KAYLENE529
New Member
Hi all,
My sugar cat, Leo, was diagnosed back in May and since then we haven't been able to get him stabilized. I insisted with my vet that I start home testing and we are but it's been a learning curve for me. He has pancreatitis and isn't eating much. My vet said regardless of his appetite we have to get his BG down. She said test his BG and if he is under 200 give him 1 unit and if he is above 200 give him 2 units regardless of if he eats. He is on ProZinc.
This scares me but I understand we have to get his BG down. Here's a little background: He is negative for ketones, his kidneys are good and no UTI but he is on a ton of meds for his pancreatitis including bupenorphine, metronidazole, mirtazapine, cerenia, B12 and pepcid. Every time we've tested his BG it's been between 200-500+ and I've been bringing him in for subq fluids and injection versions of his meds when we can. I might admit him tomorrow for IV treatment and an ultrasound.
Here is where we are right now. Throughout the day he has eaten maybe 3/4 a can of Hills A/D (mostly in the morning) but isn't wanting to eat tonight. This morning I only gave 1 unit of insulin because I couldn't get BG reading and I did do a +6 test and it was 314 and I did a PMPS just now and it was 305 and I went ahead and gave him 2 units of insulin per my vets recommendation and I'm just hoping he eats at some point tonight.
Is this an okay dosing method or do I need to be pushing back on my vet? I could really use some guidance to help my little man pull through his pancreatitis and get his diabetes stabilized without a hypo emergency.
My sugar cat, Leo, was diagnosed back in May and since then we haven't been able to get him stabilized. I insisted with my vet that I start home testing and we are but it's been a learning curve for me. He has pancreatitis and isn't eating much. My vet said regardless of his appetite we have to get his BG down. She said test his BG and if he is under 200 give him 1 unit and if he is above 200 give him 2 units regardless of if he eats. He is on ProZinc.
This scares me but I understand we have to get his BG down. Here's a little background: He is negative for ketones, his kidneys are good and no UTI but he is on a ton of meds for his pancreatitis including bupenorphine, metronidazole, mirtazapine, cerenia, B12 and pepcid. Every time we've tested his BG it's been between 200-500+ and I've been bringing him in for subq fluids and injection versions of his meds when we can. I might admit him tomorrow for IV treatment and an ultrasound.
Here is where we are right now. Throughout the day he has eaten maybe 3/4 a can of Hills A/D (mostly in the morning) but isn't wanting to eat tonight. This morning I only gave 1 unit of insulin because I couldn't get BG reading and I did do a +6 test and it was 314 and I did a PMPS just now and it was 305 and I went ahead and gave him 2 units of insulin per my vets recommendation and I'm just hoping he eats at some point tonight.
Is this an okay dosing method or do I need to be pushing back on my vet? I could really use some guidance to help my little man pull through his pancreatitis and get his diabetes stabilized without a hypo emergency.