Dosing Advice

Ashley Morrison

Member Since 2023
Hi there!
Could someone please review Goku’s spreadsheet & recommend what dose we should shoot for PM?
He started 1U of Lantus twice a day last week.
We increased to 1.25U yesterday.
Currently testing with AlphaTrak2.
His fasting BG 30 mins ago was 7.9 then I fed him 1 whole can of FF pate.
PMPS is 9.9
Should I shoot 1.25U or a reduced dose?

*Edit: I’ve just given him the 1.25U. I’m hoping that was the right call. I’ll keep monitoring him throughout the night.
 
Welcome Ashley and Goku . I'm headed out the door but I'm going to tag Bron for you she's from Australia also
You couldn't have found a better group to join
By the way Goku is adorable :cat:
Meantime
Here is a link helping us to help you link. Just tap on this blue link If you noticed, our members have some basic information about their cat's in their signature. This helps us to not pester you by asking the same questions (your cat's name, insulin type, date of diagnosis, etc.) repeatedly. We also have a link to our spreadsheet in our signature. We are very numbers driven. The spreadsheet is a record of your cat's progress. By linking it in your signature, we can follow along and provide feedback should you need the help.
Great job setting your SS up already

I see you are using the Alpha Trak on your SS are you still going to continue using it, I see you also the Freestyle Libre. It's advised to stick with one meter. I'm going to tag Bhooma ,the last 2 color coding up top on the SS need to be changed because the ones that are there now are for a human meter
@Bandit's Mom[/U
 
Last edited:
Welcome Ashley and Goku . I'm headed out the door but I'm going to tag Bron for you she's from Australia also
You couldn't have found a better group to join
By the way Goku is adorable :cat:
Meantime
Here is a link helping us to help you link. Just tap on this blue link If you noticed, our members have some basic information about their cat's in their signature. This helps us to not pester you by asking the same questions (your cat's name, insulin type, date of diagnosis, etc.) repeatedly. We also have a link to our spreadsheet in our signature. We are very numbers driven. The spreadsheet is a record of your cat's progress. By linking it in your signature, we can follow along and provide feedback should you need the help.
Great job setting your SS up already

I see you are using the Alpha Trak on your SS are you still going to continue using it, I see you also the Freestyle Libre. It's advised to stick with one meter. I'm going to tag Bhooma ,the last 2 color coding up top on the SS need to be changed because the ones that are there now are for a human meter
@Bandit's Mom[/U
Thank you for your reply I have just added some information to my signature, please let me know if more is needed.

I only have 5 AlphaTrak2 test strips left & haven’t been able to source more (unfortunately I didn’t know this model had been discontinued before I purchased it last month) so I’ll be switching back to a human meter tomorrow.
 
G
Welcome Ashley and Goku . I'm headed out the door but I'm going to tag Bron for you she's from Australia also
You couldn't have found a better group to join
By the way Goku is adorable :cat:
Meantime
Here is a link helping us to help you link. Just tap on this blue link If you noticed, our members have some basic information about their cat's in their signature. This helps us to not pester you by asking the same questions (your cat's name, insulin type, date of diagnosis, etc.) repeatedly. We also have a link to our spreadsheet in our signature. We are very numbers driven. The spreadsheet is a record of your cat's progress. By linking it in your signature, we can follow along and provide feedback should you need the help.
Great job setting your SS up already

I see you are using the Alpha Trak on your SS are you still going to continue using it, I see you also the Freestyle Libre. It's advised to stick with one meter. I'm going to tag Bhooma ,the last 2 color coding up top on the SS need to be changed because the ones that are there now are for a human meter
@Bandit's Mom[/U
Goku’s vet recommend putting on the Freestyle Libre last week when he first commenced insulin, but it stopped working after 1 week & we will now just be spot testing I’ll be using either the Contour Next or Freestyle Optimum Neo glucometers starting from tomorrow.
 
Hi Ashley, welcome to FDMB! :) Thanks for setting up your signature and spreadsheet! You don't need to mention the insulin dose in the Signature, but you could add the meter you are using and also whether he has any other health issues or is on any other medicines.

Goku's had a great response to Lantus! Have you seen our sticky on the dosing methods we follow here? Our dosing advised is tailored to the dosing method followed:
Dosing Methods: Start Low, Go Slow (SLGS) & Tight Regulation (TR)

Since Goku is on a low carb canned+ raw diet, you can follow TR if you can get at least 4 tests per day - 2 preshot and 2 mid-cycle. With TR, you can get Goku to a good dose sooner.

It's good you shot tonight. You've shot a similar number yesterday and Goku is giving you wonderful flat cycles on Lantus. Do you think you can get a test at +2 to see where he's at?

Most of us use human meters since the strips are far cheaper than pet meters. We test at least 4 times a day (more if they're running low or dropping fast). The biggest complaint with the Libre seems to be the sensor quitting before the 14 days is up (we've had them fail in the first 24 hours) as well as the cat knocking it off through scratching or rubbing against anything it can find. It can also give wonky readings as compared to a meter - read much lower at lower numbers etc.
 
Hi Ashley, welcome to FDMB! :) Thanks for setting up your signature and spreadsheet! You don't need to mention the insulin dose in the Signature, but you could add the meter you are using and also whether he has any other health issues or is on any other medicines.

Goku's had a great response to Lantus! Have you seen our sticky on the dosing methods we follow here? Our dosing advised is tailored to the dosing method followed:
Dosing Methods: Start Low, Go Slow (SLGS) & Tight Regulation (TR)

Since Goku is on a low carb canned+ raw diet, you can follow TR if you can get at least 4 tests per day - 2 preshot and 2 mid-cycle. With TR, you can get Goku to a good dose sooner.

It's good you shot tonight. You've shot a similar number yesterday and Goku is giving you wonderful flat cycles on Lantus. Do you think you can get a test at +2 to see where he's at?

Most of us use human meters since the strips are far cheaper than pet meters. We test at least 4 times a day (more if they're running low or dropping fast). The biggest complaint with the Libre seems to be the sensor quitting before the 14 days is up (we've had them fail in the first 24 hours) as well as the cat knocking it off through scratching or rubbing against anything it can find. It can also give wonky readings as compared to a meter - read much lower at lower numbers etc.
Thanks Bhooma! I really appreciate your help. I’ve had a read of the TR method & we can make that work :) I’ve organised to leave work early all this week & my brother lives with me, he has learned how to test Goku tonight ready to start tomorrow for his +2 & +4.

Tomorrow we will be using the Contour Next glucometer moving forward. I’ll update that on his spreadsheet in the morning.

I just did his +2 test with both the AlphaTrak & the Contour Next to see the comparison. AT2: 8.9, CN: 12.0
 
Last edited:
Thanks Bhooma! I really appreciate your help. I’ve had a read of the TR method & we can make that work :) I’ve organised to leave work early all this week & my brother lives with me, he has learned how to test Goku tonight ready to start tomorrow for his +2 & +4.
Great!

I just did his +2 test with both the AlphaTrak & the Contour Next to see the comparison. AT2: 8.9, CN: 12.0
Lovely stretch of blues! Do you think you can stay up for a +4? Did Goku get food after the +2?
 
Hi Ashley , if you plan to follow TR can you add that to your signature and your spreadsheet, and can you add the meter to your signature also tomorrow morning when you add that to your spreadsheet thanks :cat:
 
Hi Ashley. I'm not an expert, but wanted to say welcome to the forum. You're in the right place. Goku is adorable. Our Tango's 12 also. We used Alpha Trak in the beginning and switched to Relion, a human meter. A lot cheaper. Best of luck to you and Goku:cat::cat::cat:
 
Back
Top