Dosing help

Deb may not be online yet.

How would you feel about just a token dose, 0.10u? He is heading up but I think 1.5u is too much, especially since you've been skipping lately.
thank you! thought it may be too late for you to be on. I can try doing it .10 seems really small for the u40 syringes I have
 
It's only 8 PM here for me. :)

49822973598_f0540f7a37_w.jpg


This is for U-100 but itll be the same spot as U-40s
 
It's only 8 PM here for me. :)

49822973598_f0540f7a37_w.jpg


This is for U-100 but itll be the same spot as U-40s
that helped, thanks!
Do you think I should do a BG in a few hrs to make sure it doesn't drop too much? would it show in 2 hrs....I go to bed early! lol
 
Yeah get a +2 and let me know how he's doing! Maybe Deb will be online by then and have better dosing advice. I'm not sure how low she wanted you to go.
 
I would not let Furril drop below 90 mg/dL.
You don't have much test data, to know how he will react to the insulin yet.
Plus, he is likely to be more sensitive to insulin since that hypo a few days ago.

I wouldn't shoot any pre-shot BG that is < 150 mg/dL. Not until you have more test data.

Would you be willing to cut the dose in half again? Down to 0.75U?
Basing that suggestion on the 3U causing a hypo, and the 1.5U being still a bit too much that you have to skip shots.
 
I would not let Furril drop below 90 mg/dL.
You don't have much test data, to know how he will react to the insulin yet.
Plus, he is likely to be more sensitive to insulin since that hypo a few days ago.

I wouldn't shoot any pre-shot BG that is < 150 mg/dL. Not until you have more test data.

Would you be willing to cut the dose in half again? Down to 0.75U?
Basing that suggestion on the 3U causing a hypo, and the 1.5U being still a bit too much that you have to skip shots.
Cutting it down to .75 is fine with me, anything to avoid the hypo.

I just did the +2 and bg was 226. He does kinda graze I cant get him to eat a lot at 1 time. I do make sure to not have him eat 3 hrs prior to the preshot readings tho.
 
Last edited:
I do make sure to not have him eat 3 hrs prior to the present readings tho.
The only BG test we need (like) to see without a food influence, is the pre-shot test. All other BG tests we expect to be food influenced.

You only need to take the food up 2 hours before the pre-shot test.
If even that is not possible, than it's not possible and we have to know that information in order to help you better.
 
Sorry for the short reply above, I didn't want to leave you hanging. (Trying to get the men out the door to start the day - we start early around here)

Since you couldn't stall to see if he was on the rise it's always better to be safe.

The Prozinc Dosing sticky says:
How to handle a lower than normal preshot number when following SLGS:
Between 150 and 200 (8.3-11.1 mmol/L), you have three options:
  • a.) give nothing
  • b.) give a token dose (10-25% of the usual dose)
  • c.) feed as usual, test in a couple of hours, and make a decision based on that value
Last night, as far as I can tell (spreadsheet not updated) you gave .75u so a token dose would be between 0.1 & 0.2 units (rounded for ease of amounts)

Furril is at 167 for preshot number. I do have to go into work this AM and am nervous about any insulin. Please advise. It's so close to a 150 reading

I agree, with lack of data and just starting to see the preshot numbers now you want to be around to be able to test when you shoot full doses on those lower numbers for the first time. Safety first!
 
Ah shoot, I checked in between 8 & 9 am to see how you were doing around your shot time - thought no news was good news.

Good job stalling this morning! And perfect decision about the dose!

Let's see what @Deb & Wink has to say about the dose going forward when she's around next - hopefully tonight.

If you can grab a test an hour or two before your shot time might help to see if he's on the rise at shot time or give us a clue what's going on.
 
Thanks so much! Yea we were behind an hour or so this time around. I did another check. Curious to see what bg will be closer to shot time
 
Well, 3U was too much.
1.5U was too much.
0.75 looks like too much too.

So you are microdosing for a while.
Good call on the 0.1U dose this morning.
Furril had a BIG drop even on that teeny tiny dose.
Try feeding at +1, to try and keep the BG levels more steady. Test then also, if you could please.
Sometimes that food at +1 helps, to slow the drop after the shot.
Still feed after the pre-shot test too. Just a snack, like 1 teaspoon at the +1 time or later.

Onset with Prozinc is usually +2, but cats can have earlier onsets than that, and Furril may be one of them.
Some tests at the +1, +1.5 time frame may tell you more of what is going on with him.

Did he eat well this AM?


p.s. New thread please, and link this one in at the top?
Long threads get the attention of the mods, and we don't want them to complain.
 
Back
Top