Ducia PMPR 490 1U, AMPR 165 1U

Status
Not open for further replies.
Well done today.... numbers are still good.....

it is possible she will go into higher numbers in response to today's green cycle..... another bounce....
have to wait and see.......
it's okay if it happens.... that is perfectly normal.....
 
that's normal.
Her body is not used to being in normal numbers any more.
The liver gets panicky and dumps hormones to counter and protect her.
Over time, her body will get used to being back in the blues and greens and will stop bouncing up so much.
It is a process.
Many here like the saying, It's a marathon, not a sprint.

Today was good.... and a step in the right direction. That is progress....
 
It is so extremely sad.:(

But, hopefully, temporary! The more time she spends in those normal numbers, the more used to it her body will get. If you look around at different spreadsheets, you'll see that many of the cats on the L+L forum spend most of their time in green numbers, and some of them were major bouncers when they first started!

There's so much going on right now with Ducia, one step at a time. :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
I am really struggling with the entire concept of how bodies react to low/high BG, low insulin, insulin overdose, etc.
Why oh why was I skipping those science classes :banghead:.
Can you recommend what to read as to get an idea how cycles work, how to interpret BG numbers?
 
I took a lot of science classes, and I sure didn't learn all of this stuff there!!!!

A good place to start is the "New to the Group" sticky at the top of the Lantus forum page. There's not only a lot of information on that page itself, but it has a ton of links (blue text, like what I did above) to other helpful pages and discussions.

Really, though, a lot of it is just experience and repetition-- there is sooooo much to learn, no one can get it all immediately, and you and Ducia definitely had a crash course right at the beginning, which didn't help!
 
Tanya, I just got home from work and have to run to a meeting, so I just scanned your condo real quick and took a gander at your spreadsheet.
Those numbers are healing numbers and so much better for her ketone problem. I am so happy that her ketones are trace. Keep up the good work!
I know it's scary. Been there. Good Job! :cat:
 
If you look around at different spreadsheets, you'll see that many of the cats on the L+L forum spend most of their time in green numbers, and some of them were major bouncers when they first started!
Tanya, my Squallie spends most of his time now in green (low) numbers, but if you go back and look at his spreadsheets from 2015 and parts of 2016 you will see he spent a whole lot of time in higher numbers!
 
my Squallie spends most of his time now in green (low) numbers, but if you go back and look at his spreadsheets from 2015 and parts of 2016 you will see he spent a whole lot of time in higher numbers!
Wow! I can see a lot was going on with him.
I have some questions about it. Might I sent you a pm later on today or tomorrow?
 
I am really struggling with the entire concept of how bodies react to low/high BG, low insulin, insulin overdose, etc.
Why oh why was I skipping those science classes :banghead:.
Can you recommend what to read as to get an idea how cycles work, how to interpret BG numbers?
One interesting Sticky Note is the What is the Insulin Depot? Lantus (and Levemir) insulin are both depot insulins and you can get odd results if you skip doses or change the dose, both of which you've done in the last while. Not blaming you, just explaining that it can cause odd results.

And by feeding her all that high carb food today, you probably shortened the insulin duration for this cycle, which will also contribute to the numbers zooming up. That's OK, you will eventually learn by studying her patterns, what food you need when. Today it was important to keep her safe. Most people only give high carb food if their cat goes below 50, though it's often used if kitty is diving fast at the beginning of the cycle, like Ducia was today. After the initial high carb, you might have been able to just give low carb. But take good notes on how much of what you fed and when. This knowledge will help you in the future. Each kitty varies in how carb sensitive they are, so you have to learn what works for Ducia.

And don't worry about her body not being used to normal numbers. That is extremely common for newly diabetic cats. Neko took 4 months on insulin before she first saw green. Squallie's numbers at the beginning looked way better than Neko's but over time I too got her to spend most of her time in blue and green.
 
Hello everyone,
Before it gets too late on the East Coast and other places I wanted to thank you all for the help and support!
Ducia and I would not go thru this morning without you.
Thank you all so very much!
This message board is God sent.
We're glad to help, Tanya. I'm glad to see that you reduced the dose to 0.75 u tonight. :)
 
Hi Tanya,
I see that you had some bouncing and a little bit of blue last night. Trace ketones are good. Keep aiming for "negative" ketones. You're doing all the right things. :) As I said yesterday, I'm glad you lowered the dose to 0.75 u.
 
Hi Chris,

Thank you!

I too am glad to use the lower dose as it decreases the hypo threat at least in my mind. I am too ignorant on the matter of FD, and do feel as if navigating in uncharted waters when dosage and jumping BGs are involved and the memory of symptoms of hypo are still vivid. I worried that my fear might have played some role when we were deciding whether to decrease or not. I know that high Bgs are bad for Ducia’s DKA and the sooner we bring in down to good # and keep them there the better. That’s why I was glad to hear you would do the same.

We’ve seen some disgusting bouncing yesterday. If you take a look at her SS you’ll see that she went up from BG 135 @+7 to BG 423 @+11. We looked at her SS and wondered what was going on. My husband although a human med has no real diabetes knowledge, never dealt with it practically. It’s like having a problem to fix but the manual instruction as to how to fix it is written in Chinese Mandarin language.

Another thing is today’s AMPSof BG 333 + regular size watered LC meal = BG 402 @ +2. I don’t know if the dose was too small or it hasn’t taken any effect yet or if yesterday’s HC still in her system. Though to be ignorant.
 
Hi Kris,
I am glad you are here! Ducia has vomited a little , about 4 hours after her last meal.
It is about her reg feeding time but am holding on on food and water.
The vomit stopped after 2 short bouts. She seems all right but sleepy. Usually by now she is alert, sociable and asks for food.
I know vomiting is connected to DKA. Should I worry?
We have Cerenica anti-nausea med but we never gave it to her because there was no reason to. It's the first time.
She is fitted with E-tube.
What do you think?
 
I would try offering some food and water before getting worried. There are some classic signs of nausea, such as starting to eat then turning away, that might indicate the need for Cerenia. It's good that you just got a "trace" ketones readings-- there is a delay before developing ketones show up in urine, so it's still possible that she's going back to that, but let's not worry about that just yet.

Has she eaten anything new today?

[I apologize that I probably won't be on long enough to see replies-- I am at work right now and have a meeting coming up in a few minutes, but I will check back when I can, and I'm sure Kris or someone else will also be here]
 
Ok, about the vomit - probably fauls alarm. Dr. Google said it might be the fresh grass that she chewed on yesterday and this morning. Grass removed.
She finished reg food about 15 min ago, no signs of nausea (knock, knock n the wood).
We have Cerenia if need be.
 
Quick break in the meeting ;)-- glad to hear that the vomiting was just temporary!

If you haven't already, I'd give a little LC snack after the 96 at +5, just because it was a big drop from 306 at +3.
 
We normally start one thread per day. This one is getting too long. If you want eyes on today's action, I would start a new post.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top