ash&chewy
New Member
Hi all - Our vet is closed for the day and I would like some advice on how to dose Chewy this evening.
We picked him up from his pet sitters yesterday afternoon - he spent 10 days there and they were only able to give him his insulin once a day. I don't have any times or readings. Not ideal, but it is what it is.
He got his normal .85u yesterday evening and tested low this morning at 111, so we skipped his shot. He stayed relatively low all day (was at 129 after eating this morning). This evening at his normal PMPS time, he tested 94 first and we immediately re-tested at 114 since his numbers are so good my husband thinks our meter is broken.
I don't really like the idea of skipping 2 shots in a row when he's been so inconsistent for the last week. Do you think it would be ok to give him a .5u dose? Or is it better to skip again if he doesn't go up further in the next hour? Our no-shoot number when starting out was 150, but I'm thinking it could be time to reduce that.
We picked him up from his pet sitters yesterday afternoon - he spent 10 days there and they were only able to give him his insulin once a day. I don't have any times or readings. Not ideal, but it is what it is.
He got his normal .85u yesterday evening and tested low this morning at 111, so we skipped his shot. He stayed relatively low all day (was at 129 after eating this morning). This evening at his normal PMPS time, he tested 94 first and we immediately re-tested at 114 since his numbers are so good my husband thinks our meter is broken.
I don't really like the idea of skipping 2 shots in a row when he's been so inconsistent for the last week. Do you think it would be ok to give him a .5u dose? Or is it better to skip again if he doesn't go up further in the next hour? Our no-shoot number when starting out was 150, but I'm thinking it could be time to reduce that.