Dude made it past th 12 hours, still super, super picky

Status
Not open for further replies.

occhi

Member Since 2011
and of course he wants nothing. tried FF classic, thinking about some kind of fish next. i really cant go to bed until he eats :(
 
Re: Dude has 12 hours to eat or back to ER

he licked some tuna juice but thats all. gonna try some baby food. :(:(
 
Re: Dude has 12 hours to eat or back to ER

I have read some of your post, but I am not completely up to date.

Dude just came out of the ER from DKA..correct?

Have you tested for ketones today? I know in one of your post today, your were discussing getting a blood meter to check for ketones--did you get it?

I am going to read your other post.

If I am off base, please forgive me.
 
Re: Dude has 12 hours to eat or back to ER

Nicole, I didn't realize he was coming home today .... was he negative for ketones? After DKA they are tired and usually aren't that interested in eating but he has to. Did he eat dry before? At this point give him anything and do you have the urine sticks to check his ketones?

How does he seem? Is he moving around? Did they give him his dose of pzi in ER or did you give it to him at home, how much?
 
Re: Dude has 12 hours to eat or back to ER

hi friends,

answers to questions

he was not fully negative for ketones but they were hoping if he came home he would
he got his prozinc at 8 2 units
we did not test him today for ketones, the vet did
he ate FF classic before, grazing on DM
he is wandering around but sleepy
yes, we just got him home after 5 days at the ER for DkA
they said dont syringe feed, just bring him back in 12
 
Re: Dude has 12 hours to eat or back to ER

Do you have urine strips? they should not have released him with ketones and did they give you a reason why not to syringe feed him?

This is important .... if he still had ketones and he isn't eating, he has still not recovered from the DKA and he could turn quickly.

8:00 where are you located? what state? have you given the shot? what dose was he on before the DKA? I don't want to alarm you, really but not eating and ketones is serious.
 
Re: Dude has 12 hours to eat or back to ER

they sent him home hoping we could get him to eat. if he wont do it, we take him back and they put him back on the IV and syringe feed him. if we cant get him to eat here now, he has to go back.

we are in utah, we did not shoothim he had his evening dose already.
before dka he was on 1 unit, they currently have him on 2. i do understand its serious, i really do.
 
Re: Dude has 12 hours to eat or back to ER

he doesnt want anything solid, is there a type of broth he can have?
 
Re: Dude has 12 hours to eat or back to ER

did they say why they didn't want you to try and feed him? Sometimes cats who have quit eating need to be reminded again and giving them food by a syringe helps in many ways. Take some FF, what used to be his favorite, add some water and put in a syringe or if you don't have, just gently spoon feed some food in. Put it on your fingers, add cheese, whatever but he needs food.

I know you know it is serious .... but if he doesn't have to go back, that would be better. Do you have urine stripes to check his urine for ketones? You should try and check it.

I will be here .... give him anything he will eat, even broth but keep trying.
 
Re: Dude has 12 hours to eat or back to ER

yes i agree if he didnt have to go back that would be amazing. we dont haave strips for testing right now, i ordered some thinking they would be here before he came back. i also dont have a syringe.
 
Re: Dude has 12 hours to eat or back to ER

You don't need a syringe, use your fingers. Do you have any baby food meat? How does he seem to you?
 
Re: Dude has 12 hours to eat or back to ER

we do have some baby food meat, i will try that. he seems actuaaly happy to be home but they seemm to have done something weird to his leg where they had the IV. it seems like it hurts him and his paw seems bigger than it should be so he doesnt want to stand on it. he will walk from one room to the next then lay down. he was hiding under the bed but he just came out a minute ago and is laying in the hall
 
Re: Dude has 12 hours to eat or back to ER

Yes, that will hurt for awhile, it is where he was hooked up in the ER .... it will heal. If he doesn't get worse you need to get some ketostix strips to check for ketones in the AM, any drugstore will have.

Did he eat any of the baby food?
 
Re: Dude has 12 hours to eat or back to ER

hubby took the dog out so we havent tried it yet. i'm in a wheelchair so i cant even reach the food let alone open it and chase kitty. i know you didnt know that, no one here does probably. so waiting for him to come back so i can pass the messge on.
 
