came home I joint to a FB page and realised Cierra must get Fluids everyday. Unfortunately vet didn’t give that option. I’m going to call the vet tomorrow ( they are closed weekends) and ask if i could get Sub Q fluids pack to use at home. That’s my last hope Bron,
 
Last edited:
gotcha on the ReliOn, I could not see the SS either, I wanted to say that I've tried to find that blue link help us help you and can't find it so I just copy paste the link, I hope that's ok, have a great weekend:bighug::bighug::cat:
Sorry Corky, I have not updated anything, my life is super messed I have big list to do things, this includes on that list , but has not done anything. , thank you so so much Corky, have a wonderful weekend
 
Din, did the vet check for ketones?

Was Cierra’s potassium normal?

What type of worm medicine did you give?

Did anything else change just before the diarrhea started?

I’m concerned for Cierra (and you). I’ll defer to Bron since she’s in Australia too and can guide you better than I can regarding what’s available and what to try. But I’m sending positive thoughts. :bighug:
 
I am concerned about ketones if she is lethargic. Do you have any Ketostix at home? If not you can buy at the chemist. You need to stick it under the steam of urine and then Read the result against the colours on the side of the bottle at exactly 15 seconds after you get the test.

The kidney results could be higher because she is dehydrated. And they might improve a bit when she is better.

Are you living in Melbourne now? I know you left Dubbo.
 
Din, did the vet check for ketones?

Was Cierra’s potassium normal?

What type of worm medicine did you give?

Did anything else change just before the diarrhea started?

I’m concerned for Cierra (and you). I’ll defer to Bron since she’s in Australia too and can guide you better than I can regarding what’s available and what to try. But I’m sending positive thoughts. :bighug:


Hi JL vet didn’t check ketones, he asked me to collect urine and hand over whenever I can.

Yes potassium is on level but phosphorus is high.

I gave her brand call Bravecto,

I suspect she might eat grass , my husband did spray weetkiller on Sunday morning she got sick on Monday evening.

Also unfortunately She is licking her own pee. She does not pee on the cat litter box. Pee on the floor and lick it, I put puppy pads and carpet with holes on top of that to stop it. But still she managed to lick it

thank you so much JL
 
I am concerned about ketones if she is lethargic. Do you have any Ketostix at home? If not you can buy at the chemist. You need to stick it under the steam of urine and then Read the result against the colours on the side of the bottle at exactly 15 seconds after you get the test

The kidney results could be higher because she is dehydrated. And they might improve a bit when she is better.

Are you living in Melbourne now? I know you left Dubbo.

Hi Bron I regularly check her Ketones on urine. No Bron I didn’t go back to Melbourne yet. I’m in Gundagai.​
This is a very small town. in April I took Cierra to vet in Gundagai. But she couldn’t take blood out. So this time we went to vet in the next city.

today I called vet and ask if I could buy Sub Q fluids, but he refused it Bron , giving Cirrea fluids was my last hope. I’m not driving Bron , I’m working in the 8.30 to 4.30, my husband drop me and going back to work because he is starting at 5- he finished at 9. I can not hospitals Cierra next city over 50 to 60 km.

Her blood pressure went extremely high at vet , she is taking blood pressure tablets too. Vet and nurse also was shocked by seen the way her blood pressure going up. I rather let het her die at home in peace than leave her at hospital in that much pressure.

don’t know what to do , is there any place I can buy Sub Q fluids online Bron ?
 
You really need to have a vet prescribe them first. Who was the vet who did the blood tests that showed she had kidney issues? Won’t they give you sub Q fluids? Why did the vet refuse to give you the SubQ fluids?
Is her diarrhoea Any better?
 
You really need to have a vet prescribe them first. Who was the vet who did the blood tests that showed she had kidney issues? Won’t they give you sub Q fluids? Why did the vet refuse to give you the SubQ fluids?
Is her diarrhoea Any better?


The vet I did blood test said Cierra got Kidney issues. That day I asked what should I do now , what medication? He said give cierra low protein and low phosphorus food , after come home did start to research and find out I should start Sub Q immediately according to her numbers, I called him and requested to buy sub Q to use at home, but he said Cat must hospitalise , otherwise they can not give Sub Q to use at home I have become hopeless and helpless Bron , she is not eating RMM freeze dried Lamb anymore, just liking little bit weruwa food, she is extremely lethargic Bron, she needs sub Q, but I can not hospitalised her , she will die from blood pressure.

after check her blood pressure was ok first time, then started to be super high at the vet. Vet nurse told me to take her home then she will be fine,
 
Some vets are funny about letting people do sub Q fluids at home here in Australia.
Do you think she might be nauseated? I would ask the vet for some Cerenia tablets for the nausea.
ondansetron (Zofran) would be better, but I’m not sure a vet in Gunagai would know about Zafron for cats but you could ask.
You would get the Cerenia from the vet but for the zofran you would been a cpscriot from the vet, then you get the aldrin from the chemist because it is a human medication but is fine for cats.
When Sheba had sub Q fluids at the vet before I was allowed to give them at home, I would take her into the vet and it only takes a few minutes for them to give the fluids. There is no need to be hospitalised. You could ask about that.
 
Some vets are funny about letting people do sub Q fluids at home here in Australia.
Do you think she might be nauseated? I would ask the vet for some Cerenia tablets for the nausea.
ondansetron (Zofran) would be better, but I’m not sure a vet in Gunagai would know about Zafron for cats but you could ask.
You would get the Cerenia from the vet but for the zofran you would been a cpscriot from the vet, then you get the aldrin from the chemist because it is a human medication but is fine for cats.
When Sheba had sub Q fluids at the vet before I was allowed to give them at home, I would take her into the vet and it only takes a few minutes for them to give the fluids. There is no need to be hospitalised. You could ask about that.
Hi Bron Apologies, I missed replying to this message. It was not easy to bring her back ( not ) but we made it. I gave her one table spoon blend chicken and topped baby food every hour at nights . She was sick three weeks. Now she is fine but not . Giving her insulin also struggling finding a vet who could prescribe sub Q. Giving her low phosphorus raw food at night and midnight. Semi low phosphates freeze dried food in the evening. I can not afford free style libre anymore ( also I’m fed up with libre it’s not lasting 14 days , ended within 7-8 day most recent 4 libres) having hard time testing her BG. Not letting it at all. Hope you are doing well. I’m not much active here. But trust me I will never ever forget you and some members help and care given to me and Ciara .
 
Good morning, I am glad Clara is doing better, it will probably be a slow process considering all she's been thru, I believe we discussed the situation with the Libre in prior post, they are many negative reason why not to use them, especially not reading before the due date on the sensors, and the expense, believe me I went thru panic modes when Corky had it on when he came out of the hospital, I spent 3-4 months with the Libre, and only one worked thru the 14 days, and just getting my feet wet in his diabetes, it was horrible, that is why a hand held human meter and strips, are so great, reliable and so inexpensive, keep hanging the worst is almost over, Clara will love you even more, if that's ever possible for them to do, you are doing a great job:bighug::bighug::cat::cat:
 
Hi Din, I am so glad to hear Cierra is doing well. You are a devoted mum.
Do you think you could try doing hometesting with a hand held glucose meter? We could teach you to use it?
Are you still giving her sub Q fluids? If so how much are you giving?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top