@Bron and Sheba (GA)My cierra going hypo. 3.2
I’m keep giving her honey not responding. She had 6 day’s diarrhoea.
Find out CKDstage 3
I tagged several experts for you they should contact you shortlyMy cierra going hypo. 3.2
I’m keep giving her honey not responding. She had 6 day’s diarrhoea.
Find out CKDstage 3



Thank you so much Corky, All of them have helped me in the past alot and alot. I keep giving her honey now it’s going to 4.6 hope to increase it more thank you againI tagged several experts for you they should contact you shortly![]()
Do you have Medium carb foods between 12-15% or high carbs (gravy) foods between 15-20% ? the Karo syrup or honey is just a quick fix, if you fed 1 tsp every 1/2-1 hour and test after 15 minutes of eating you will see better results, and it will help the BG be in a safer number, I tried looking at your spreadsheet, but I was not able to change it to US or find todays data, to be hypoglycemic in US numbers it would be 50 or lower, try giving small amounts of food, no more honey and u watch results while other members post you below is a food chart, the third column has the % of carbs for each food and there are many brandsThank you so much Corky, All of them have helped me in the past alot and alot. I keep giving her honey now it’s going to 4.6 hope to increase it more thank you again
Do you have Medium carb foods between 12-15% or high carbs (gravy) foods between 15-20% ? the Karo syrup or honey is just a quick fix, if you fed 1 tsp every 1/2-1 hour and test after 15 minutes of eating you will see better results, and it will help the BG be in a safer number, I tried looking at your spreadsheet, but I was not able to change it to US or find todays data, to be hypoglycemic in US numbers it would be 50 or lower, try giving small amounts of food, no more honey and u watch results while other members post you below is a food chart, the third column has the % of carbs for each food and there are many brands
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/dr-pierson-new-food-chart.174147/
I have 14. Carbs food , and honey , because she got diarrhoea what she eat she does poo within few minutes. Now I’m giving honey from around two hours. It’s going up and DownDo you have Medium carb foods between 12-15% or high carbs (gravy) foods between 15-20% ? the Karo syrup or honey is just a quick fix, if you fed 1 tsp every 1/2-1 hour and test after 15 minutes of eating you will see better results, and it will help the BG be in a safer number, I tried looking at your spreadsheet, but I was not able to change it to US or find todays data, to be hypoglycemic in US numbers it would be 50 or lower, try giving small amounts of food, no more honey and u watch results while other members post you below is a food chart, the third column has the % of carbs for each food and there are many brands
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/dr-pierson-new-food-chart.174147/
I have 14. Carbs food , and honey , because she got diarrhoea what she eat she does poo within few minutes. Now I’m giving honey from around two hours. It’s going up and Down![]()
do not go by the Libre, unfortunately is not only expensive but the monitor totally misreads the low numbers 58 it is low but not hypo yet, and probably not accurate, the libre tends to fall off or stop working before the 14 days, most of us members use the ReliOn Premier Human meter and strips, very inexpensive $ 12.00US for the monitor and for 50 strips $9.00US , he is probably by my experience with the Libre his BG is not 58 but probably in the 60's, just continue feeding small amounts of food, no more honey ok, I will tag My ProZinc expert again, she will respond shortly I am sure, don't worry we are here for youSorry I have desaster messed life . I have not updated SS. I do not check BG everyday, because I’m using Freestyle libre . And don’t have money to keep buy it. I do set one libre for a month. US number is 58




