Duke not eating after booster injections.

Status
Not open for further replies.

Teetee (UK)

Member Since 2019
Hi,
Duke had his annual booster injections yesterday and he ate his supper no problem but this morning he refused everything we gave him although he ate a little roast chicken an hour later (about 25 grams)
This happens every year after his injections an he's usually off it for a couple of days then picks up and starts eating again, but it's different now because of his diabetes and he needs to eat before i can give him his insulin, so any ideas on what i can do?
His BG at AM+3 is the highest it's been for weeks.
I gave him a token dose of 0.25u this morning but what do i give him for his PM dose if he's still of his food?
Any help would be gratefully appreciated.
Tee.
 
Hi,
Duke had his annual booster injections yesterday and he ate his supper no problem but this morning he refused everything we gave him although he ate a little roast chicken an hour later (about 25 grams)
This happens every year after his injections an he's usually off it for a couple of days then picks up and starts eating again, but it's different now because of his diabetes and he needs to eat before i can give him his insulin, so any ideas on what i can do?
His BG at AM+3 is the highest it's been for weeks.
I gave him a token dose of 0.25u this morning but what do i give him for his PM dose if he's still of his food?
Any help would be gratefully appreciated.
Tee.
Do you mean a vaccine booster?
Is he indoors or both?
 
Do you mean a vaccine booster?
Is he indoors or both?
Hi Sasha,
Yes it was his vaccine booster, for cat flu, leukaemia etc.
Duke lives indoors but goes outside when he wants to, but since his diagnosis he's not wanting to go outside much.
 
Hi Sasha,
Yes it was his vaccine booster, for cat flu, leukaemia etc.
Duke lives indoors but goes outside when he wants to, but since his diagnosis he's not wanting to go outside much.
Mine was only basic vaccinated when I got them, they haven't got more since.
Maybe you can do a titer test next time, so you can skip if he has the antibodies?
 
Mine was only basic vaccinated when I got them, they haven't got more since.
Maybe you can do a titer test next time, so you can skip if he has the antibodies?
I've just looked it up as i didn't know what that was and it's certainly worth considering when he's due next year, definitely.
Thanks for that.
 
I've just looked it up as i didn't know what that was and it's certainly worth considering when he's due next year, definitely.
Thanks for that.
Specially if he doesn't go out much, it might be worth considering. You're very welcome :bighug:
 
Specially if he doesn't go out much, it might be worth considering. You're very welcome :bighug:
I've just remembered Sasha we cannot get pet insurance renewal or it will be voided if his vaccine booster is not up to date, but i will speak to the pet insurers about it and the problem it creates.
 
I've just remembered Sasha we cannot get pet insurance renewal or it will be voided if his vaccine booster is not up to date, but i will speak to the pet insurers about it and the problem it creates.
Even if it's related to the vaccine?
There must be some way around it.
All my pets is insured, and they're only vaccinated when needed, the dog for shows and so on. My insurance never said anything..
 
Even if it's related to the vaccine?
There must be some way around it.
All my pets is insured, and they're only vaccinated when needed, the dog for shows and so on. My insurance never said anything..
I've just read through his policy and found this about vaccinations.
• Vaccinations – your pet must be kept vaccinated
against:
For dogs - distemper, hepatitis, leptospirosis and
parvovirus.
For cats - feline infectious enteritis, feline leukaemia
and cat flu.
If not, we will not cover any amount for the illness
which has not been vaccinated against.

So it's a case of speaking to the vet about it next year.
 
Last edited:
Duke's still not eaten since his chicken this morning and his BG is at 18.6 mmol (335 mg/dl)+8.5, what should i do if he does not eat prior to his PM injection do i still give him his insulin? and if so how much do i give him. It's getting worrying now.
 
Unless prior ketone, I give my cats 24 hours of not eating if not other symptoms of problems. I have one civi who will not eat the morning after his triennial shots. If necessary I would and have syringe fed my cats.
 
Unless prior ketone, I give my cats 24 hours of not eating if not other symptoms of problems. I have one civi who will not eat the morning after his triennial shots. If necessary I would and have syringe fed my cats.

My wife took Duke to the vets down the road a few minutes ago, luckily we got in straight away as there was a cancellation and she gave him a appetite stimulant so hopefully he will eat his supper, but no insulin if he does not eat she said or half a dose if he eats half his supper.
He's never had a problem with ketones and we check him everyday so fingers crossed he stays that way.
 
Just a quick update on Duke.
He ate his supper no problem and wanted more and ate his breakfast no problem so i gave him his normal dose of 1u, however his BG has flown up but i'm putting it down to the vaccine booster and the appetite stimulant and hopefully it will calm down in a few days without any increase.
I never thought i'd see those damn pinks again, so disappointing.
 
Just a quick update on Duke.
He ate his supper no problem and wanted more and ate his breakfast no problem so i gave him his normal dose of 1u, however his BG has flown up but i'm putting it down to the vaccine booster and the appetite stimulant and hopefully it will calm down in a few days without any increase.
I never thought i'd see those damn pinks again, so disappointing.
glad he's eating.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top