Adam Flowers
Member Since 2017
Hello all. I just switched Mogee over to wet food (he had been free fed dry since he was a kitten) last Wednesday night.
Instantly his BG dropped the next day with the wet. I assumed it would and dropped his dose from 6 units twice a day to 3 units twice a day. To my shock, I came home the first morning at the 3 units, and Mogee was already at 62 @ +3. That freaked me out as his prior lowest BG was 111 on the dry and that was after a month+ on insulin.
Since then, I have noticed he runs higher at night and lower in the morning which is the exact opposite of how he used to run before the switch to the wet.
Since his numbers have dropped, inhale reduced his dose to 2 units in the morning but he seems to still be dropping really fast and it worries me as I cannot come home each morning to test and don't want him to hypo.
At the same time though, if I don't give more than 2 units at night (I've been giving 2.25), then he won't drop very low. He stays in the high 200s with only 2 units at night.
Does anyone have any advice on what they believe I should put his dose to? Can he have to different dosages (one for am and one for pm)?
I am still new to all this so all and any advice is helpful! You guys have been great!
Instantly his BG dropped the next day with the wet. I assumed it would and dropped his dose from 6 units twice a day to 3 units twice a day. To my shock, I came home the first morning at the 3 units, and Mogee was already at 62 @ +3. That freaked me out as his prior lowest BG was 111 on the dry and that was after a month+ on insulin.
Since then, I have noticed he runs higher at night and lower in the morning which is the exact opposite of how he used to run before the switch to the wet.
Since his numbers have dropped, inhale reduced his dose to 2 units in the morning but he seems to still be dropping really fast and it worries me as I cannot come home each morning to test and don't want him to hypo.
At the same time though, if I don't give more than 2 units at night (I've been giving 2.25), then he won't drop very low. He stays in the high 200s with only 2 units at night.
Does anyone have any advice on what they believe I should put his dose to? Can he have to different dosages (one for am and one for pm)?
I am still new to all this so all and any advice is helpful! You guys have been great!