Re: Dude has 12 hours to eat or back to ER

Okay, I understand, are you okay? I know this is stressful, trust me I know .... do the best you can. I will be here for awhile if you have questions.
 
Re: Dude has 12 hours to eat or back to ER

i'm exhausted but thats not new. i will sleep when dude is better :)
 
Re: Dude has 12 hours to eat or back to ER

When was the last time he ate? Do you have anything in the frig. that might be of interest? can of tuna?

What do his eyes look like? are they normal? or big and round? I will be right back I need to give my Payne her last shot, I will be back.

You are on mountain time? 11:22?
 
Re: Dude has 12 hours to eat or back to ER

sardines were promising, he took a couple bites, drank some juice then stopped. chicken broth was no go. we will prabably wait a few minutes to try the baby food.
 
Re: Dude has 12 hours to eat or back to ER

ok he finally ate about a tablespoon and a half of tuna. i have to go to bed but we will start again in the morning. thanks everyone, especially nancy for staying up.
 
Re: Dude has 12 hours to eat or back to ER

his eyes are normal not too much black but big and bright. his last shot was at 8 my time MDT
 
Re: Dude has 12 hours to eat or back to ER

Hi Nicole,
How is it going? getting late your way ... any progress? just got your post, goodnight, I will be here in the morning.
 
Re: Dude has 12 hours to eat or back to ER

Nicole:

I know you are in bed and I hope you get some rest. Some other things to possibly try are trying to finger feed him where you put it on your finger and then rub it on his tongue but let him do the swallowing....don't force anything....just try gently. Also, I wonder if you made his food really soupy if he'd eat it? That's how my girl likes it when she is not feeling well.

Is it possible he's nauseous and they need to give him something for it. A nauseous cat will sniff it but then walk away...might drool some. You could ask for ondansetron 4 mg for the nausea. It is dosed at 1 mg bid for a 7-10 lb cat.

I'm also a big fan of syringe feeding....if they didn't tell you why you couldnt...I'd definitely ask.

Sending you prayers and healing vines for Dude. I know you are doing a great job.
 
Re: Dude has 12 hours to eat or back to ER

Dearest Nicole, and, of course, you too, sweet Dude,

When Giz was diagnosed diabetic and DKA in the same breath, she spent three days in ICU at the ER hospital. The only thing I denied was a feeding tube. I just said, look at this cat, if she isn't eating she's telling us all something.

They basically sent her home to die.

But, Giz, being Giz, danced with me for four more years.

Yes, it took a lot of plates, saucers, and bowls of food. And, yes, me crying and holding food extended on my finger under the bed when she decided the 11th choice was yummy...

Would I now rethink a feeding tube? Knowing what I now know? Yes.

I will always remember the night Donna's Shiloh ate ham...

I am with you, Nicole. I am with Dude. You both are in my heart, thoughts, and prayers.




Parmesan cheese adds a stinky factor to cat food. Sometimes it takes stinkyness to remind a cat's tummy to eat.


I am with you both, okay?

Love and hugs,
Deb and Nikki -- and, Giz, who taught volumes about food...
 
Re: Dude has 12 hours to eat or back to ER

Occhi & Little Dude,

I read the posting and wanted to add, have you tried some fora flora or some tuna flakes? And yes, the Parmesan cheese works too. Why did the er not send you home with some sticks????? WOW! Why did they suggest no syringe feeding? or did I miss the reason.

When Civie Slappy decided not to eat, I dropper fed her as it was much easier than a syringe for me. She was burrito wrapped, and slowly dropper fed babyfood. I purchased some a/d from the vet due to it going thur the dropper easier. She also decided she wanted sardines but would not touch tuna. I have since purchased a Magic Bullet and that is thing is awsome! She did finally start eating but this process was about a 3 wk thing.

Good luck w/ Dude and keep us posted and hoping mommy bean got some much needed rest!
 
Re: Dude has 12 hours to eat or back to ER

Occhi,

You said you live probably about two miles from me. I've done syringe feeding before, and I still have some syringes from when I was in school. If you wanted, I would be willing to bring those to you, and/ or syringe feed Dude. I also have some Forti-flora that I've been giving my cats. They've been eating just fine without it, but it helps keep Katie from having soft stool.
I get off work at three today, just so you know.
I'm really hoping he gets better.
 
