Dude evening 9/23 98 BG before food

Status
Not open for further replies.

occhi

Member
Hi!

My ketone meter arrived, i am reading instructions now. BG was 98 before friskies whitefish of which he ate about 2 tablespoons. He seemed very happy with that flavor. So now, do i shoot him?

tmjn
 
No! With a new diabetic, the general rule is not to not shoot under 200. I know he was in DKA and you want to balance insulin and diet ,but this number is too low. I would continue to work on getting him to eat, expect a higher number in the am but still consider a reduced dose.

Is this number 12 hours after one unit of ProZinc?
 
yes wee use prozinc, 2 units. that number is before food though, and he is eating more now. doesnt food make it go up?
 
It can take an hour or two before you see the boost in BG from eating. I wouldn't shoot unless he goes up a bit, like above 150, and probably a reduced dose then.
Carl
 
With food on board, I would not shoot below 200. Some kitties are very carb sensitive and food can increase their bgs significantly.

I agree with Sue, I would retest.
 
Also, what time should the shot have been done? We'll need to know how late "late" is to figure out what the dose needs to be.

Carl
 
Hi Temujin, how is everything tonight? how is Dude?

I see you have your monitor, very good ....did you re-test to see if the 98 was correct?

How are you doing sleep wise, last night was a late one .... do you have any questions? And thank you for the flowers! I have never had a flower like that before, very nice.
Nancy
 
hi!

retest was 140. i say no shooting. that is 45 minutes after food. ketones tested at 4.3 but i have no idea what they were before. i am tiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiired.

tmjn
 
In the manual for the meter, what does it say 4.3 means?
Carl
 
It means he has bad (moderate) ketones ..... he shouldn't have ketones with his BG that low. How many strips did you get with the meter for ketones, you really need to re-check and see if that is a true reading.
 
10 strips cost 55 bucks so we have 9. we called the vet and they said if hes eating then that is why he is here so just keep watching how he is. if he stops eating or acts drunk we are in trouble.
 
nancy what was your cats last ketone reading that you remember. i know its been a while since you did that (i think anyway)
 
Here's hoping that you got back on to .... if the ketone reading is accurate you have two options. You can take him back to ER and let them deal with the ketones, the other is riskier .... have you re-taken the ketones? I know you are tired but you've fought really hard, you can't give up now!

That is high, Payne has run that high before and I have fought it at home but you don't really have the tools to do at home, I know the strips are expensive but we need to verify he is that high.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top