Julie and Eleanor (GA)
Member Since 2012
I guess no one will be able to help because Eleanor's SS is not up to date. I've been very ill, still am and dizzy and I get vertigo when I focus my eyes any length of time and I have an awful time with Dial- Up and the SS, have to reload and reload and keep focusing on it.
But I'm going to ask anyway - because I need help.
Eleanor was going along in the 160-240 range with an occasional higher or lower.
On Sept 20 her ear was painful. Took her to the vet on the 21st.
He diagnosed her with an ear infection, bacteria and some yeast. He said he could treat just the bacteria with oral antibiotics, but had to treat the yeast with ointment, he said all the yeast treatments have steroid and gave me Quadritop which is antibiotic and antifungal - to treat both the bacteria and yeast and said he didn't think it would raise her bg much. Also gave liquid Orbax antibiotic which she has had before with no rise in bg.
9/21 AMPS 340 two hours after getting home for vet, a normal stress increase for her. Started Orbax.
+6 261 Started Quadritop
PMPS 280 should have been way down from stress increase
+6 210
9/22 AMPS 267 Orbax
+6 271 Quadritop
PMPS 296
+6 234
9/23 AMPS 339 Orbax
+7 296 Quadritop
PMPS 305
+6 309
9/24 AMPS 297 Orbax
+6 295 Skipped Quadritop
PMPS 314
+6 281
9/25 AMPS 326 Orbax
+6 97
+7 122
+9 166
PMPS 312 I was expecting a bounce
+6 317
9/26 AMPS 307 Orbax
+6 197 I thought she was clearing the bounce
PMPS 297
+6 248
9/27 AMPS 379 Had thrown up furball just prior, always goes extremely high when throws up.
Orbax
+6 281 Should have come way down from vomiting.
PMPS 381
+6 258
9/28 AMPS 323 Orbax
+5.5 291
When I stopped the Quadritop it was because I felt it was bringing her bg up too high. I was going to start her on Zymox w/o steroid but I wanted her numbers to come back into the pre vet visit range first. I thought since the vet said he could treat the bacterial infection with oral antibiotics - which she is having, it would be ok to wait. Her ear is no longer painful and she is no longer fussing with it.
I do not know what to do.
Is the higher bg a result of her drop to 97 on the 25th?
Should I lower her dose?
I don't know what is happening or what to do.
Thank you.
But I'm going to ask anyway - because I need help.
Eleanor was going along in the 160-240 range with an occasional higher or lower.
On Sept 20 her ear was painful. Took her to the vet on the 21st.
He diagnosed her with an ear infection, bacteria and some yeast. He said he could treat just the bacteria with oral antibiotics, but had to treat the yeast with ointment, he said all the yeast treatments have steroid and gave me Quadritop which is antibiotic and antifungal - to treat both the bacteria and yeast and said he didn't think it would raise her bg much. Also gave liquid Orbax antibiotic which she has had before with no rise in bg.
9/21 AMPS 340 two hours after getting home for vet, a normal stress increase for her. Started Orbax.
+6 261 Started Quadritop
PMPS 280 should have been way down from stress increase
+6 210
9/22 AMPS 267 Orbax
+6 271 Quadritop
PMPS 296
+6 234
9/23 AMPS 339 Orbax
+7 296 Quadritop
PMPS 305
+6 309
9/24 AMPS 297 Orbax
+6 295 Skipped Quadritop
PMPS 314
+6 281
9/25 AMPS 326 Orbax
+6 97
+7 122
+9 166
PMPS 312 I was expecting a bounce
+6 317
9/26 AMPS 307 Orbax
+6 197 I thought she was clearing the bounce
PMPS 297
+6 248
9/27 AMPS 379 Had thrown up furball just prior, always goes extremely high when throws up.
Orbax
+6 281 Should have come way down from vomiting.
PMPS 381
+6 258
9/28 AMPS 323 Orbax
+5.5 291
When I stopped the Quadritop it was because I felt it was bringing her bg up too high. I was going to start her on Zymox w/o steroid but I wanted her numbers to come back into the pre vet visit range first. I thought since the vet said he could treat the bacterial infection with oral antibiotics - which she is having, it would be ok to wait. Her ear is no longer painful and she is no longer fussing with it.
I do not know what to do.
Is the higher bg a result of her drop to 97 on the 25th?
Should I lower her dose?
I don't know what is happening or what to do.
Thank you.