Dusty AMPS 562, +3 534

Status
Not open for further replies.

dustyboy4

Member Since 2010
Dusty wants to eat today but isn't feeling like it. I am still suspecting it's because he hasn't had a BM.
I've even tried putting fairy dust on it. I haven't heard him crying anymore though.
Also, "hip, hip, horray" he had used both LB's instead of the floor for urination, yesterday all day and throughout the night. Only 1 pee outside the box.
I'm going to try to find some Miralax today and give him some. If he has a BM between now and
then, I may not give it to him though. I really don't know how well all this stuff he's on will work together
but right now, his little belly is feeling stuffed again. I still feel, maybe I shouldn't say feel, let me change that to (I know) the lack of BM is because of the dehydration.

Purina DM pate'.
1 teaspoon squash mixed in food a day.
1 dropper full Clavamox every 12 hrs.
6u Lantus every 12 hrs.
He seems to be drinking plenty from his water bowl and I'm also taking a 2 teaspoon (no needle) syringe and slowly squirting water into his mouth a couple of times a day.

Unless his numbers otherwise show today, I'm going to increase his Insulin dose to 7u this evening.
I'm also thinking about giving him filtered water instead of tap water. Maybe that will help some.
Am I missing anything? Any thoughts?
 
Some people here have reported that Clavamox (and some other antibiotics) can upset the tummy, but that might get the opposite reaction you are seeing. Probiotics added to the food to might help. I use Pet Dophilus, others use Renew Ultimate Flora or even just a bit of plain greek yoghurt with probiotics.

When you say that he wants to eat but isn't feeling like it, what are the signs. Is he going to his bowl, licking his lips?

I also add a water (just tap water) to the wet food and mix it in.

Increasing unless you see a major change today is a good idea. And yay! on the LB action.
 
Personally, I would hold off on a probiotic for the moment. Unless you've given Dusty a probiotic in the past and know how your kitty reacts, if Dusty is constipated, a probiotic could add to the problem. It can constipate some cats. You should be able to find Miralax at any pharmacy. You use a small amount -- 1/8 of a teaspoon. Also, you will need to add water to Dusty's food. Miralax works by pulling water into the intestines to help loosen things up. Adding water to Dusty's food will prevent dehydration. (FWIW, I add water to my cats' food routinely. It's good for their kidneys.)

This is going to seem like an odd request but could you taste the Clavamox? I want to be sure it's not overly sweet. Many medications that are in liquid form are put into a sugar syrup. Obviously, this isn't a good idea for a diabetic cat.
 
Sienne,

I have no problem tasting the Clavamox and yep, it's as sweet as syrup. :shock: Thank you for bringing this to my attention. I did not give him his evening dose because of the sweetness. Why in the world would a vet give a diabetic animal any type of drug that is full of sugar??? angry(2)_cat I have questioned the use of Clavamox before because both vets can't believe that Dusty loves it and will practically suck it off the dropper. I have specifically questioned if it could have sugar in it. I have never been given any information that it does contain sugar, but my tastebuds do not lie. The insert in the box doesn't say anything about having sugar in it, I checked. It doesn't say anything about flavoring with fructose, or any of the other derrivatives of sugar either. I never thought about tasting it for myself. "I'm sooooo stupid". Just wait until Monday morning when I can phone them. I still don't have the results from the urinalysis. I am so ticked off right now. I can't even imagine how they could begin to think I could get Dusty's BG down if all I do is give him something they keep prescribing for him that contains either sugar or high carbs (referring to the Hill's w/d and the Purina DM savory select that I discontinued use of). Gurrrrrr. If ya'll were standing in front of me you would hear the curse words flying from my newly formed potty mouth.

Just that so you all know, after I wrote about his AMPS Dusty finally pooed and immediately was again interested in eating. It took him several hours after being given his morning feeding but he's back to normal with his eating habits. I'm very used to when I put his food down him eating every bit of it and licking the plate clean. He pooed again this evening. I had been giving him 1 tsp of pumpkin per day mixed with some of his food and have switched to 1 tsp baby food squash (no sugar added) to add fiber in his diet. I will try to find the Miralax as soon as I can get to a drug store. Probably on Monday.

Also, what I'm calling probiotics is actually considered by Purina a Nutritional Supplement called "FortiFlora". That is what I used last week. The directions say to put a whole packet on food, but I only use a little bit. It says that it has live cultures in it to promote intestinal health and balance. Even though Vet H professes that Dusty wasn't constipated 15 days ago, last week when I got in both Vet H & Vet C's faces about Dusty's lack of progress with the pooing and with the UTI, Vet C told Vet H & me that FortiFlora is what she prescribes for constipation. I have to say, when I used it last week, within about 2 hrs. Dusty had a really good BM.

The ingredients are on the box and although they sat nothing about adding any type of sugar, I also have to question this. When I smell it, to me it smells like cocoa (I know chocolate can kill an animal so surely Purina would not use it in a product developed for cats?) When I taste it, it tasts horrible and there is not any sweetness to it. eeewwwww it's really yucky. I guess that's why you mix it with food. Hoping it doesn't have sugar in it. The best thing I can see about the supplement is that it has some vitamins and minerals in it. Surely with Dusty being so malnourished (due to the high BG) this is helpful.

Any thoughts on giving the Purina FortiFlora???

Marje, thanks for the "Constipation" reading. I'll read up on this tomorrow.
I'm going for some zzzzz now.
Dusty is doing OK. I can tell he is feeling some better. I'm keeping my fingers crossed that he is on the mend and I can continue to see that his BG level comes down.
For the men, Happy Fathers Day tomorrow.
 
Hurrah for poo! That gets celebrated a lot here. :lol: :lol: So happy to see he's cleared out and got his appetite back. Lots of people here resort to Fortiflora for tummy upset or even something to sprinkle on top to get their cats to eat. It's safe for feline diabetics. Not sure anyone else has tasted it though. :o

I believe you can get Clavamox as pills, so you could give it that way inside a pill pocket. Get the dog Duck Allergy free ones, those have the least carbs. Just break off a small bit to wrap around a pill.

Paws crossed here for that new dose.
 
Hi Elaine,
I give FortiFlora to Lucy too, just once in a while, when I think she'll take it.
She doesn't really love the flavor, so I'll sprinkle about half a packet in a portion of meal, when her appetite is good enough.
I think it helps her tummy feel good.
I bring her stool samples once in a while when it's loose, and they usually see no bad bacteria but not enough good bacteria either, and FortiFlora helps her keep good bacteria in her guts!
Just too bad my cat doesn't really like the taste, otherwise I'd give it to her more often.
It's expensive and I usually have to let it expire before I can use all packets....
 
Flortiflora is fine;liquid clavamox is not. The pills are small so if you can pill him, it's very doable. You can try pill pockets but the FD friendly ones are no longer made. So I'd pinch off the smallest little bit to wrap it in if you need to.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top