Elkie last vet app test results while in DKA

Alyce & Elkie

Member Since 2025
I managed to get the test results for Elkie's hospital stay, and I'm not sure enough was tested. They did sodium, potassium, K ratio, and chloride. I'm assuming this isn't enough to tell if he had any kind of illness or inflammation that caused him to go into DKA? For next steps should I then be increasing the insulin or making an appointment with another vet and asking for more tests to be done? My concern is why his blood sugars are remaining high despite being on an extra unit than he was before DKA. Could be due to an infection or inflammation, or possibly insulin resistance. If he's high because he still has underlying issues then increasing the insulin shouldn't be the first step right? That being said I'm already in debt with one vet clinic, plus he doesn't do well at the vets, so I don't want to take him in again so soon if it isn't necessary.

I've practiced with the syringes (without half marks as that's what's available here) on my older Lantus pen, but the syringe had huge air bubbles that wouldn't rise despite tapping. I think it also pushed some insulin back into the pen by itself, which could contaminate the insulin. I dosed 3 units with the pen needle and new pen earlier, which wasn't enough, but I'm concerned I'll ruin the new pen. The plunger line on my syringes also isn't completely straight so I'm not sure I can dose accurately, still need to print out the paper syringe ruler if it works for my syringes! I'm failing my boy as he was above 20 preshot, and hasn't gone below 18. I need to give more insulin but can't seem to get it right, and won't be home to test tomorrow during the day due to work. My mother can check on him, but only I can currently test. It will be easier over the weekend as I'll actually be home, but I'm worried about how long Elkie has been high for. I don't want him to go back into DKA.
 
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/thr...-low-go-slow-slgs-tight-regulation-tr.210110/

This page has the dosing methods. You’ve currently held the dose for 11 cycles. It’s much more accurate to use syringes to draw from the pen than to use the pen itself.

Thank you, yes I've checked out this thread and watched videos on using syringes but I only have syringes will full marks. The best I can do until I get the syringe ruler printed out (if it works for my syringe, I've asked so I'll know later) is a guess at around a halfway point. It was suggested I increase to 3.5, which I planned to do at the last dose but failed with the syringe. I also couldn't accurately tell where 3.5 was so it would have been somewhere between 3 and 4. I thought I was going to be able to buy half-mark insulin syringes from America and was relying on that, but apparently it's not easy or cheap to get them accepted into the country. You also need a prescription unless the rules have changed since an old post I saw on here, as they're considered medical supplies.
 
Thank you, yes I've checked out this thread and watched videos on using syringes but I only have syringes will full marks. The best I can do until I get the syringe ruler printed out (if it works for my syringe, I've asked so I'll know later) is a guess at around a halfway point. It was suggested I increase to 3.5, which I planned to do at the last dose but failed with the syringe. I also couldn't accurately tell where 3.5 was so it would have been somewhere between 3 and 4. I thought I was going to be able to buy half-mark insulin syringes from America and was relying on that, but apparently it's not easy or cheap to get them accepted into the country. You also need a prescription unless the rules have changed since an old post I saw on here, as they're considered medical supplies.

@Sienne and Gabby (GA)
@Diane Tyler's Mom GA
@Bron and Sheba (GA)
 
Here's the link to your last post I can't control the ketones. In it, I gave some suggestions on managing smaller doses and bubbles.

Regarding SLGS, there is a note that there can be exceptions for recent DKA. Given how much you test (good job!) I think you could increase to 3.5 units.

Yes I followed the suggestions for the bubbles but they wouldn't go to the top. Had to throw the dose and try again, got it eventually. I'm now using his new pen as of tonight, last one now empty. So far new one doesn't have bubbles! I've given between 3-4 units, hopefully around 3.5 as did it by eye and the plunger isn't completely straight.
 
Here's the link to your last post I can't control the ketones. In it, I gave some suggestions on managing smaller doses and bubbles.

Regarding SLGS, there is a note that there can be exceptions for recent DKA. Given how much you test (good job!) I think you could increase to 3.5 units.

I'm lucky my glucose monitor is still working actually. My mother decided to surprise me by testing him herself today, and put the blood end into the meter! It wouldn't read the strips for a while... had to keep removing and reinserting the strip hoping it would dislodge some of the blood. Seems to be working okay now, hopefully it's accurate. I tested myself as a control test before Elkie's pre-shot, and I think it's okay. Only thing is it's ruined his average reading as I'm not diabetic.
 
Back
Top