Websterthecat
Member Since 2014
We just got Webster back today. :mrgreen:
I rushed to Walmart and picked up everything that he needs including a Glucose meter.
We just checked his BG and it was 45.
I read over the rules for treating Hypoglycemia and it said I was in low number range (40-60mg/dl). We followed the instructions and he ate a half dozen pieces of food and a 1/2 dozen temptation treats.
How long do I wait to recheck? Should I keep trying to feed him treats?
I was told that he was given a dose (1 unit I believe) of Lantus 6-7 hours ago. If I recall correctly from some of the reading that I did, the insulin should be at peak levels now?
His next dose is at 9:00PM eastern time which is 5 hours away. Should I give him the 1 unit at 9 or should I skip a dose?
Thank you everyone... and Webster says thanks!
UPDATE: It has been nearly 4 hours since he dropped to 45. I have been checking his levels every hour since. (see spreadsheet in signature)
He is due for a shot in one hour. I'm seeing that others are suggesting a lesser dose. I will post the +11 shortly and then the PMPS 15 mins before his next dose is due.
I rushed to Walmart and picked up everything that he needs including a Glucose meter.
We just checked his BG and it was 45.
How long do I wait to recheck? Should I keep trying to feed him treats?
I was told that he was given a dose (1 unit I believe) of Lantus 6-7 hours ago. If I recall correctly from some of the reading that I did, the insulin should be at peak levels now?
His next dose is at 9:00PM eastern time which is 5 hours away. Should I give him the 1 unit at 9 or should I skip a dose?
Thank you everyone... and Webster says thanks!
UPDATE: It has been nearly 4 hours since he dropped to 45. I have been checking his levels every hour since. (see spreadsheet in signature)
He is due for a shot in one hour. I'm seeing that others are suggesting a lesser dose. I will post the +11 shortly and then the PMPS 15 mins before his next dose is due.