Thank you so much Corky, much appreciate your reply’s I reply below more informationtry giving 1/2-1 tsp at a time every 1/2 hour of the 14 carb, wait 15 minutes test, repeat, perhaps too much honey is causing the diarrhea, and like I said the honey is just a quick fix, the food will stable the BG. do you know the US conversion of his
BG for his last test?
Thank you so much Corky I really appreciate, I will stop giving honey now thank you againdo not go by the Libre, unfortunately is not only expensive but the monitor totally misreads the low numbers 58 it is low but not hypo yet, and probably not accurate, the libre tends to fall off or stop working before the 14 days, most of us members use the ReliOn Premier Human meter and strips, very inexpensive $ 12.00US for the monitor and for 50 strips $9.00US , he is probably by my experience with the Libre his BG is not 58 but probably in the 60's, just continue feeding small amounts of food, no more honey ok, I will tag My ProZinc expert again, she will respond shortly I am sure, don't worry we are here for you
@Suzanne & Darcy
I am hereThank you so much Corky I really appreciate, I will stop giving honey now thank you again
Have you tested again? What's he's BG now?Thank you so much Corky I really appreciate, I will stop giving honey now thank you again
Sorry I didn’t see this message coming. I’m trying to feed small amounts of food, it’s 3.3 US 59Have you tested again? What's he's BG now?
It was ok until 40 minutes a ago ,but it dropped againSorry I didn’t see this message coming. I’m trying to feed small amounts of food, it’s 3.3 US 59
have you been trying the food sequence as I explained? what is his BG right now USIt was ok until 40 minutes a ago ,but it dropped again
Yes Corky , she did eat small amount of food but I put honey again hour and 30 minutes ago. But she poo every thing she ate. She got diarrhoea. Now it’s 68from US , according to libre it’s Red mark.have you been trying the food sequence as I explained? what is his BG right now US
NO HONEY!! please, that’s what’s causing the diarrea, 68 is not hypo just continue 1 tsp of low or medium carb every 1/2 hour and test no high carbs otherwise the opposite will happen between the honey and high carbs, only low or medium carb ok?? I’m here for youYes Corky , she did eat small amount of food but I put honey again hour and 30 minutes ago. But she poo every thing she ate. She got diarrhoea. Now it’s 68from US , according to libre it’s Red mark.




still ok so far, just continue the food protocol every 1/2 hour/test when is the next dose?Sorry 58
like I said do not trust the Libre you need to test with a human monitor like ReliON Premier or the Accu, the low BGs are read by the Libre about 10 numbers lower, but still continue the food only, you can give some pumpkin puree for the diarrhea, like a 1/4 tsp in every other 1/2 tsp of food you do not want him to get dehydratedYes Corky , she did eat small amount of food but I put honey again hour and 30 minutes ago. But she poo every thing she ate. She got diarrhoea. Now it’s 68from US , according to libre it’s Red mark.
Thank You Corky , ok I’ll stop giving honey now. I’m trying to feed her but she is not eating much, only few licks. Her AMPS Ccoming within 7 minutes. Also I did not give her PMPS because BG was low . I will update my Ssstill ok so far, just continue the food protocol every 1/2 hour/test when is the next dose?
licking is good, if you have gravy foods, then let her lick that, is higher carb, and is good you skipped the dose it was under the 80's, but no ore honey unless she goes 50 under, for now keep testing every 1/2hour or so, remember the Libre will always read lower than with an accurate human meter. do this for about 1 hour or so , I am here, if I cannot answer your concern I will tag someone who will, you can always PM a post, it is received as urgent, click on the profile phot, click on conversation, on titleThank You Corky , ok I’ll stop giving honey now. I’m trying to feed her but she is not eating much, only few licks. Her AMPS Ccoming within 7 minutes. Also I did not give her PMPS because BG was low . I will update my Ss



we are here for youThank you Corky, it’s 68 now , but now she is not eating anything I’ll try pumping purée for diarrhoea, now it’s 7 days vet gave Pro kolin, but it didn’t work.licking is good, if you have gravy foods, then let her lick that, is higher carb, and is good you skipped the dose it was under the 80's, but no ore honey unless she goes 50 under, for now keep testing every 1/2hour or so, remember the Libre will always read lower than with an accurate human meter. do this for about 1 hour or so , I am here, if I cannot answer your concern I will tag someone who will, you can always PM a post, it is received as urgent, click on the profile phot, click on conversation, on title
type eg, !!? Low Bg for instancewe are here for you
Hi , she was extremely lethargic, and couldn’t walk straight. Mabe it’s because she didn’t have any energy because she had diarrhoea Since Monday . Thank god it’s now not red it’s just pass red mark. Thank you Wendy and NekoIs Cierra showing signs of hypo? 58 (3.2) is above what we'd consider hypo range. And the Libre can often register lower than a hand held at that range. If you have a hand held BG meter, it's good to double check those lower numbers.
Thank you so muchAnother good medication for diarrhea is s. boullardi. More information here: https://www.ibdkitties.net/supplements/probiotics/
so now you know, when you see low BGs like in the 60-up to 65 more or less NO HONEY you know the protocol of test / tsps. until she gets high, the honey/KARO are only and only used when she would reach 50,Thank you Corky, it’s 68 now , but now she is not eating anything I’ll try pumping purée for diarrhoea, now it’s 7 days vet gaveI told you the 1/2 tsps of food Pro kolin, but it didn’t work.




