Dosing Advice

Status
Not open for further replies.

Louise and Tabby

Member Since 2015
Hello
Am quite new to this and would just like some advice please. If you could take a look at Tabby's s/s, according to the protocol I think I should now be increasing his dose by 0.5 as it has been 3 days since his last increase, is this right? If this is the case, I am just a little concerned about doing this as I am at work all day tomorrow and so am unable to keep an eye on him and test etc during the day
Thanks
 
Tabby does look like he's ready for another increase. Even though you are doing TR, you do have to do what you're comfortable with. I was basically following TR with Trix, but one thing I did do was take our increases when I was off the next day or two, so I could monitor her a little more closely - I would take the increase the night before my day off, so I had a few cycles where I could test more frequently. Another option is that you could take a smaller, .25U increase instead of the .50 increase. Are you able to grab a test before you head out to work? That can often give you an idea of where Tabby may be heading for the day.

I am sure others will be along with additional ideas, but this gives you a starting point...
 
Thanks, yes that might be an idea to increase 0.25 instead. Yes am able to test before I leave for work, just didn't feel it was a good idea to increase it a lot and then disappear for the day.
 
I'm learning that TR and SLGS are more like guidelines then hard fast rules. Even though it kinda disappoints me when I cannot keep up with the protocol, I'm happy that I can leave for work (or have a bit of a social life :) ) knowing that kitty will be ok. Definitely keep doing what you need to do to feel most comfortable. Best of luck with the increase!
 
You are starting to see some yellow nadirs, so that would mean an increase of .25U. Here is the part from the TR protocol sticky:

Increasing the dose:
  • Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 before increasing the dose by 0.25 unit.
    • if your cat is new to numbers under 200, it is recommended to hold the dose for at least 8-10 cycles before increasing.
    • when your cat starts to see nadirs under 100, hold the dose for at least 10 cycles before increasing.
  • After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 200, but less than 300 increase the dose by 0.25 unit.
  • After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 300 increase the dose by 0.5 unit.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top