dosing advice

Status
Not open for further replies.

Patty & Tiger

Member Since 2012
ok, I skrewed up. Tigers PMS was 174 and I fed him and was getting ready to give shot when I remembered that under 200 I shouldn't give shot. I came back on here and saw where Sue and Oliver said to test and if preshot is below 200 wait 20 minutes and retest before feeding. Since I already fed what do I need to do? Should I go off of the 1.25 and give maybe .5 or none at all.
 
He will probably be high in the AMPS but don't react to the higher number. I would skinny up the 1.25u because that gave you the unshootable PMPS.

With Prozinc you get to start fresh every 12 hours.
 
3 hours past PMPS with no shot given Tiger's BG was 337. Didn't give shot because BG was 174 at PMPS. Do we just ride it out and do the 1.25 for the AMPS no matter what the reading unless it is low?
 
The only way you could shoot this late is if you can shoot again 12 hours from now without messing up your 12/12 schedule. I think the 1.25 would be okay in the am if he is still rising, as long as you are around to monitor. If you won't be, I would skinny it up and give one unit.

Remember, it's only one number. You can get back on track if you skip a shot.
 
The pmps numbers on my Dongdong cat is always lower than 200 (between 109- 130) I usually decrease 0.5 unit so that the next morning won't be too high(350-300 a month ago). A month ago she is still on 2.25 units and since the last few days her amps numbers went down between 160-103, +6hrs (59-77) pmps is between 113-121 and now I only give her 0.5 units twice a day. Her numbers went down so fast is because of changing her diet. I switch her prescription dry food to home made food since she doesn't eat any canned food.
 
tiger87 said:
3 hours past PMPS with no shot given Tiger's BG was 337. Didn't give shot because BG was 174 at PMPS. Do we just ride it out and do the 1.25 for the AMPS no matter what the reading unless it is low?

With ProZinc, each shot is a new start - no carryover. The ideal dose is the same at both times and doesn't take the cat too low at nadir, nor next pre-shot. If you're needing to skip often, a dose reduction seems reasonable.
 
I need to keep to the 5:30 shot schedule because during the week that is when I have to do it for work time. I will be home tomorrow to monitor him with the 1.25 dose if he is above 200, which I am guessing he will be due to the skipped dose tonight.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top