Elizabeth and Lily AMPS 261

Status
Not open for further replies.

Elizabeth20

Member Since 2020
Morning

Lily's BG is lower every morning which is great and she's more herself every day, but makes it more of a concern whether her Caninsulin dose is going to be too high. She's eating now (and probably for the next half an hour if she gets her way) and very happy. She read both 261 and 270 during the tussle this morning. I assume I have to go by the 261. That's 13.5mmol in UK language and I gather we are supposed to seek advice before shooting if their AMPS is under 11, so 198 here.

I guess I'll still shoot and monitor today. I'm due to go out in an hour for an hour though, and I'm wondering if I should leave her dose till her levels are a bit higher? She's still higher than she should be but also only I think 38 higher than it was before I went to bed.
 
As you know, Caninsulin typically hits hard and fast in the early hours of the cycle. I see from your tests yesterday that Lily had an early nadir at +3.

Given that you'll be away for an hour when the insulin is at its peak period of effect you've got the following options:

1. Give the current dose and leave *plenty* of food out for Lily to cover the time when you'll be out plus additional to cover her for longer just in case you might hit an unexpected delay.

2. Give a reduced dose.

3. Wait till you get back home to give Lily her insulin.

Since you're only dosing once a day at the moment I'd suggest that option 3 would be the best, safest option, and because Lily won't be getting a second dose this evening you'd be able to go straight back to your normal scheduled dose time tomorrow morning.


Mogs
.
 
Thanks Mogs, that all sounds eminently sensible, and option 3 definitely the best even to a new person's ear. I'll check her BG again when I get back, assuming that she will have levelled out a bit again by then.

Thanks again, I really appreciate such a speedy answer!

Liz
 
She's now measuring 243 and 246. That's 27 hours after yesterday's shot. If she dropped 180 in 3 hours yesterday after her insulin is she likely to drop that much again today? I'm worried that will leave her very low if her own insulin is kicking in as well. She must be producing some to have dropped even after a good meal.
 
Hi Liz,

Lily dropped from 306 AMPS to 154 at +2.5 yesterday, 152 points. It's impossible to say with certainty what drop she would have on the same dose today because there's not enough data yet but it is likely to be in that ballpark. If she's round about the 250 mark at preshot today then a similar drop would take her to 100 (lower bound of feline BG reference range is 50 on a human meter). The FDMB Caninsulin guide gives 90 as the threshold for dose reductions.

One thing to bear in mind is that yesterday the 154 was a little early in the cycle and Lily may have dipped a little lower than that somewhere between +3 and the +6 test so that takes away a bit of your wriggle room. If you're using syringes to administer the insulin you could try administering a dose of 0.75IU if you feel uncomfortable about giving 1.0IU. If you do decide to give the 1.0IU dose, make sure that you have a very good supply of strips (to test intensively from +1.5 through nadir till rising again) and higher carb foods and honey/glucose syrup (in case you might need to raise her numbers).

The board tends to be quieter at weekends and there might not be anyone online to help you steer through a run of low numbers. (I'm only able to dip in now and again today so wouldn't be able to stay with you.) It might be safer for today to give the slightly reduced dose. You could still check for nadir BG to see how low that dose takes Lily.


Mogs
.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top