Dosing HELP please

I don’t know how to do the SS at this point. We have not given any PM insulin and are 40 minutes past shot time. Still only 160-165 BG readings. We did feed but his food is extremely low, 4% carbs.

Should we skip insulin tonight? Need help deciding given how beautiful he’s been doing. Don’t want to screw it up by making an uneducated guess.
 
Last edited:
In this case, his PMPS was not that much lower than the 185 you have shot before, so I would have either shot the full 1 unit or given .75 units.
 
Sorry, I’m on my little phone screen right now and had a number typo. He was 170 when we gave his shot, did a skinny.

Thank you for your help, this is hard! To me,154 seemed like a very low number. At what number should we skip a shot? Or should I just hold up and post like I did tonight?
 
Okay so I think he’s an hour past shot time. You can get back on schedule by shooting tomorrow morning at 30 minutes past shot time —8:30 a.m. and 8:30 p.m. tomorrow evening and then 8 a.m. the next morning — advancing by 30 minutes per day.
 
As for lower numbers, gradually we can gather data on how he does with lower preshot numbers. Tonight if you were uncomfortable shooting 1 unit, you could try .75 units and see how he did. If we saw him go too high, we would know to shoot one unit next time.
 
Now, if you get a green preshot (under 100) I would definitely post here for help and just skip for now if you don’t get any help in time. Gradually we will work our way down.
 
Interesting. If you are shooting numbers that low — what is the sign that it’s time to go OTJ? Is there a post-it where I can read info on that?
 
Well, what usually happens is that a cat will keep earning reductions until their dose is very tiny— like .10 or a drop dose.
 
Hopefully by the time Batty gets to that point you will be able to test his ear with a human glucose meter so we can know it is really time to reduce.
 
I had no idea you go to that low of doses! I’m going to go try and get off my mind the poor care we gave our 1st diabetic. Our vets share so little with us. Thank you from the bottom of my heart for your time and knowledge that you share.
 
Thank you for checking on is. It’s rough but we are okay. Over 16 inches of rain now, landslides and hundreds of downed trees blocking our road down to town. No power or running water since noon yesterday.

Batty is doing great. He is jumping from the floor to the back of the sofa for first time in years and grooming himself like he just woke up from a long coma! He is staying in the green and blue for 90% of the time last three days.
 
Working offline, without internet or electricity. SS is messed up but we are testing and Batty remains in the blue and green. We are barricaded in by landslides but have about 4 days kitty food supply and plenty insulin.
 
This is just terrible. I saw what you wrote about landslides and being cut off from town and no water. We lost power from Helene as well (which also means no water as we have a well) but we got it back. I am so concerned about you all. Glad to know Batty is doing great.
 
Thank you for concern. It is the worst I’ve witnessed 1st hand. Forecast is saying a stronger one coming in a week and plotting a similar path for it. I’m shocked to see this much damage this far in from the coast. Praying we don’t run out of cat food. I have pantry dry goods people can survive on but my three boys go through a lot of cat food!
 
Yes, I’ve had Julie on my mind too. She is not far north of me and her children are very close to me. It’s the worst. Praying you stay safe and that the next storm doesn’t follow the same path.
 
Now Batman is only 101 bg at PMPS time. Skip? 1/2 dose? We are beyond exhausted so can’t stay up to test all night.

sorry SS isn’t up to date. It’s living hell here in Henderson County right now. Doing the best we can.
 
Last edited:
im sorry if I sound cranky. Drove 10 hours today to find gas for the generator and a few groceries. Now trying to care for everyone using flashlights. Im grateful beyond words to have this board to help us through and teach me how to best care for Batman
 
im sorry if I sound cranky. Drove 10 hours today to find gas for the generator and a few groceries. Now trying to care for everyone using flashlights. Im grateful beyond words to have this board to help us through and teach me how to best care for Batman
I have been so worried about you! I prayed in church this morning for both you and Julie, your fur babies , kids etc! I am so thankful to hear from you (still haven’t heard from Julie and am very worried- she has become my friend and I love her.)
 
Or was that tonight? Anyway, if it was tonight, I think that was a good decision! He will be fine.

I hope you have enough cat food now! You said you had people food and enough insulin.
 
So sorry if I wrote on wrong line. Full unit last night. We need to go get in bed so went ahead and gave the half dose (0.5) tonight. I’ll fix SS, so sorry for mistake. Dark in here and this screen is small for old eyes!
 
Perfect. I understand about looking at these small screens! Love to you and Batty and all your other fur babies and hubby too!
 
We bought Fancy Feast while out to make sure we don’t run out! I’m going to have to change food anyway. As much as I like it, Stella and Chewy freeze dried is about $45 for about 4 days food for the 3 cats. Beyond my budget given everything else they need.

