mkattz & Wally
Member Since 2014
Hi all:
Wally my 15 yr old orange tabby cat was diagnosed with a tumor over his adrenal glad. He also has IBD and a heart murmur. After the tumor was discovered he gained a tremendous amount of weight, at the rate of 1 lb a week. The tumor was too risky to remove and I could not afford the surgery anyway. At the rate he was gaining weight we brought him home and planned on doing palliative care. We did test for Cushing Disease as his symptoms seemed to indicate it but he was negative. He became very large. I stopped weighing him at 26 lbs, I couldn't bear knowing how quickly he was gaining weight. I believed he was going to have a heart attack and that would be the end. He seemed pretty content, not to aware of his illness but as he got larger he started having mobility issues. Well Wally did not have a heart attack. Instead he lost weight, ate a lot, drank a lot and lost muscle mass in his limbs. I assumed that the tumor was doing weird things but out of the blue decided to test his BG and It was 497. We went directly to the vet and got a prescription for insulin. Wally started on two units twice a day on 6/12/16. I ran his first curve today and set up a chart for him. The results have not been very promising with the lowest reading being 313. Does anyone know if this type of tumor can make him a acro kitty? He has a pot belly. Any way Wally is a large kitty normally. His normal weight is approx. 17 or 18 lbs. I wanted to use the start low. go slow method but think I already blew it. My last diabetic kitty was started at a high dose and we had hypo scares. His doctor also insisted on changing his diet immediately which ended up being fatal as he would not eat. I had to syringe feed him for months, never got his BC under control and he passed away within 7 months of diagnosis from pancreatitis and fatty liver disease. I don't want to go down that road again. Wally is only eating wet food but it isn't very low carb. He like Friskies with gravy. I tried to give him the pate but he would not eat it. I don't know if he is a acro kitty? I read the article about that but still am not sure. He has a tumor but not on the pituitary gland. I believe it is over the adrenal glad and not in it but he definitely has a pot belly. The picture attached is a few years old. He isn't that handsome any longer. His head is smaller as well as his limbs.
Anyway I have been reading up on this website and I have a lot of questions. The doctor wanted to start Wally on 3 units of Lantus twice a day and I talked her down to 2 units believing that was low. Now I see that 1 unit is the recommended starting dose. The doctor told me not to curve Wally the first week as his numbers would be all over the place. I started the curve yesterday actually (it is attached) and his numbers are in the 400 and 300 hundreds. I spoke with the doctor and she said to raise the dose to 3 units. I agreed to .5 a unit increase. Now I'm concerned that we are overdosing him. Could he be bouncing or are these true numbers? Should I reduce the dose or keep it at 2 or 2.5 units. I know I need to transition him to a lower carb food and am working on that.
I gave him Fancy Feast Medleys in broth (10%) carb last night and this morning. He ate it well last night but not so much this morning. I am leaving wet food out for him to graze on during the day as I am gone to work like 11 hours a day and I don't want him to go hypo while I gone with no food. I don't know what to do, his numbers are awful. Has anyone had such terrible starting numbers and been successful in bringing them down. Please advise, I'm really confused and want to help my poor kitty. Should I continue on 2.5 units of 2 fat units?
https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets/d/1xGN1FaMTkBS7jS60_nfpffe0A-4lBmE4BW9tu7qFpoQ/pubhtml
Wally my 15 yr old orange tabby cat was diagnosed with a tumor over his adrenal glad. He also has IBD and a heart murmur. After the tumor was discovered he gained a tremendous amount of weight, at the rate of 1 lb a week. The tumor was too risky to remove and I could not afford the surgery anyway. At the rate he was gaining weight we brought him home and planned on doing palliative care. We did test for Cushing Disease as his symptoms seemed to indicate it but he was negative. He became very large. I stopped weighing him at 26 lbs, I couldn't bear knowing how quickly he was gaining weight. I believed he was going to have a heart attack and that would be the end. He seemed pretty content, not to aware of his illness but as he got larger he started having mobility issues. Well Wally did not have a heart attack. Instead he lost weight, ate a lot, drank a lot and lost muscle mass in his limbs. I assumed that the tumor was doing weird things but out of the blue decided to test his BG and It was 497. We went directly to the vet and got a prescription for insulin. Wally started on two units twice a day on 6/12/16. I ran his first curve today and set up a chart for him. The results have not been very promising with the lowest reading being 313. Does anyone know if this type of tumor can make him a acro kitty? He has a pot belly. Any way Wally is a large kitty normally. His normal weight is approx. 17 or 18 lbs. I wanted to use the start low. go slow method but think I already blew it. My last diabetic kitty was started at a high dose and we had hypo scares. His doctor also insisted on changing his diet immediately which ended up being fatal as he would not eat. I had to syringe feed him for months, never got his BC under control and he passed away within 7 months of diagnosis from pancreatitis and fatty liver disease. I don't want to go down that road again. Wally is only eating wet food but it isn't very low carb. He like Friskies with gravy. I tried to give him the pate but he would not eat it. I don't know if he is a acro kitty? I read the article about that but still am not sure. He has a tumor but not on the pituitary gland. I believe it is over the adrenal glad and not in it but he definitely has a pot belly. The picture attached is a few years old. He isn't that handsome any longer. His head is smaller as well as his limbs.
Anyway I have been reading up on this website and I have a lot of questions. The doctor wanted to start Wally on 3 units of Lantus twice a day and I talked her down to 2 units believing that was low. Now I see that 1 unit is the recommended starting dose. The doctor told me not to curve Wally the first week as his numbers would be all over the place. I started the curve yesterday actually (it is attached) and his numbers are in the 400 and 300 hundreds. I spoke with the doctor and she said to raise the dose to 3 units. I agreed to .5 a unit increase. Now I'm concerned that we are overdosing him. Could he be bouncing or are these true numbers? Should I reduce the dose or keep it at 2 or 2.5 units. I know I need to transition him to a lower carb food and am working on that.
I gave him Fancy Feast Medleys in broth (10%) carb last night and this morning. He ate it well last night but not so much this morning. I am leaving wet food out for him to graze on during the day as I am gone to work like 11 hours a day and I don't want him to go hypo while I gone with no food. I don't know what to do, his numbers are awful. Has anyone had such terrible starting numbers and been successful in bringing them down. Please advise, I'm really confused and want to help my poor kitty. Should I continue on 2.5 units of 2 fat units?
https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets/d/1xGN1FaMTkBS7jS60_nfpffe0A-4lBmE4BW9tu7qFpoQ/pubhtml