? Dropping to fast

Status
Not open for further replies.

sherrib

Member Since 2015
Going by this BG now, he differently got a fur shot for his AM

AMPS 314 -gave 1/2 U but missed ( fur shot ) time 1:52 PM
+ 5- 308 ( time 6:45 PM )
+8-293 (time 9:05 PM )
+10- 299 gave 1 unit ( time 11:45 PM)
GAVE 1 UNIT at 11:45 PM , didn't wait exactly 12 hours because I'm sure I missed his 1st dose of the day and for him, his BG was high
-2 - 189 ( time 1:43 AM)

Please check my math for BG level testing.

What time do I test next? He dropped at lot with his night dose, should I be worried?
 
With that big of a drop, I'd get another test in at +3 ....see if he's slowing down the drop any

If you haven't already done it, I'd give him a small snack
He just ate about 20 mins ago. I let him free feed, only time I don't let him eat is before his AM & PM Preshot time
 
Since he just ate, I guess I need to wait to +4. I know with PZI his mid time is 5-7 hrs after insulin
 
He is at 128
Going by this BG now, he differently got a fur shot for his AM

AMPS 314 -gave 1/2 U but missed ( fur shot ) time 1:52 PM
+ 5- 308 ( time 6:45 PM )
+8-293 (time 9:05 PM )
+10- 299 gave 1 unit ( time 11:45 PM)
-2 - 189 ( time 1:43 AM)
-4.5- 128 (time 3:15 AM ate about 10 mins ago )

Please check my math for BG level testing.
What time do I test next? He dropped at lot
 
Last edited:
Just a bit of housekeeping.....since you shot at +10, that's his PMPS number on his spreadsheet....you could just put "299 @ +10" in the PMPS cell and then manually color code it to the yellow by clicking on the icon along the top that looks like a can of paint tipping over

The number you shoot is always the Pre-shot number

So at +3.5, he's down to 128?

He still dropping pretty quickly, so I'd test again at +4.5 (and if you can get him to eat another small snack, that might help slow him down some)

I can't stay online any longer tonight but I've asked @Tricia Cinco(GA) & Harvey if she might be able to check back with you later since she's usually up later
 
Just a bit of housekeeping.....since you shot at +10, that's his PMPS number on his spreadsheet....you could just put "299 @ +10" in the PMPS cell and then manually color code it to the yellow by clicking on the icon along the top that looks like a can of paint tipping over

The number you shoot is always the Pre-shot number

So at +3.5, he's down to 128?

He still dropping pretty quickly, so I'd test again at +4.5 (and if you can get him to eat another small snack, that might help slow him down some)

I can't stay online any longer tonight but I've asked @Tricia Cinco(GA) & Harvey if she might be able to check back with you later since she's usually up later
Thank you very much! I didn't know I could change the color on his SS.
 
So for today we have

AMPS 314 -gave 1/2 U but missed ( fur shot ) time 1:52 PM
+ 5- 308 ( time 6:45 PM )
+8-293 (time 9:05 PM )
PMPS @ +10- 299 gave 1 unit ( time 11:45 PM)
+2 - 189 ( time 1:43 AM)
+3.5 128 (3:15am)
 
going to have to work on your spreadsheet too.....your 2/1 AMPS is on the right line, but all your other numbers today are on the 1/31 line
 
I'm going to do another test in a hour should I still do a +6 too
Guess I'll be no sleeping for me tonight

Fixed SS
 
Last edited:
If anyone is here, is it 68 on a human meter to low? And after I do a 4.5 BG and he is safe, do I need to do a +6 or 7 since he is on PZI?
 
On a human meter, it's under 50 is your "Time to act"....I wasn't sure if your Prodigy meter was human or Pet

If he's still dropping at 4.5, I'd plan on getting at least 1 more test in later on.....when will depend on how quickly he's continuing to drop,....if he drops another 50-60 points in an hour you need to keep testing until he's definitely "bottomed out" and is on his way up again
 
AMPS= 308... fur shot (1:45 PM)
+5 =306 ( 6:45 PM)
+8=293 ( 9:03 PM)
+10= gave 1 u (11:00 pM
-2=189 ( 1:45 AM)
-4.5=128 ( 3:15 AM)
-5.5=146 ( 4:15 AM)

How does he look?
 
Last edited:
No, forgot the 10.2.1 Apple software was scheduled to happen between 3-4 AM

Last ate about 1 1/2-2 hours ago
 
Yes, I free feed and definitely make sure he has food throughout the night while I'm sleeping, well usually I'm sleeping LOL
 
Okay. Most cats will look for food if they are dropping. I think it is safe for you to go get a few hours of shut eye.

I think you know, he was never really in any danger tonight, but monitoring and steering him was definitely the wisest course of action to keep him safe since he dropped so fast so early. He's lucky to have a bean that loves him that much. :)
 
BTW, I don't see that anyone has said this, so I'll be the bad cop. Next time you think you gave a fur shot, it's probably best if you don't shoot the next dose early! :rolleyes:
 
Okay. Most cats will look for food if they are dropping. I think it is safe for you to go get a few hours of shut eye.

I think you know, he was never really in any danger tonight, but monitoring and steering him was definitely the wisest course of action to keep him safe since he dropped so fast so early. He's lucky to have a bean that loves him that much. :)
Thank you, and oh my gosh do I love him!! I was just kinda worried about how fast he dropped and that PZI low hadnt " hit" yet.
Somehow I have got to get his tooth pulled so I can get him back into remission completely, I just can't keep worrying like this so much
Thank you so much for helping me and I am going to do as you suggested and try to get a couple hours sleep before I have to be back at the doctors office
 
If he's been on Zeniquin for a couple of weeks, it might be starting to knock out the infection, and that could have contributed to bringing the numbers down. Just a heads' up for the next few cycles...
 
The fur shot was a 1/2 unit , but yeah didn't think about that . His numbers were high for him and I could tell he didn't feel right, and I can always tell when his BG level is up by the smell of his breath,( his key tones were negative 2 hours ago )
 
If he's been on Zeniquin for a couple of weeks, it might be starting to knock out the infection, and that could have contributed to bringing the numbers down. Just a heads' up for the next few cycles...
He took his last dose of the antibiotic for his infected tooth two days ago and now his numbers were high today. But I still think the Friskies canned carb has changed a little because I gave him Friskies yesterday instead of the fancy feast and he was up today . For the last year I have only been given him Friskies , then 3 weeks ago thhis numbers started going up , then I saw his very infected back to you, it was all swollen and bleeding a very very bad smell so I took him to the vet and he got put on my hands and quoted me a dental of $600. His vet is an hour away so I have to spend that gas and lodging since he has to be there at 8 AM

And you're right how we can pick up on this now even with his rotten tooth I can still pick out a higher than normal BG level
 
But I still think the Friskies canned carb has changed a little because I gave him Friskies yesterday instead of the fancy feast and he was up today
I know they changed the formula in some Fancy Feast recently, and they are both made by Purina, so it's quite possible that some of the Friskies changed, too. How frustrating for those of us with diabetic cats that depend on them!

You're welcome. Sleep tight. And whatever test you're getting done, I hope they come back with good news! (If it's a sleep test, you'll ace it! ;):p)
 
And if you're still around and want to help me out by giving me some fancy feast or safer Friskies. I have my list and I write it out in the morning but I have a feeling I won't have a hard time getting ready in the morning , i'm trying to stick with Friskies because they have such a larger can but fancy feast has so many more to check pick from at lower carbs then Friskies so I guess I guess I'm gonna have to figure out something for now honest to God this is the worst financial hole I have been into I thought I was getting out of my hole and I moved and I had managed to save a little bit over $5000 but now the move over I am in the house and the job that I had is giving me the runaround as to when I'm supposed to start I think they're lying to me about the job anyway now I do not even have money to pay my car insurance and is the first of the month and now the rents due but I do you have my baby girl my human baby girl and I do you have my for babies so that's what matters and if I can just get through two months I will be OK Just don't know what to do and there's two months but anyway I'm going to bed I'm exhausted I'm depressed worried or my cat but I really got to get some sleep to see what these test results are the quicker I get there there's a possibility that I would have them By later The same nightnight later
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top