Thank you for praying for us. I think we may have lost our church building. Can’t reach anyone and don’t think anyone can make it to the building right now. I hope and pray we hear from Julie and her family soon. I’ve tried to message her too. I’m blessed with cell service, id say 98-percent of people have no cellular and no internet.
 
We bought Fancy Feast while out to make sure we don’t run out! I’m going to have to change food anyway. As much as I like it, Stella and Chewy freeze dried is about $45 for about 4 days food for the 3 cats. Beyond my budget given everything else they need.

Thank you for praying for us. I think we may have lost our church building. Can’t reach anyone and don’t think anyone can make it to the building right now. I hope and pray we hear from Julie and her family soon. I’ve tried to message her too. I’m blessed with cell service, id say 98-percent of people have no cellular and no internet.
Thank the Lord you have cell service! I would be so worried if you, too, were unreachable. Fancy Feast is okay if it’s the classic pates which are low carb. There are a few other flavors that are not high carb.
I’m sorry about your church building. I can say things like… the church isn’t a building, but it’s the people… and it would be true, but it’s still really sad to lose the place where you meet.
 
You are my kinda lady, too! I always stress WE are the church, the structure is a church building! Our church has roots going back to the Episcopalian nuns who started a school in Bat Cave in the 1800’s on the land and later donated some of their land to our congregation to build the church building. It’s a small, rustic stone building, max capacity of 135 and has been through a lot and has a graveyard with deep family roots. Was a fire in the early 1900’s and the priest managed to pull the huge solid wood altar out and we still use it along with some cross beams he also pulled out of the burning structure! Been through a lot and the Sisters still own adjoining mountain land as their private retreat and visit us when they come in from Ohio. They are the last few Episcopalian. nuns living and so very kind. Enough church history, lol! All this stress has me feeling a bit nostalgic! Sweet dreams to you, Darcy, and family
 
I have to go to bed but please share with me tomorrow any food brands advise you might have. They love Smalls and Stella & Chewy but both are very expensive. I’m chewing on the idea of following Dr Pierson’s homemade recipe.
 
You are my kinda lady, too! I always stress WE are the church, the structure is a church building! Our church has roots going back to the Episcopalian nuns who started a school in Bat Cave in the 1800’s on the land and later donated some of their land to our congregation to build the church building. It’s a small, rustic stone building, max capacity of 135 and has been through a lot and has a graveyard with deep family roots. Was a fire in the early 1900’s and the priest managed to pull the huge solid wood altar out and we still use it along with some cross beams he also pulled out of the burning structure! Been through a lot and the Sisters still own adjoining mountain land as their private retreat and visit us when they come in from Ohio. They are the last few Episcopalian. nuns living and so very kind. Enough church history, lol! All this stress has me feeling a bit nostalgic! Sweet dreams to you, Darcy, and family
That is so interesting about your church. I will look it up online and see if I can find out about it. I have thought about making my own food too, it may be less expensive. Since you are already feeding raw you could try it (after things get back to “normal.” What are the roads like now? How are you getting information about where when you can get out to purchase things. It took you ten hours yesterday?
 
Still no power and didn’t have cell service for last 26 hrs. We are holding well and Batman is doing very well although we all struggle with ear prick. Having to miss a lot of tests because he’s too upset. The tests we have been able to take are all between 110-160 so no worries. Thank you for continued prayers.
 
Do you have food and water? Generator? Roads? I heard I-40 going out of Asheville was open and the way of I-40 into Asheville was soon to be open. Of course, that’s just the interstate. Getting news is very hard. I will keep praying.
 
Last edited:
Are the cats upset about all the change in their routines? And they sense the stress around them? I hope you have a lot of cat food as well as food for you two.

I heard from Julie and she and her family were at least safe as of two days ago.
 
Are the cats upset about all the change in their routines? And they sense the stress around them? I hope you have a lot of cat food as well as food for you two.

I heard from Julie and she and her family were at least safe as of two days ago.
So happy Julie is safe and her family. Cats are taking it in stride, they like all the extra attention once it gets dark and we have nothing else to do! Our generator is small so can only run a few things like frig and water well for a couple hours now and then.

God is providing! Cabin next door is a rich, single man’s vacation house and he told us to take anything we need - well stocked in canned and dry goods. God is good and nice neighbors a blessing. Hubby just brought me hot eggs off the Coleman cooktop, best meal since Thursday! Will keep in touch when I can. Cell service comes and goes.
 
He’s answering my prayers for you then.
They were saying today to be careful about drinking from wells as they could be contaminated after flooding and to not assume that your well water is safe. We have a well, too, and I don’t know that I would have thought of it.
 
I’m still thinking about you (and worrying about all of you) and praying for you. I saw on the FB page for your church that the building is still standing! I think about y’all all the time and wish I could do more to help.
 
Back
Top