? Dropping numbers and need to go - abort cycle?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Panic

Member Since 2019
I have a wee bit flexibility today - I need to go into work, the sooner the better because I work outside in the weather but...Panic seems to want to dip today. AMPS was 178 so I hung around to see a +2 and it's 104. She's been doing several nosedives lately so I'm hesitant to leave her. I don't have a set time when I need to be at work, but would prefer to leave soon. If I give her another hour and she's still dropping, could I mix some HC with her food? I'm fresh out of MC and was planning on picking some up after work today.
 
I know this is hours too late, but the message board is very light on volunteers right now.

Yes, certainly ok to mix some HC (high carb) food in with Panic's regular low carb food.

I realize that "technically", per the TR protocol, you shouldn't reduce. But that 51 at +3 on 3/16/2020 the PMPS cycle is close enough in my mind. Plus, you had to prop up the numbers with some MC food.

If Panic were my cat, I'd try a dose reduction down to 1.75U. She may not hold steady on that dose. If that happens, you can always bump up the dose again.

p.s. Sorry there was no one around to help you make a decision.
A friend called and said the supermarket was better stocked, and not too crowded.
So I stepped out to grocery shop and run a couple of other badly needed errands.
 
Thank you! Yes it's very crazy today, I managed to get the last box of syringes and some extra test strips today as well. Can't say the same for my staple foods though.

Deb, I've been thinking the exact same thing...I shouldn't have to use MC to keep her from diving like that, but I also know I'm an eager beaver for reducing doses so I'm glad you said it.

Panic did just fine ... tested her at +9 and she was only 256...I had given her a small handful of "kitty crack" dry food along with HC, then had my mom give her some HC every half hour for a couple hours. Really surprised she wasn't higher but maybe the dry food still hasn't kicked in yet. I will be reducing her dose tonight.
 
"Better too high for a cycle or two, than too low."

Sometimes, you have to do what you have to do, to keep Panic safe. :bighug:
Expect bouncing for a few cycles, with the high carb food and the dose reduction both kicking in at the same time.
Hold the 1.75U dose steady for a a bit. At least 6 cycles if you can. Then reevaluate. And maybe give a cycle or 2 more.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top