Dosing help please

Status
Not open for further replies.

Barb & Mr. Frog

Member Since 2013
Hi, I'm wondering if I need to change Frog's dose, or if I should keep it the same for awhile longer (if so, how long? What should I be looking for?). I don't know how to identify 'trends' ... to me it just looks like he stays high in general :-|

Should I be considering trying a different insulin?
 
It is hard to tell, Barb, whether he is bouncing a little midcycle. Can you get a couple mid cycle numbers today around +5-7? If he went further down last night, this am could be a bounce. I wouldn't increase until i knew whether he needs a little more or whether he is bouncing.
 
I have a bunch of errands to tend to, but I'll do my best to get home to do that. He is pretty mad at me right now, squirmed all over for the amps, presumably because I punctured his ear last night (at the pm+5) In my defense it wasn't exactly my fault.(he usually squawks a bit every poke, but this time he jerked away).... but it's my fault as far as he is concerned, lol.
 
and +6 is 364 ..... These numbers mean he IS bouncing on the 1.0 don't they? I feel really dumb these last few days :/

I still have a lot of errands to do, can't stay here to wait for +7 ..... but as with the other time I got numbers close together in the mid, it looks like the nadir (probably) came somewhere in between 5 and 6?
 
It could be a bounce, he hasn't seen a blue for a few days or it could be the dose is too high. If the PMPS comes down then we should think about lowering the dose. I see that you were getting good numbers on .75u.
 
Frog's bg got pretty low tonight (not hypo territory, but low for him) I can't figure heads nor tails out looking at these numbers. Should I be lowering his dose again? I need to get a few hours sleep, just hoping someone will answer before I have to give him his shot this am. I have to be out of the house again later, low chance of swinging by to get mid-cycle tests
 
Those mid-cycle numbers are fabulous! I'd say if his AMPS are 300-500 stay with 1 unit. 200-299 maybe a .75. Don't shoot below a 200. If you feel nervous about the shot, you can take off .25 and shoot a .75 on a 300+, and .50 on 200-299. It looks like he's trying to settle in to the shot, and that's very good.

Don't get discouraged with high BG's, it's a process, and cats love to move at their own pace. Cats handle high BG's very well.
 
I'm with Mary, Barb. Yes, he is bouncing and I'd go with the one. He doesn't go super low so the idea is that his body will get used to the blues and settle in. Patience. At least you know the insulin works!
 
That's a very good point Sue, thanks. Alright, I will stick with the 1.0. Hopefully he will come around soon, it's getting VERY difficult to catch him @ the litter box to check for ketones. It was easy at first, because he was using the pellet box I keep in the bathroom, but since I changed my litter over to the petco unscented (per dr. P's website) he is much more prone to sneaking off to one of the more out of the way boxes while I'm not looking. I've been having to lock him in the bathroom for awhile to get a sample... I hate doing that to him, but these high numbers worry me, and a Neg test helps keep me calm.
 
Yep. If you just looked at the pink preshots, you'd think "this insulin isn't doing anything"....but then you see the blues midcycle and think "aha"

You might put a piece of saran wrap in the litter. Sometimes they will pee, at least somewhat, on it and you can get a clean sample. But it does have to be soon after.
 
I have nine large litter boxes at the moment, saran wrap isn't going to help me much with this many cats AND that many boxes. I would literally have to follow him around all day that way.
 
Sorry, then that won't help. Oliver wouldn't pee when anyone was in the room. So we'd put him in a room with clean box filled with aquarium gravel. He couldn't stand to see a clean box so he'd christen it for us. :mrgreen:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top