? Dosing Advice

H.M. Victor (GA)

Active Member
@Kris & Teasel Hey, it seems to me that Victor's numbers the last couple of days have been kind of wonky during the day, like the insulin wasn't being as effective for some reason on those days, and the 3 units at night doesn't seem to be lowering his numbers as much as the 4 units was. So I was just wondering what you think we should do with his dosages, if anything.

It just doesn't make sense to me how inconsistent his numbers can be sometimes; he can be in red numbers at pre-shot, given his full dose, and sometimes it'll take him down to the blues, other times only into the yellows :banghead: Maybe I just don't have a full grasp yet on how insulin - or Humulin in particular - works, and whether this is common, but it's just so frustrating.
 
This dose response thing IS really confusing! :confused: As is often said here, insulin is a hormone and not a drug. It affects many processes in the body and any of those can be working differently one moment to the next. Some cats have a smooth and predictable response to insulin (the minority I'd say) and many have an up and down response like you see with Victor. The type of insulin can affect the response and how close you are to the good dose range can be a factor as well.

Re insulin: yours is a faster acting, stronger acting insulin so it can causes more significant ups and downs. However, it's affordable for you and that's an important factor so we can work at optimizing its dosing. In looking over Victor's SS, though, I don't think his responses to Humulin are extreme. It's more a case of still being slightly below his optimal dose range. His dry food is a factor too.

Re dose range: your SS data shows that 4 u is closer to the good dose range. With the exception of the +3 number on the evening of 23 Aug, your low BGs have all been safe. Try not to let one uncomfortable low number govern your dosing decisions going forward. It's fairly common that a cat can throw one low in the middle of a bunch of slightly high numbers.

Maybe try this: give 4 u in the daytime and 3.5 u at night for a few days to see how he does. So much of dosing is trial and error as well as learning to not be too frightened when you see good numbers. It's in the nature of Humulin to give fairly deep curves. The depot insulins like Lantus and Levemir can flatten the numbers in many - but not all - cats. My guy's SS is proof of that! ;)
 
Sorry I didn't see this. I know you're not accustomed to yellow PSs but it's something to work toward. You could have tried 3.5 u and been OK, I think, but you need to be comfortable with what you're doing. If this happens again, why not try 3 u? The only way to get used to better numbers is to allow them to happen. It's nerve-wracking but necessary. ;)

Any idea when you can switch to wet food? I really do think that'll help his numbers a lot. It would be good for his constipation too. I know some people aren't fond of the smell and dirty dishes from wet food but once they see how it helps the kitty they change their mind about that.
 
@JanetNJ Hey, Victor's AMPS is 390/449 and I was just wondering if 3.5 units would still be okay to give after his numbers went into the 60's again last night. Respond soon if you can :)
 
@JanetNJ Hey, Victor's AMPS is 390/449 and I was just wondering if 3.5 units would still be okay to give after his numbers went into the 60's again last night. Respond soon if you can :)
Can you monitor? If you can I’d probably do 3.5. If your not sure you could go 3.25.
 
Back
Top