Eleanor 2/9 AMPS 288 +6 109

Status
Not open for further replies.

Julie and Eleanor (GA)

Member Since 2012
Pretty typical recent cycle. Can't get the PS's down without the nadir dropping way lower than I'm comfortable with. The high PS's could be due to me feeding her 1/8 -1/4 can FF at +9?
Don't know how to get around that, if her stomach gets too empty it starts her stomach pain/vomiting/not eating thing, which goes on for up to six weeks. She has been doing great with that since I started being sure she keeps food in her tummy.
She feels good, no diabetes symptoms and thankfully her bg is out of the 300's again. Finally got the ear infections under control I guess. I clean her ears every other day!
 
Hi Julie.
Nice to see someone else in here besides me. :o

As I understand it, there is supposed to be minimum 2 hrs from the time they eat before you test? My Lucian eats every few hrs, so I was going by that, usually 2.5 hrs or longer from the time he ate. Do you think she could be more sensitive to food spikes that other kitties? I've read that some are.

Being a newbee, I have no advice, just wanted to say HI! :smile:
 
Hi Debbie! Glad to meet you.
I read somewhere here on the Board that it is better not to feed late in the cycle because it can cause the bg to go higher if carbs are going "in" while the insulin is wearing off.
I don't really know though because I've tested Eleanor with food spikes and the Fancy Feast Classic doesn't raise her bg more than 20 pts.
Diabetes is just so confusing to me!!
 
I can so relate! I've only been at this a month, so I stay confused! :?

I just remember reading that you aren't supposed to test within 2 hrs of eating, so I always make sure it's at least that long or more. I know there are some that don't feed for the 2nd half of the cycle, but Lucian would go nuts! He free fed for 14 yrs, so he insists on eating at least every 4 hrs, more often if he's running high. I can't imagine trying to get him to wait for 6 hrs! :shock:

My Lucian has not settled in to any dose yet, so ended up taking him low to start over to make sure he wasn't getting too much. So now we're on our way back up. :YMSIGH:

He showed some improvement (1 day) on the increased dose and then looks like a bounce today, back up to that 'black' floor. :sad: Hopefully he'll level off a little in a day or 2 and we'll do it again.

I keep referring to this sugardance as a 12 step program - 1 Day at a Time! :lol:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top