you can also hydrate her with water in a small 2ml units syringe about 3-4 times a dayHi , she was extremely lethargic, and couldn’t walk straight. Mabe it’s because she didn’t have any energy because she had diarrhoea Since Monday . Thank god it’s now not red it’s just pass red mark. Thank you Wendy and Neko
gotcha on the ReliOn, I could not see the SS either, I wanted to say that I've tried to find that blue link help us help you and can't find it so I just copy paste the link, I hope that's ok, have a great weekendDin, I can’t see your current SS. Do you have one?



Thank you Corky ,really appreciated , yes no Honey if it’s above 50so now you know, when you see low BGs like in the 60-up to 65 more or less NO HONEY you know the protocol of test / tsps. until she gets high, the honey/KARO are only and only used when she would reach 50,Good Job!!!!!!!
![]()
@CORKY
Din lives in Australia so can’t get the ReliOn meters here.
Din, do you know what has caused the diarrhoea? Does your other kitty have it too?
Is she still weak and lethargic ?
How much insulin is she on now and have you been giving her all the doses?
One thing you could try giving her is cooked pumpkin. Buy some pumpkin from the supermarket and boil it in some water. Nothing else. Then drain it and mash it. Then give a teaspoon three times a day and see if that helps the diarrhoea.
Sorry Corky, I have not updated anything, my life is super messed I have big list to do things, this includes on that list , but has not done anything. , thank you so so much Corky, have a wonderful weekendgotcha on the ReliOn, I could not see the SS either, I wanted to say that I've tried to find that blue link help us help you and can't find it so I just copy paste the link, I hope that's ok, have a great weekend![]()
No Bron I have to do it, but I haven’t done it sorry BronDin, I can’t see your current SS. Do you have one?

Din, did the vet check for ketones?
Was Cierra’s potassium normal?
What type of worm medicine did you give?
Did anything else change just before the diarrhea started?
I’m concerned for Cierra (and you). I’ll defer to Bron since she’s in Australia too and can guide you better than I can regarding what’s available and what to try. But I’m sending positive thoughts.![]()
I am concerned about ketones if she is lethargic. Do you have any Ketostix at home? If not you can buy at the chemist. You need to stick it under the steam of urine and then Read the result against the colours on the side of the bottle at exactly 15 seconds after you get the test
The kidney results could be higher because she is dehydrated. And they might improve a bit when she is better.
Are you living in Melbourne now? I know you left Dubbo.
You really need to have a vet prescribe them first. Who was the vet who did the blood tests that showed she had kidney issues? Won’t they give you sub Q fluids? Why did the vet refuse to give you the SubQ fluids?
Is her diarrhoea Any better?
Hi Bron Apologies, I missed replying to this message. It was not easy to bring her back ( not ) but we made it. I gave her one table spoon blend chicken and topped baby food every hour at nights . She was sick three weeks. Now she is fine but not . Giving her insulin also struggling finding a vet who could prescribe sub Q. Giving her low phosphorus raw food at night and midnight. Semi low phosphates freeze dried food in the evening. I can not afford free style libre anymore ( also I’m fed up with libre it’s not lasting 14 days , ended within 7-8 day most recent 4 libres) having hard time testing her BG. Not letting it at all. Hope you are doing well. I’m not much active here. But trust me I will never ever forget you and some members help and care given to me and Ciara .Some vets are funny about letting people do sub Q fluids at home here in Australia.
Do you think she might be nauseated? I would ask the vet for some Cerenia tablets for the nausea.
ondansetron (Zofran) would be better, but I’m not sure a vet in Gunagai would know about Zafron for cats but you could ask.
You would get the Cerenia from the vet but for the zofran you would been a cpscriot from the vet, then you get the aldrin from the chemist because it is a human medication but is fine for cats.
When Sheba had sub Q fluids at the vet before I was allowed to give them at home, I would take her into the vet and it only takes a few minutes for them to give the fluids. There is no need to be hospitalised. You could ask about that.



