Dosing Help

Status
Not open for further replies.

skippersmom

Member Since 2013
I'm posting here instead of the PZI forum just because I can get an answer a little sooner.

Skipper was 165 this morning. I think it might be food related. I did not wake up and give him his 1/2 can of FF at 6:00 so by 9:00 testing time, he hadn't eaten for 12 hours. Almost and hour and 1/2 later, he is 203. He has eaten.

I know he will continue to rise without a shot. So, should I give him his normal dose since he is over 200? 1/2 a dose? I have skipped a dose for a low morning reading before and he was really high by night.

Any suggestions?
 
Well, I decided to go with 1.2 units. I will be here to watch him. When I have gone with a low dose, it hasn't worked well and messed him up for several days. I am hoping this will keep him on track. I'll test him at about 5.5 hours.
 
Just keep an eye on him. I would lower the usual dose next pmps to see if you can get a shootable am preshot. Maybe a skinny 1.25. (so pull up 1.25 and just let out a drop or two)

Your other choice would be to make sure the 175 is a rising number (so get a test 20 minutes later to make sure he is going up) and then give a reduced dose - maybe one unit. See how today's dose works.
 
Ugh he is 52 3 1/2 hours later which mean he'll go lower. Should I give him something? He actsnfne so far.
 
Make that give 1-2 teaspoons of high carb gravy.
Wait 30 min and observe behavior.
Re-test.
Repeat if needed.

You've got about an hour for nadir to pass.
 
I wanted to see what the number was first. If he's back in the 300 to 400s then I will probably go with 1.2. If it is lower then 300. I'm not sure what to do. .75 - 1.00?
 
I am going to guess he may have been dipping low each cycle- you just caught it this time because you got a test +4. I think I'd reduce the dose overall. I like the 1.2 for the 300-400 (which he may be tonight with a bounce or reaction to any higher carb food) I think one unit or even .8 for the low 200s?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top