Kate & Toby
Active Member
Spreadsheet now updated. Looks like Toby is going to put me through a low cycle and thus uneasy night. It's great to see some lovely low numbers though, we just need to both learn it's ok and not a scary place!
Thank you Linda for your detailed reply. I hear what you're saying and will keep things consistent. I went with 1.75iu. It's a real rollercoaster hey! Yes I agree, he seems to drop quickly.There are kitties who do well with different doses day/night but it's more common to dose consistently for both cycles. I wouldn't consider the different dosing on a regular basis until you get Toby a little more regulated. His numbers are improving and he's been getting some lower readings during the day too. You may not however be seeing all of them because of limited daytime testing compared to night time. And of course there is the bouncing which generally calms down as kitty gets more used to those lower readings.
To keep Toby safe, you could give a reduced dose at night when PMPS is lower such as it was last night but right now his insulin needs seem to be changing a bit so I think I'd try to keep dosing consistent so as not to muddy the picture with different dosing day and night. My suggestion would be that if Toby's PMPS is below 250, reduce dose by 0.25u for that night and monitor early so you can steer him if he is dropping fast.
That 1.9 last night was seriously low and you don't want him doing that. It looks like he started dropping a fair bit around +4 last night. When you see a drop of 50% over a 2 hour period, you need to try to slow the drop down with some food and on a night cycle, a bit higher carb food can be given to keep him surfing at a nice safe level.
Thanks Linda, appreciate the reply. Do you agree to hold steady at 1.75iu?The major drop from 28 down to 11 in 4 hours last night seems to have set off a bounce. Swift drops as well as lower numbers will set off bounces. He'll come back down.
Thanks Linda, we are back on the positive tonight and hes coming down nicely. The spoilt boy has had, sheba, sea bass and organic chicken breast tonight and is laid flat out stuffed!Stop kicking yourself Kate. That may just be an overly dramatic reaction to those lows. Some kitties bounce a little and some shoot to the moon and Toby had high numbers the last time he went to green too. Fur shots happen to all of us so just make a note in remarks that it was a possible furshot and carry on. Toby will get back to business soon enough.![]()
Thanks Linda. I'm beyond gutted. I've just managed to syringe 15ml of water in him. And hes in the garden in the dark drinking a puddle (heavy rain here roday), thankfully also chasing moths so hes feeling ok.I was so hoping you got distracted or were looking for better light. Keep us posted and give Toby some scritches for me.