Dosing advice

Status
Not open for further replies.
What is "vetsulin?"
Its a different type of insulin, also goes by the name caninsulin, it doesnt work as well for cats, as it was made for dogs. It wont last 12 hours since cats have higher metabolism... it dropped Cooter very hard and fast the week he was on it, but wore off about 8 hours in
 
Hey everyone. We are now on 2 units per dose and her numbers are still so jumpy. It seems to me that her nadir is around her +3-6 and by about +8-9 it's completely worn off. But I can definitely see a little change in her personality. She seems a lot happier and playful. She goes and gets her own toys to play with out of the pile like a dog. So cute. But anyways the lowest number we have seen her at since starting the insulin was in the 190's. If she is still jumpy buy this weekend, I think we might go to 2.5 units and monitor.
 
She seems a lot happier and playful. She goes and gets her own toys to play with out of the pile like a dog. So cute. But anyways the lowest number we have seen her at since starting the insulin was in the 190's. If she is still jumpy buy this weekend, I think we might go to 2.5 units and monitor.
Hi, Kathryn! I'm glad to hear that Ember seems to be feeling better. Yes, I agree that you may want to try a small dose increase on a cycle you can monitor.

I have only one other thought as relates to her pre-shot #s seeming to be "stuck" at present: You may want to have the vet do a lab culture re: her recent UTI for two reasons:
1) To make 100% certain it's gone.*
2) If it's not, the vet will end of with a list of antibiotics that are effective against the offending organism.

I only mention this because Bat-Bat's very first UTI did not resolve with Clavamox; it was only after the vet found out exactly which type of "bug" was causing the inflammation in her urinary tract that she was prescribed the antibiotic that this particular organism had not developed a resistance to. (Turned out it was resistant to the first 2 antibiotics tried; in the end, it was Orbax that eradicated Bat's UTI.)

*I think that - especially when the patient is a diabetic - it's very important that we make sure our vets do not make the (all-too-common) error of "assuming" a UTI is gone simply because a course of a certain antibiotic was prescribed and administered. As you're probably already aware, multiple antibiotic resistance has become a vexing problem when it comes to fighting off "bugs" nowadays, not only when treating humans, but when treating companion animals, too.

So is definitely worth a recheck when you have already upped the dose of insulin and, in spite of finishing an antibiotic, the pre-shot numbers aren't really budging ... :) (Btw, what age is Ember --- and has she had a dental workup recently? Because if there's any gingivitis going on in her gums, this can also cause the BG numbers to remain elevated.)
 
She has not had a dental check up, the vet said her teeth look fine based off of a routine exam. But maybe we should have them take a better look at them. So you think checking on the UTI would be the best option? Call me crazy but I am very concerned about her life span and I feel like I am on a ticking clock for some reason because her numbers have been consistently high and I just can't get it right with the insulin dose.
 
She has not had a dental check up, the vet said her teeth look fine based off of a routine exam. But maybe we should have them take a better look at them. So you think checking on the UTI would be the best option?
I'm a big proponent of making sure my veterinarian crosses all "t's" and dots all "i's" relative to treating my cat. I didn't used to be that vigilant, back before Bat-Bat became diabetic ... but now? I'm not shy about it at all!:smuggrin: (I'm not rude with him or anything; in fact, my current vet has commented more than once that he's learned more from me about feline diabetes - which is thanks to my involvement with the great people here at FDMB - than he ever did in vet school!)

In the end, we are the ones who have to be our kitties' own "best advocates" - because they can't talk.;) So yes, it's worth telling the vet you want a urine culture to make certain of which bug caused the UTI & that the antibiotic actually worked to get rid of it entirely; the last thing you want right now is a UTI left on "simmer.":rolleyes: And yes, it's worth having more than just a rudimentary "quick look" inside kitty's mouth, too.
Call me crazy but I am very concerned about her life span and I feel like I am on a ticking clock for some reason because her numbers have been consistently high and I just can't get it right with the insulin dose.
Aw, Kathryn ... I'm sorry to hear that you're feeling so worried. Please keep in mind, though: Treating FD is a marathon, not a sprint. It does take some time to achieve good regulation, but that said, it's always a good idea to rule out any problems that can be causing the pre-shot #s to remain static - especially after there's been a couple of dose increases.

How is it going on removing that small amount of dry kibble from Ember's diet and substituting a little more canned instead? That's one little step you can take to help lower the numbers ... but please try not to fret too much, okay? I do know how hard it is not to worry, but it's helpful to Ember for you to approach her treatment with the confidence that you will be able to get your sweet kitty regulated --- and trust me, you have more supportive friends here than you know --- and we're all here to help guide you and Ember into better and better numbers. It WILL happen, Kathryn - really it will. :bighug:
 
Kathryn, we're looking forward to seeing what the vet says! I know the feeling of being worried about the kitty's life span, but really, I think you would know if she was nearing the end. Heck, as I watch my kitties here, i know that sometimes I worry about them (and they're not diabetic!). They are getting older and sometimes they seem tired out and not very engaged i life...but the next day they are running around acting nuts. I try to take deep breaths and rmeind myself that I'll know when it is time. Unti then, I just want to relax and enjoy them.

We're here for you!!
 
Well I have some good news. I just tested her about 5 minutes ago before I fed her and she was at 289. :) I gave her 2 units and I am going to come home every 2 hours to check on her. What should be her ideal nadir number?
 
Well I have some good news. I just tested her about 5 minutes ago before I fed her and she was at 289. :) I gave her 2 units and I am going to come home every 2 hours to check on her. What should be her ideal nadir number?
From a pre-shot # of 289, you would hope for a nadir at about 145 at the lowest, and here's why (excerpt from the ProZinc guidelines):

If the cat is in the 250+ range at preshot and drops below 50% at nadir, bouncing is a possibility (bouncing occurs when the cat’s body perceives a drop that is below what has been occurring and releases extra glucose, resulting in an “artificial” rise in numbers) Bouncing most often involves a lower midcycle number than the cat has experienced previously. If bouncing is suspected, any increases in doses should be tiny and monitored carefully.

Not every cat bounces, but it does happen with some of our cats.

How did the appointment with the vet go today?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top