Re: Dude has 12 hours to eat or back to ER

Good Morning friends,

I got a whole 6 hours of sleep last night :) I know that might sound like a lot but I need way more than that soo today will be filled with much coffee.

Answers to questions:

I really am upset they didn't tell us we could syringe feed him, I do not understand why they would do that but whatever.
@Jennifer, I may take you up on that but let's hold off til this afternoon.

He did seem to like it when hubby handed him the tuna so I think that will be the way to go.
I'm not sure why but hubby is sort of fighting me on making 'soup'. I'll keep trying.
It is entirely possible he's nauseous, I will ask the vet when i call him with all my questions about the ondansetron.
Dude at some turkey this morning, maybe half a piece of a coldcut you'd put on a sandwich. I really thought he was going to eat more than that but I thought he did a good job.

I'm getting ready to call the vet right now. hopefully they will be receptive to my questions and not just assume it will be too 'hard' for us to take care of him. I get the feeling that is what they are thinking but they don't understand 'hard' is my middle name. I am used to 'hard'.

tmjn

PS i feel bad telling you this but my name is not Nicole, its Temujin. I couldnt bring myself to correct you last night :)
 
Re: Dude made it past the 12 hours topic change

I'm trying to change the subject of this thread as it's no longer accurate but can't figure out how to do it. see if this works.
 
Re: Dude has 12 hours to eat or back to ER

i know its not hard to change the subject but brain will not function :P
 
Re: Dude has 12 hours to eat or back to ER

Temujin,
When you hit the 'edit' button in the first message, even the subject line will appear. Just change it and hit submit.
 
Good morning Temujin,
How is Dude feeling this morning? I see where he ate a little. Have you spoken to the vet yet? The suggestion about ondansetron for nausea would really help, how does he seem and look?

I can't remember, are you testing his blood glucose yet? try and get the urine strips to test his urine for ketones. I hope today is a turnaround .... getting him to eat is #1 thing.

Nancy and Payne
(sorry about the name .... )
 
Hello Nancy,

Good to see you again.

Today he seemed so happy to wake up at home. He was talking and purring and rubbing on hubby right up until we had to come to work. That was good to see. As soon as we gave him his 2 units of prozinc he got sleepy again but that is how he's been the whole time. We do check his BG but his ears are *%(#@ right now. I don't know how the Vets poke but holy cow it looks like they have been through the ringer. We will get an afternoon reading today and likely one before food (or should it be after?). Ketone strips and meter will also arrive today so we can test those this afternoon as well. The Vet hasn't called me back yet, I think he will anytime now.

As for my name, really I don't mind at all. I hated correcting you this morning too but I figured you would like to know my real name. I shoudl have just used it when I registered but I guess I still live in the dark ages where you never want anyone to know your real name or anythign about you. Silly of me.

Thanks again for all your posts last night Nancy. If I could send you flowers, I would. Maybe this will work:

_ _
_{ ' }_
{ `.!.` }
',_/Y\_,'
{_,_}
|
(\| /)
\| //
|//
\\ |/ //
^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^
 
Hi there

Did he eat at all before those 2 units? I'm a bit concerned that he got sleepy after his shot as it very well could mean that his blood glucose levels went low....

hugs

Jen
 
computer flowers, I love!!

The meter is coming today? Two things that are most important, really important! you must test him before his shot, his ears will heal, really. Make up a rice sock (sock filled with regular rice) heat in the microwave for 15-20 sec. till it is warm. Put that on the ear you are testing and wait 60 sec. yes the whole 60 in the beginning. You can use a cotton ball and put it in the ear to steady it and catch any extra blood and use a lancet to poke his ear. There are many videos that show you how.

If you give him his shot and his blood glucose (BG) is too low, he could go into a hypo .... which we want to avoid. He shouldn't be different after his shot as he was before. Then after you get his # put food down and while he is eating give him his shot, Payne doesn't even look up.

Be specific with the vet ... my concerns are, I think he needs, what does this mean? Just like with a child you are Dude's advocate, be a stern Mama Bean!!

Let us know what the vet say, I know this is a lot to take in BUT you can learn it and we will all teach you.

