PrettyBlueEyes
Member Since 2012
We're trying something a little different with Leo-who is continuing to do well.
He tends to hang out in the high end of normal in the mornings, and will (most of the time, anyway) start to come down to low 100s or even below, toward the afternoon/early evening. We had debated whether or not to raise his dose a few days ago, and we ended up deciding against it, as our previous no shoot number, 150, has been on the very top end of his readings.
Instead we decided to lower the no shoot number just a bit-down to 135. BF and I came to this decision last night after discussion. I was examining a syringe and discovered that even when it reads 0, there is a drop of liquid still in the needle which will come out if you press the plunger firmly. I tested the size of this "drop" against an amount of water corresponding to a .1u dose. The .1u "dose" was about three drops.
So our trial run of this idea went as follows: yesterday was an awesome day for Leo, he was green all day! This morning, His AMPS was 136-I decided to wait and see...just to be sure. Two hours later he was at 138, so I went ahead and gave the "drop" of insulin. We would be oh-so happy if we could help him stay around 60-believe it or not, there is a difference in how he feels, and he demonstrates by romping and playing like a little kitten when he hits his glucose sweet spot.
It will be interesting to see what effect it will have. Maybe it's too small to make a difference, but I want him to feel his best. BF is monitoring today and I'll post values when I get them.
Happy Friday, everyone!
Kate & Leo
He tends to hang out in the high end of normal in the mornings, and will (most of the time, anyway) start to come down to low 100s or even below, toward the afternoon/early evening. We had debated whether or not to raise his dose a few days ago, and we ended up deciding against it, as our previous no shoot number, 150, has been on the very top end of his readings.
Instead we decided to lower the no shoot number just a bit-down to 135. BF and I came to this decision last night after discussion. I was examining a syringe and discovered that even when it reads 0, there is a drop of liquid still in the needle which will come out if you press the plunger firmly. I tested the size of this "drop" against an amount of water corresponding to a .1u dose. The .1u "dose" was about three drops.
So our trial run of this idea went as follows: yesterday was an awesome day for Leo, he was green all day! This morning, His AMPS was 136-I decided to wait and see...just to be sure. Two hours later he was at 138, so I went ahead and gave the "drop" of insulin. We would be oh-so happy if we could help him stay around 60-believe it or not, there is a difference in how he feels, and he demonstrates by romping and playing like a little kitten when he hits his glucose sweet spot.
It will be interesting to see what effect it will have. Maybe it's too small to make a difference, but I want him to feel his best. BF is monitoring today and I'll post values when I get them.
Happy Friday, everyone!
Kate & Leo