Ebby AMPS 134 How to handle?

Status
Not open for further replies.

MelissaEbby

Member Since 2012
I posted this in main forum too. Since we are new to Lantus, I'm thinking I shouldn't shoot, but do I wait for a while and retest and the give shot late if she is over 200? If so, do I have to give her evening shot later?
 
Yes, if you shoot late, then tonight's shot would be 12 hours from that time.
 
127 at +12.5.
Don't know whether to try shooting this. I'll wait and retest in another 30 minutes at +13
 
There's nothing wrong with skipping if you feel that's your best option. Shooting low numbers is pretty stressful at first. It always comes down to "your call" when in doubt.

The other thing to consider today, due to the possibility that the board might be unavailable at times over the weekend, is whether you are comfortable handling a cycle of potentially low numbers "by yourself". People here would be happy to hang out with you all day if needed, but "here" has to be here in order for that to happen, you know?

If you decide to skip, you can shoot her PM shot any time you want to. It can be at your normal time, or it could be earlier if you aren't happy with your current shot timing schedule. That's one "benefit" to skipping. It allows you to readjust your schedule going forward.
 
Thanks Carl,

She did rise to 145 at +13.

I was going to give her a reduced dose of .25, but just couldn't do it. I guess I am scared to shoot this number...yet. I consider myself new to lantus, so decided to follow the newbie rule of not shooting below 200.

I was really close with syringe in hand but just don't feel like I have much data with her on lantus. I hope I did the right thing. I'll feel really bad if her BG is in the 300's all day.
 
One day in the 300s is better than 1 hour in the 30s. I would have done the same thing you did. I think the way I feel is "always go with your gut feeling" and if that said "skip", then you did the right thing.
 
Since you skipped the shot, if he is in the 300s later, you can shoot your PM dose at +23 (your normal +11). That will only affect your shot schedule a little bit, and if you need to you can get back to your normal shot time in 15 minute increments every cycle, or 30 minute increments every 24 hours.

You did fine to follow your gut.
 
Thanks Dyana,
I will probably go ahead and give the shot early if she is really high at +11. I'd have to adjust it in 15 minute intervals like you said, but that should work ok with my schedule this weekend.
 
Melissa

The Health board has a "under 200 no shoot" but we don't here. Of course, it is every cat is different (ECID) which I also think of as "every caregiver is different". You have to consider whether you will be there to test, whether you have all the supplies you need, etc.

It appears the AMBG 134 today was a dropping number because Ebby was clearing a bounce. And there is not alot of difference between 134 and 145 so I can understand you being concerned about shooting.

Just as an FYI, usually when we stall, we shoot the full dose because stalling acts like a dose reduction. So if you HAD shot, you didn't need to also reduced the dose. There are circumstances where you "might" want to do it but I think if you'd had more data and felt more comfortable shooting, you could have shot the full dose.

When we don't shoot, the AMPS or PMPS becomes AMBG or PMBG....that way we know you didn't shoot.

You might find this post on viewtopic.php?f=9&t=59466]Making the Most of Your Lantus ISG Experience/url] helpful.
 
Thanks Marje for the info. I know there will be a time where I HAVE to shoot these numbers, but I was completely overwhelmed trying to decide if this was the right time to try it. I looked over the sticky about dealing with and shooting low numbers but in the end I just didn't feel I had much solid data on her cycles.

For instance, this is only her third day on Lantus, so didn't know if the depot was even "full" yet or not. Also, she had a big bounce on day two, so figured that was obscuring the numbers a bit too.

Maybe if I'd had more experience shooting her when she was in the yellows this would have been easier. Well, a lot to take in, and a lot to learn.

So, going forward, since I skipped a dose, is it like starting over? Is the depot empty?
 
No worries, Melissa. It's all just a chance to gather data so you can decide what to do next time. The depot probably isn't empty, just drained a little. That is great to see Ebby respond so well to the Lantus. :-D :-D
Liz
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top