Dropped 216 points in 5 hours on .4U of Lantus?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Lori and Atticus

Member Since 2012
Can someone take a quick look at my spreadsheet and see if they notice anything I'm not. It seems like she's dropping way too many points on such a small dose. Maybe her pancreas is working more or maybe because she hasn't been eating as much? Her appetite only seems a tiny bit lower today than the past few days, but she is due for Mirtazapine for appetite stimulant in a couple of hours. Is this possibly linked to the appetite stimulant? I lowered her dose a bit this morning because I haven't been able to do a PM shot for the last couple of days. I'm testing her every hour to make sure she doesn't drop too low since her peak is still 2 hours away. I will probably not be able to shoot tonight either because her numbers never climb fast. I'll try to give her .25 U in the AM if her BG is over 200, but other than that, I'm not sure what to do. It seems like we will do good for a couple of days and that I'll be able to get an AM and PM shot in and then we go a couple of days and are only able to do AM shots. Is this common in the beginning? Any other suggestions? Should I be feeding a higher carb food maybe? I just want to get on some sort of a schedule. I haven't left the house over a couple of hours at a time in the last week and I'd really like to keep from being a hermit if at all possible. :mrgreen: Thanks in advance for your help!

PS - Even though she is a pretty feisty kitty, she has been such a doll with the testing over the last 4-5 days. I figured if there was any kitty that wouldn't adjust, it would be her for sure. I was wrong, thank goodness! She actually purrs now while she gets tested. :-D
 
Re: Dropped 194 points in 4 hours on .4U of Lantus?

Your spreadsheet is asking for a password. You need to change the settings so everyone has access.

Glad she is cooperating with the testing!!
 
I'm not knowledgable about Lantus, and I hope others stop by soon. (Maggie was on Levemir.) I do know you want to be consistent with dose as Lantus builds up in a "shed". Also, at first it's safest not to shoot under 200.

The drop from 288 to 72 may seem scary, but I think it's ok. Remember one of the goals is to have numbers in the blues and greens and 72 is a totally safe number. But I think if it was me, I might reduce the dose to .25U. That might allow you to consistently shoot twice a day and still get you down into the blues and greens without worrying about a hypo. Remember when you change dose, you need to let it settle (unless it's not safe to give the shot!)

And if Atticus isn't eating well, that may make a big difference. Once he(?) starts eating regularly, you may have to adjust Atticus' insulin.

I hope others with more knowledge will jump in here!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top