Edith on Lantus - dose increase?

albertresidence

Member Since 2019
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/edith-on-lantus-increase-dose.225225/#post-2520654

I was finally able to do another curve yesterday. I did, as advised, kept her on her current dose of 1.5u for longer because of the fact that I skipped insulin twice in the AM because her numbers were below 200 (140 and 154) and by skipping depleted her depot.

Edith has been on the same dose for a while and we are still stuck in the 200-300 range with a few reds in the mix. I think an increase of .25u might be beneficial now to lower her BG?

As I mentioned before, her AMPS is 10:30 am and PMPS is 10:30 pm. I can not change her shooting time right now, therefor it is hard for me to get more PMPS + readings in. I'm really trying hard to do the best I can for Edith.

Any advice is appreciated, Thank you!
 
There are many cats on Lantus in this forum.

Could you please edit your title to indicate the DATE / Cat Name / AMPS and then your question about an increase?

Thank you!
 
How many hours past Edith's PM shot time do you head off for bed? Any before bed test would be helpful. Likewise, if you wake up during the night, if it's possible to test Edith, that would be reassuring, as well. In fact, any time you can grab a test will help us know what's going on at points during the cycle.

The curves are helpful but they are a single snapshot on one day. Since Lantus dosing is based on the nadir, any additional tests you can manage will allow up to give you better informed help. With a variable schedule it can be hard but I would urge you to do what you can so we're able to give you well informed help.

I do think Edith may need a dose increase. I'm just reticent to give a strong "increase the dose" with having limited data.
 
@Sienne and Gabby (GA) I completely understand, I'm just frustrated and overwhelmed. Due to the Rescue work I do, senior and hospice kitty care I have 18 kitties that depend on me. When I took Edith in from the Vet who should have been taking care off her diabetes while in their care, I had no idea what was coming my way. I was told to just give her 2u of Lantus SID and bring her in once in a while to test her. So, I thought, no big deal this is totally doable. Well, until I started education myself and found out that EVERYTHING I was told was wrong. I have to lock her up when it comes to feeding time so she doesn't get into anybody's else food because they all eat at their own pace. Some are 19 years old. Edith is a feisty and sassy little thing with a lot of personality that doesn't take "No" for an answer. I'm exhausted because it seems like I try my best for Edith but it doesn't seem to be enough. I do understand that the more data I provide the better picture I can paint about Edith's BG journey. It seems like I'm constantly poking and testing her and it is never enough...This is just sad...
 
@Sienne and Gabby (GA) I completely understand, I'm just frustrated and overwhelmed. Due to the Rescue work I do, senior and hospice kitty care I have 18 kitties that depend on me. When I took Edith in from the Vet who should have been taking care off her diabetes while in their care, I had no idea what was coming my way. I was told to just give her 2u of Lantus SID and bring her in once in a while to test her. So, I thought, no big deal this is totally doable. Well, until I started education myself and found out that EVERYTHING I was told was wrong. I have to lock her up when it comes to feeding time so she doesn't get into anybody's else food because they all eat at their own pace. Some are 19 years old. Edith is a feisty and sassy little thing with a lot of personality that doesn't take "No" for an answer. I'm exhausted because it seems like I try my best for Edith but it doesn't seem to be enough. I do understand that the more data I provide the better picture I can paint about Edith's BG journey. It seems like I'm constantly poking and testing her and it is never enough...This is just sad...

I know it seems like a drop in the bucket , but in just peeking at her SS.... it already looks so much better. You've had strings of yellow PMPS numbers and then no (400s) red bouncing cycles during the day or for the PMPS- that really is good!
Maybe you could pick one day, and get just the preshot numbers and a +4 test for each shot cycle, so AM and PM ? Then you can see what the evening dose looks like it is doing in comparison with the daytime numbers since for some kitties that +3/+4 number is where the action is ....
That's where we started. +4 one day and a +6 the next, then +2 and +3 on the next weekend ...it's like a slow game of BINGO :) eventually, you will fill in the BG board
 
@Si am cat mom, Thank you for your help and encouraging words. I really needed that. I thought so too that her SS already looks "prettier". Will take your advice to heart on how to test to get a better picture.
 
Back
Top