Hala Darwish
Member Since 2021
Hello all,
I am new here, I shared the story of YoYo already on Facebook. I will brief you again.
YoYo is a rescue cat , 1+ years old. With Cerebellar Hypoplasia, Pancreatic Insufficiency and Diabetes. As I currently live outside the US , when diagnoses with diabetes which in his case is juvenile, he was started by the vet on an Insulin type not used in the US , it is a human Long acting insulin ( Insulatard, Onset of action is within 1½ hours, reaches a maximum effect within 4-12 hours and the entire time of duration is approximately 24 hours )
https://www.ema.europa.eu/en/documents/overview/insulatard-epar-summary-public_en.pdf
Within 3-4 months of his first DKA or when he was diagnoses, he went into remission for about 4 months. When we started the treatment and when in remission he had gained weight but he remains underweight for his age , he is now 2 kg. The vet asked me to increase his food quantity which I did but he does not eat much.
This past month, his BG started to climb again. I went back to giving insulin, I started with 0.5 unit twice per day, I went up to 1 unit twice per day, then he had a couple of hypoglycemia episodes by 4-5 hours post morning injection ( asymptomatic ones) , the lowest he got was 22mg/dl. I reduced the morning and night insulin doses to 0.25 , then his BG became in 100s to 150s in the evening so I skipped the night dose and made the morning dose a barely noticeable in the syringe volume. It has been a week now, his morning fasting BG is in the 200s , yesterday I skipped insulin all day. This morning his BG was 203 mg/dl. I use a human meter. I did not feel comfortable giving insulin. I leave to work all day and I do not free feed as I have another cat who is overweight and if I leave food he would eat it all.
I am only feeding him wet food, mostly Royal Canin Diabetic as I had already bought a stock and I am introducing Pate as recommended in this group. I only use dry food to sprinkle on food to make him eat a larger quantity. I sprinkle with Light weight Royal Canin dry food.
I would like to hear your opinion about the BG management, can I skip the insulin when it is in the 200s ?
Anything you suggest that can get him to gain some weight. I notice that when his Diabetes is controlled he eats very little, when his BG is not in control he has lavish appetite and eats everything and jumps on our food plates. I obviously understand that he is better off with a controlled BG but he also needs to gain some weight. Any suggestion is helpful.
I also would like to hear your opinion about the raw diet ? A vet told me about this, but I am not able to think of how to feed raw meats ? I did not do enough search about this. Let me know your thoughts.
Thank you.
I am new here, I shared the story of YoYo already on Facebook. I will brief you again.
YoYo is a rescue cat , 1+ years old. With Cerebellar Hypoplasia, Pancreatic Insufficiency and Diabetes. As I currently live outside the US , when diagnoses with diabetes which in his case is juvenile, he was started by the vet on an Insulin type not used in the US , it is a human Long acting insulin ( Insulatard, Onset of action is within 1½ hours, reaches a maximum effect within 4-12 hours and the entire time of duration is approximately 24 hours )
https://www.ema.europa.eu/en/documents/overview/insulatard-epar-summary-public_en.pdf
Within 3-4 months of his first DKA or when he was diagnoses, he went into remission for about 4 months. When we started the treatment and when in remission he had gained weight but he remains underweight for his age , he is now 2 kg. The vet asked me to increase his food quantity which I did but he does not eat much.
This past month, his BG started to climb again. I went back to giving insulin, I started with 0.5 unit twice per day, I went up to 1 unit twice per day, then he had a couple of hypoglycemia episodes by 4-5 hours post morning injection ( asymptomatic ones) , the lowest he got was 22mg/dl. I reduced the morning and night insulin doses to 0.25 , then his BG became in 100s to 150s in the evening so I skipped the night dose and made the morning dose a barely noticeable in the syringe volume. It has been a week now, his morning fasting BG is in the 200s , yesterday I skipped insulin all day. This morning his BG was 203 mg/dl. I use a human meter. I did not feel comfortable giving insulin. I leave to work all day and I do not free feed as I have another cat who is overweight and if I leave food he would eat it all.
I am only feeding him wet food, mostly Royal Canin Diabetic as I had already bought a stock and I am introducing Pate as recommended in this group. I only use dry food to sprinkle on food to make him eat a larger quantity. I sprinkle with Light weight Royal Canin dry food.
I would like to hear your opinion about the BG management, can I skip the insulin when it is in the 200s ?
Anything you suggest that can get him to gain some weight. I notice that when his Diabetes is controlled he eats very little, when his BG is not in control he has lavish appetite and eats everything and jumps on our food plates. I obviously understand that he is better off with a controlled BG but he also needs to gain some weight. Any suggestion is helpful.
I also would like to hear your opinion about the raw diet ? A vet told me about this, but I am not able to think of how to feed raw meats ? I did not do enough search about this. Let me know your thoughts.
Thank you.
Last edited: