Dosing Advice

Status
Not open for further replies.

JulieL

Member Since 2024
Second day of monitoring Liberty. Started on AlphaTrak meter, but switching to ReliOn today. Gave 1unit twice yesterday. Numbers recorded on spreadsheet. Today's AMPS using new ReliOn was 87. I did not give insulin, but fed him as usual. I'll monitor throughout the day. Will that determine if I change PM dose? I used guidelines from the ProZinc Dosing Methods article (posted as a sticky) that said below 150mg/dL don't give insulin... hope I made the right decision. Advice?
 
Yes you were right not to give insulin this morning.
Dspemnding upon this evening PS it would reduce the the dose to likely ½ unit.
 
Second day of monitoring Liberty. Started on AlphaTrak meter, but switching to ReliOn today. Gave 1unit twice yesterday. Numbers recorded on spreadsheet. Today's AMPS using new ReliOn was 87. I did not give insulin, but fed him as usual. I'll monitor throughout the day. Will that determine if I change PM dose? I used guidelines from the ProZinc Dosing Methods article (posted as a sticky) that said below 150mg/dL don't give insulin... hope I made the right decision. Advice?
That earned a reduction under SLGS so, regardless of tonight’s preshot, you would reduce the dose to 0.75u tonight.

Good luck with the reduction.
 
That earned a reduction under SLGS so, regardless of tonight’s preshot, you would reduce the dose to 0.75u tonight.

Good luck with the reduction.
That's what I thought. I'll have to estimate 0.75u with only having U-40 syringes. Had to order U-100 3/10cc-0.3ml with half unit markings. (Local pharmacy only had 1/2cc-0.5ml U-100 syringes which really won't help). Does needle length matter? Notice the U-100's I ordered have a shorter needle (U-40 syringe has 12.7mm needle, U-100 has 8mm needle).
 
That earned a reduction under SLGS so, regardless of tonight’s preshot, you would reduce the dose to 0.75u tonight.

Good luck with the reduction.
Just to clarify, even though his numbers have increased steadily today, I still decrease the dose to 0.75u (even if PMPS is high)?
 
Just to clarify, even though his numbers have increased steadily today, I still decrease the dose to 0.75u (even if PMPS is high)?
Yes because he dropped below 90. His numbers have increased because he didn’t get a shot this morning :)

That's what I thought. I'll have to estimate 0.75u with only having U-40 syringes. Had to order U-100 3/10cc-0.3ml with half unit markings. (Local pharmacy only had 1/2cc-0.5ml U-100 syringes which really won't help). Does needle length matter? Notice the U-100's I ordered have a shorter needle (U-40 syringe has 12.7mm needle, U-100 has 8mm needle).
just curious why you want to use U100 syringes with a U40 insulin. You will constantly have to convert the dose.
 
Yes because he dropped below 90. His numbers have increased because he didn’t get a shot this morning :)


just curious why you want to use U100 syringes with a U40 insulin. You will constantly have to convert the dose.
Doses less than 1u are difficult with the U40 syringes I have. How can I accurately dose 0.75u? I'm using the 0.5ml 20unit U40 syringes.
 
I'm using the 0.5ml 20unit U40 syringes.
Using U100 syringes w/U40 insulin ius fine. If you use U100 syringes w/1/2 unit markings each ½ unit on the U100 syringe is 0.2 units of U40 insulin. Just make sure that you report your dose as units of U40 insulin and not the the markings on the U100 syringe. Also one can get U40 syringes marked w/½ init markings.
 
Need some help. I think I made a mistake. I had reduced Liberty's dose to 0.75u because of a AMPS of 87. I only did that for two cycles and then last night and this morning I increased to 1u because of a couple red BG numbers. Now I realize I probably shouldn't have done that. I have been able to be home to monitor him around the clock since we started this journey, but today I needed to leave and right before I needed to go I checked and it was 82. I was concerned that his BG might keep going down while I was gone and unable to test, so I fed him. Concurrently, I noticed today that there was very little urine in the box compared to his recent large amounts. I did find urine in the bathtub (!!). He has had a history or urethral blockage and hospitalization, so I suddenly got concerned that maybe something is going on there. I ended up not leaving the house right then, but if possible I'll need to be gone for several hours this afternoon. Any suggestions? I don't know if I'm just anxious because this was going to be my first time away and unable to monitor.
 
Need some help. I think I made a mistake. I had reduced Liberty's dose to 0.75u because of a AMPS of 87. I only did that for two cycles and then last night and this morning I increased to 1u because of a couple red BG numbers. Now I realize I probably shouldn't have done that. I have been able to be home to monitor him around the clock since we started this journey, but today I needed to leave and right before I needed to go I checked and it was 82. I was concerned that his BG might keep going down while I was gone and unable to test, so I fed him. Concurrently, I noticed today that there was very little urine in the box compared to his recent large amounts. I did find urine in the bathtub (!!). He has had a history or urethral blockage and hospitalization, so I suddenly got concerned that maybe something is going on there. I ended up not leaving the house right then, but if possible I'll need to be gone for several hours this afternoon. Any suggestions? I don't know if I'm just anxious because this was going to be my first time away and unable to monitor.
Liberty has been peeing regularly again, so I’m thinking the pee in the bathtub might have been from his “brother”.
I started a new thread asking for some help interpreting Liberty’s numbers. Maybe it’s too soon yet?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top