Dosing question

Angie Haynie

Member Since 2019
Trinity has been on Prozinc for 3 years. I recently started home testing after a temp-vet almost killed her by doubling her old dose of 2u.
She is now getting 1.5u and is primarily syringe fed, which she loves and is ravenous for 3/day. She grazes on purina dm dry- the only other food she will touch. I have tried a bazillion wet and several dry.
I’m very worried about her high am and pm numbers. I am disabled and have been extremely ill since August so my spreadsheet has holes. Also she gets am shot as soon as I wake up at 10 am and pm shot at 10pm immediately before I go to bed. Which makes night testing rough.
Dosage advice would be so appreciated!
 

Attachments

  • 97378EC6-1AF7-4D30-8E34-7C890AD7CE5C.jpeg
    97378EC6-1AF7-4D30-8E34-7C890AD7CE5C.jpeg
    68.6 KB · Views: 196
I see Trinity dropped to 60 the other night on a dose of 1.5u. I would have reduced the dose to 1.25u at that point in time. I also notice that you increased to 1.75u for one cycle the night of the 25th and then reduced to 1u again the morning of the 26th due to the lower pre-shot.
I'd reduce the dose of insulin to 1.25u immediately and hold that dose for 3 to 5 days and give the dose consistently unless BG drops below 90 mid cycle or pre-shots is lower than 200.
It appears Trinity is bouncing right now so it may take a few cycles to see what the 1.25u dose is going to do for her. I know we all sound like broken records, but for safety sake, it would be a good idea to try to get a night time cycle test at least periodically. I have a suspicion Trinity may be going lower at night than you know about and that could be dangerous.
 
I see Trinity dropped to 60 the other night on a dose of 1.5u. I would have reduced the dose to 1.25u at that point in time. I also notice that you increased to 1.75u for one cycle the night of the 25th and then reduced to 1u again the morning of the 26th due to the lower pre-shot.
I'd reduce the dose of insulin to 1.25u immediately and hold that dose for 3 to 5 days and give the dose consistently unless BG drops below 90 mid cycle or pre-shots is lower than 200.
It appears Trinity is bouncing right now so it may take a few cycles to see what the 1.25u dose is going to do for her. I know we all sound like broken records, but for safety sake, it would be a good idea to try to get a night time cycle test at least periodically. I have a suspicion Trinity may be going lower at night than you know about and that could be dangerous.
I will get some night tests this week. I understand the need, I’m trying to balance that need with my ability to do so. I will also reduce dose immediately and hold as you specified. Is there a preferred time, like 4+ or 6+ for the night tests? I am doing anywhere from 4-7+, as you recommended, for day tests to try to provide a better picture.
I really appreciate the help you give. My cats are my kids.
 
If you can get tests later in the night cycle (+5 to +7) that would be great but that can be hard unless perhaps if you get up during the night to use the facilities and use that opportunity to test. Since you normally shoot at 10/10, if you could get a +2 or +3 test, those early tests often provide clues as to how the night cycle will play out.
 
Back
Top