Hey guys, I'm relatively new at this. My boy Gabby was diagnosed in late January this year. He's been on Vetsulin, and I have been blood testing him at home.
Yesterday morning, after Gabby got his insulin shot, he threw up. This is the first time he's thrown up to my knowledge, so I got panicky. I put down a bunch of treats for him to make sure he had something in his stomach.
When I tested him that afternoon his blood glucose was at 77.
My vet said to lower his dose, but all of my research said to skip it all together, so I did.
This morning I tested him again and his BG is a 66. So obviously I'm not going to give him inslin this morning either.
Is he headed for hypoglycemia?
Should I be trying to raise his blood sugar?
Should I be excited his little pancreas is still kicking?
Any help or ideas would be greatly appreciated!!
-Raelin
Yesterday morning, after Gabby got his insulin shot, he threw up. This is the first time he's thrown up to my knowledge, so I got panicky. I put down a bunch of treats for him to make sure he had something in his stomach.
When I tested him that afternoon his blood glucose was at 77.
My vet said to lower his dose, but all of my research said to skip it all together, so I did.
This morning I tested him again and his BG is a 66. So obviously I'm not going to give him inslin this morning either.
Is he headed for hypoglycemia?
Should I be trying to raise his blood sugar?
Should I be excited his little pancreas is still kicking?
Any help or ideas would be greatly appreciated!!
-Raelin
Last edited by a moderator: