DOSING HELP!! AMPS 345 PMPS 197- on 7 units of lantus

Status
Not open for further replies.

Punkyp

Member Since 2011
OK my cats's BG's have been in the 400's for months & we;ve slowly worked up to 7 units.. I did 7 units starting Fri night & today I started noticing a bIIIG drop!! Whoo hoo!! Now I don't know if I should give him 7 units for tonight- cuz that made his sugar go down 150 points- could I be at risk for hypo? Should I give him 4 or 5 units tonite until I can talk to dr tomorrow?
 
Peggy can you give me anymore info.
I definetly think you want to lower dose tho'.
What is kitty eatting as diet?
 
i just read some of your prior posts. so you are using lantus, and your cat may be recovering from an infection yes?
 
It looks like you had a break through dose. Scanning back through your spreadsheet though ...I saw a note for ACROMEGALY. Have you had the test done?

You keep awesome notes I am sure your vet appreciates your diligence in that regard!

As far as dose, due to numerous the complications, I do not feel experienced enough to offer you dosing advice in this situation. Although I know Lantus does like consistency. You may see a rise in BG's today from the 1.0u you administered last night. That was a large change in dose from 7.0u.

I would encourage you visit the Lantus Insulin Support Group. They have folks there who are very experienced with more complicated situations.

We also have the Acro/IAA/Cushings Support Group you may want to visit. Again, a very savvy group of experienced care givers are there. And they can advise you on how to deal with an and Acro-cat.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top