Oh, #2 is getting him to eat :)
Nancy
 
Hi!

Yes the meter is coming today. It may actually already be at my house. We dont use a rice sock, we use a damp washcloth which really does work like a charm. Testing has become the easy part oddly enough. I never, ever thought I'd say that.

Will add more when I know more :)

tmjn
 
Dear Temujin, and of course, you too, picky Dude,

I, too, am glad he some turkey. Giz was well-known at the deli counter at Stop and Shop. They always knew when I was buying for Giz instead of me because I wanted it cut thicker so I could shred it. And, then one day, the deli guy said, I didn't know a cat could like pastrami. I just smiled as he actually shredded pastrami for Giz...

Then he threw in a couple of slices for me...






I was an absolute train wreck when Giz was diagnosed because it was such a struggle getting her to eat. I have this unofficial adopted mom named Joanie. I called her one night in a torrent of tears because I had put out 10 saucers, bowls, and whatever of food choices. And Giz wasn't eating any of it. And, I was hysterical.

Joanie, in her infinite wisdom, simply said, Deb, why don't you just print out a menu. You know, so she could just put her paw on her choice.

Perspective is always so interesting, isn't it, Temujin?

I will never regret one single day of dancing with Giz. (Okay, maybe three...) We danced for four years. She taught me to be brave. She taught me the joy of dancing with a sugar cat!

Yes, she was a pain in the ass. She was a nightmare Stephen King could never have even begun to imagine. But, she understood I was helping her feel better. And, then, I felt better.

And, then, she sent me Nikki, who actually eats cat food and is the polar antithesis of Giz. Well, except she bites the crap out of me when I go for her ear... But, she is cute! And, I am again blessed dancing with a sugar cat.

I just wish Nik liked Motown like Giz... It's not as fluid dancing to Sting or Don Henley...





I am with you both, Temujin and Dude. I am with you both.

And, so are my thoughts and prayers.

Love and hugs,
Deb and Nikki -- and, Giz...
 
Temujin

Thank you for letting us know on your name :-D

I'm encouraged he ate a little. I'm with Nancy....you have to let the doctor know that YOU are his advocate but that you understand you all are partners. The first time I asked for ondansetron from my vet, she had not heard of it, looked it up, and said "it's used for chemo patients for nausea" and "extreme regurgitation" in animals. I told her "trust me".....she knows that we manage Gracie's FD with the amazing help of this board and she doesn't usually question me beyond the initial "what's it for?". It will help Dude with nausea and helping him with nausea will help him want to eat.

Be sure the prescription is written for the generic.....this is not a cheap medication but if you google "ondansetron coupons" then you should be able to get one of those med pharmacy cards that will reduce the cost. Also, before you give a pharmacy the prescription, COPY IT. Just get a few to hold you over at the pharmacy and then order it from www.thrivingpets.com. It is MUCH cheaper there.

Good luck!!
 
Hello everyone!

I feel a little better. When hubby went home for lunch he actually got Dude to eat without much prodding or begging. I think he might be feeling better. I still haven't talked to the Vet but I'm going to call my OTHER vet and see what he thinks. I will ask him about the nausea medicine. I really like the way the doctors at the ER worked with Dude but they don't seem to be working well with me so I'm gonna call my normal vet and talk to him about it. We'll likely test dude's BG between 7:30 and 8:00. Tell me again, we test before the shot AND the food? or between the food and the shot?

tmjn
 
Test before the shot and the food.
That way you know what his bg is without being affected by a food spike, and you know whether it is safe to shoot by the bg reading.
 
headed home. gotta run an errand first but I'll set up a spreadsheet tonight for Dude and add his numbers to it.

by
 
Glad to hear he ate!
Test before he eats. The food gives them a little bit of sugar, so it won't be an accurate number if you test after.
 
Test, feed, shoot.

That's the way to go. Test, feed, shoot.

I've been dealing with my mom all day, my sister all day, and my mom's doctor. It is interesting doing all this long distance.

I love my mom. I love her doctor. My sister probably wants to kills us both. Donna is the uber daughter. I am the Mary Sunshine daughter. This hopefully explains dysfunctional volumes...

I am with you both, Temujin. I am with you and Dude.

Deb and Nikki -- and, Giz, who taught me everything...
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top