? Dosing Question: To increase or not to increase?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Sylvia & Millie

Member Since 2017
Two days ago we increased her Lantus to 1.25 after several days in the 400 & 500s. Yesterday her AM +9 was 89 which under SLGS 90 means a reduction. Millie tends to bounce and is post DKA (twice last month). Her PM +9 was 415 and her AMPS was 577. Her AM +5 was 424. Since the 89 is so close to the cut off, do I keep her at 1.25? It also says if they are below 90 to reduce immediately. I feel like we will never get to increase her because of the constant bouncing and then us having to lower her dose again. Ideas?




http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...amps-577-ndw-or-bouncing.175981/#post-1934859
 
With the DKA, I'd keep the dose at 1.25. The 89 is pretty much 90. I know the bouncing is frustrating, but it is part of the process. Most cats usually stop bouncing eventually. Hang in there.
 
As you are testing for ketones, they are negative and there are no other issues I would hold the 1.25u for the moment.

She got to green on this dose, and she has only been on it for 5 cycles, even on TR you would hold for a minimum of 6, and when a kitty first sees green you would hold for a minimum of 10cycles.
It does look like she is bouncing of that drop to green the other day, bounces can take up to 6 cycles to clear, so watch for it clearing, so if you get an PS that is lower than your midcycle test or she goes flat yellow or blue, that, in some kitties can be an indication that they are intending to clear the bounce, so it gives you the heads up to perhaps get a test in a little earlier in the cycle say +1/+2.

I think that on the 4/4 she went lower that day blue/green and that set of the bounce that cleared with that 89 4/6, 6 cycles later. by the way good job with getting those PS and midcycle tests in, it's making it easier to see Milly's patterns.:bighug::bighug::bighug:

If Millie were to start to behave oddly, ie going off her food, or you felt something was up, then maybe increasing the dose would be a consideration, because of the DKA, but you might have to take precautionary measures, like perhaps feeding some higher carb food, let us know if you feel anything is off with Milly as that might affect the advice you get. For now though I would still hold the 1.25u.
 
As you are testing for ketones, they are negative and there are no other issues I would hold the 1.25u for the moment.

She got to green on this dose, and she has only been on it for 5 cycles, even on TR you would hold for a minimum of 6, and when a kitty first sees green you would hold for a minimum of 10cycles.
It does look like she is bouncing of that drop to green the other day, bounces can take up to 6 cycles to clear, so watch for it clearing, so if you get an PS that is lower than your midcycle test or she goes flat yellow or blue, that, in some kitties can be an indication that they are intending to clear the bounce, so it gives you the heads up to perhaps get a test in a little earlier in the cycle say +1/+2.

I think that on the 4/4 she went lower that day blue/green and that set of the bounce that cleared with that 89 4/6, 6 cycles later. by the way good job with getting those PS and midcycle tests in, it's making it easier to see Milly's patterns.:bighug::bighug::bighug:

If Millie were to start to behave oddly, ie going off her food, or you felt something was up, then maybe increasing the dose would be a consideration, because of the DKA, but you might have to take precautionary measures, like perhaps feeding some higher carb food, let us know if you feel anything is off with Milly as that might affect the advice you get. For now though I would still hold the 1.25u.
She was in pink numbers last night as opposed to black & red so some improvement. We will test her during the day today and tomorrow.
 
It does look like she is bouncing of that drop to green the other day, bounces can take up to 6 cycles to clear, so watch for it clearing, so if you get an PS that is lower than your midcycle test or she goes flat yellow or blue, that, in some kitties can be an indication that they are intending to clear the bounce, so it gives you the heads up to perhaps get a test in a little earlier in the cycle say +1/+2.
This advice has been VERY helpful to me especially in the beginning. I hope it can help you as well. Getting the +2 has been especially helpful!
 
This advice has been VERY helpful to me especially in the beginning. I hope it can help you as well. Those big drops can be scary. If you get a chance you can look at Uncle's spreadsheet and see that I've dealt with my fair share of them. Getting the +2 has been especially helpful!
Uncle and his legendary PJ parties:rolleyes: it helps when you see them coming.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top