Dosing question (Austin)

Status
Not open for further replies.

4xchooks

Member Since 2010
For those that have been following my Austin's dramas this week, things seem to be on the up and up. :-D

Austins levels:
18/8
Lantus last given 1500
1800 - 283
1900 - 326
2000 - 349
2100 - 358
2200 - 398
0800 - 538
0930 - 535
1100 - 526
1300 - 511
1645 - 30.4
1845 - 30.2
2000 - 1 unit Lantus given
+1 - 30.00
+2.5 - 28.0

19/9
+12 - 1 unit Lantus given
+7.5 - 227
+12 - 211

Hoping the above is starting to make more sense to the board regulars. Basically, he was given 3 units by the vet at 1500 on 18/8, which cause a hypo of 2. His next Lantus was 1 unit 29 hours later.

I was back at work today so haven't been able to get as many readings as yesterday.

The vet recommended starting him back at 2 units, but seeing how much just the 2 doses at 1 unit have brought his levels down, I'm glad I didn't take that advice :?

My question now, though, is should I give him another dose (due now) of 1 unit, which will be 12 hours since this mornings dose, given that he's at 211 at the moment? I'm loathe to have him hypo in the middle of the night. Should I play it cautiously and not give the dose due now and test again in the morning before that dose is due?

The vet said he would want to see Austin again if his levels came under 144, and I'm worried even 1 unit at the moment might do that.

Advice please?
 
hmm no advice here but lantus is supposed to work by shooting twice a day, 12 hours apart.
Hope you get some answers from the experts soon
 
I'm sorry you probably didn't get a reply.

You can cross post on health to see if any Lantus users are around (just make sure they do know your insulin before taking any advice)

Thank goodness you ignored vet advice!Don't worry about so many readings. Austin's shed is empty.Basically like a petrol tank it now needs to refill with Lantus.What's left over works on the bg's.
Lantus takes time to build up so you hold your initial 1u dose for 5-7 days (depending on your numbers).The exception is where the dose causes too low a number.211 isn't massively low but if your not around, caution is ok and wise.He may be a cat that has a double dip (numbers drop again at the end of a cycle)Not enough data for a definitive on this.

What are you like at setting your alarm to test?If now then you could back of the dose a little (BCS=bIG cHICKEN s* DOSE)TO SAY .75U OR .5U.It would probably mean higher numbers next shot.

Lantus works best if given at consistent times and doses (with the odd exception).You need to get preshots, +1 and 2 where possible (this will show how carb sensitive he is and how fast insulin starts working on his bg's) maybe a +4 and definitely a +6 (nadir).Nadior is the main number on which to base your dosing.

If this is all very confusing, your not sure of dose, you could start over and start giving him .75u and see what numbers you get (dont go above 1u at present)

Because of that hhypo, those numbers you have given may not be the 'norm' so to speak.
If a cat hypo's, their body panics (life saving response) and dumps glucagon into bloodstream, thus raising bg's.This can take up to 72 hours to clear.

The number you want to be watching out ofr right now is anything under 50-then you need to feed High carb wet food (have you got some in?25% is about right in the beginning).This raises bg, briefly and you need to mnitor.If not-honey? add a sm amount (less than a tsp)and this acts similarly.
If your not sure (I know you have this time and not been answered) post and usually there is someone around who will help you. If it is a hypo-anyone on health can advise you about getting bg's up.

Good luck :mrgreen:
 
I'm sorry, I don't have any advise here, but it looks like Austin is responding nicely to the 1u! If it were me, I would err on the side of caution since Austin has had two hypos in the past week and give a CSD. BUT....see what any of the others who suggest dosing advise say.
 
The protocol says that we give one dose every 12 hours..
BUT!!!! Because you have had a hypo, I am asking you to contact one of the more experienced members to confirm dose you should give this shot--Please remember you were giving 3 times this dose or more!!
I agree with Kate & you could safely give 1/2 dose---0.5U just to keep the shed up- wont hurt him.
Can you come home at lunchtime for a quick check?
OR leave a lot of food in case Austin should drop--Cats will eat food if they feel themselves dropping(now that he is on a normal dose..
Good luck today! Will check on you later..
 
Thanks everyone. I'm pretty tired and know I'm going to sleep heavily tonight (have a cold), so I took the wuss/safe option and didn't give him the dose. I'll check his BG in the morning before I give him another dose.
 
Giving him a .5u will just keep the shed topped up.By missing dose, your emptying shed and may need to start over.

You sound shattered and possibly a little fed up?

Tomorrow, if you can, get a +11 or +11.30 and ask for advice on what dose you should give.From what I have seen I would say either .75u or 1u (sdefinitely no more regardless of whether you have a high number-you need some consistency). As it stands, 1u is most likely (but there's always ECID :mrgreen: )


Lantus land is a good self regulating isg.Beans who do give advice, do so with confidence (if they don't they will say so). There are no set dosing advisors here, just some beans are comfortable giving it.Other areas of the board I'm not always so confident in.

Good luck :mrgreen:
 
Sorry of course LL is self regulating, but as I myself have never experienced a hypo with Moonie, i was just hoping those who have or are knowledgeable could help!--Everyone here is welcome to post to help anyone else, but I myself like to give advice only if I have experienced it.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top