Down on no-shoot number, down on dose

Status
Not open for further replies.

PrettyBlueEyes

Member Since 2012
We're trying something a little different with Leo-who is continuing to do well.

He tends to hang out in the high end of normal in the mornings, and will (most of the time, anyway) start to come down to low 100s or even below, toward the afternoon/early evening. We had debated whether or not to raise his dose a few days ago, and we ended up deciding against it, as our previous no shoot number, 150, has been on the very top end of his readings.

Instead we decided to lower the no shoot number just a bit-down to 135. BF and I came to this decision last night after discussion. I was examining a syringe and discovered that even when it reads 0, there is a drop of liquid still in the needle which will come out if you press the plunger firmly. I tested the size of this "drop" against an amount of water corresponding to a .1u dose. The .1u "dose" was about three drops.

So our trial run of this idea went as follows: yesterday was an awesome day for Leo, he was green all day! This morning, His AMPS was 136-I decided to wait and see...just to be sure. Two hours later he was at 138, so I went ahead and gave the "drop" of insulin. We would be oh-so happy if we could help him stay around 60-believe it or not, there is a difference in how he feels, and he demonstrates by romping and playing like a little kitten when he hits his glucose sweet spot.

It will be interesting to see what effect it will have. Maybe it's too small to make a difference, but I want him to feel his best. BF is monitoring today and I'll post values when I get them.

Happy Friday, everyone!

Kate & Leo
 
Pretty gutsy move. I am glad BF will be around today to watch. He clearly was rising from pmps but still very close to normal numbers. (we figure a cat is in remission if he ranges from 40-120 off insulin)

I don't know if you have seen this. It's a thread on dosing in drops: http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=10&t=34424#p360982 It sounds like what you are doing.

Hope it gets him into greens for another long cycle, but not too green. :-D
 
Well, I'm not convinced that it's something that we'll do again-we'll see what the afternoon/evening numbers show. Thanks for the link-I had not seen that thread-the reading I did about it was from...Cornell University, maybe? I have it bookmarked at home but not here at work. Anyway, the folks in that thread got their drops to be larger than mine-mine were scrawny in comparison. From pressing the plunger when the syringe read 0, I got drops which were small enough to fit in the opening of the bevel.

His numbers have been good, he's right now at +7. Not very different from what he was the past few days: he was 121 at +2, 96 at +4, and 118 at +6. I don't want him to have to have a shot for something that's not much different from where he was holding himself. I think we'll just let him keep on keepin' on.

Kate & Leo
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top