? Dosing Advice - Whiskey AMPS 212, +3=140, +6=104 +9=241, PMPS=224

stannarp

Member Since 2021
Disregarding the anomalous reading yesterday as I am 99.9% sure I hit a fur shot yesterday morning :banghead:, and considering that testing this week has been a problem with the exception of preshot tests, on account of ear issue discussed here:

https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/thr...-and-shot-full-dose-0-75.256153/#post-2884034

and here:

https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/12-05-2021-whiskey-amps-227-12-6-world.256293/

I doing SLGS, and am trying for a curve over 12 hours today (every 3 hours). So far I've done +3 and +6. Based on this and the other non-fur shot readings, I am wondering if she needs to go up from 0.75 to 1U, or whether I should stick with 0.75 for another week and do another curve?

Any knowledgeable bodies able to weigh in?
 
Hi Patricia, Whiskey's numbers are looking good. What does 10% and 20% etc in the U column mean? You shot token doses? Only we can't tell what was acually shot. 10/20% of how much?

I would hold the dose. In fact I would try and shoot it consistently. I see that you are altering the dose based on preshots, but Lantus dosing is actually based on nadirs. The AMPS of 193 on Dec 7th is within meter variance of the 212 today. You have shot the full dose with lower preshots when she was on Caninsulin. Lantus is a much gentler insulin. What happes when the dose is changed so frequently is that it confuses the depot and you do not know which is a good dose for her.

It's possible that she will actually earn a reduction if 0.75U is shot consistently for a few cycles.

Are there still issues with testing?
 
Hi Patricia, Whiskey's numbers are looking good. What does 10% and 20% etc in the U column mean? You shot token doses? Only we can't tell what was acually shot. 10/20% of how much?

I would hold the dose. In fact I would try and shoot it consistently. I see that you are altering the dose based on preshots, but Lantus dosing is actually based on nadirs. The AMPS of 193 on Dec 7th is within meter variance of the 212 today. You have shot the full dose with lower preshots when she was on Caninsulin. Lantus is a much gentler insulin. What happes when the dose is changed so frequently is that it confuses the depot and you do not know which is a good dose for her.

It's possible that she will actually earn a reduction if 0.75U is shot consistently for a few cycles.

Are there still issues with testing?

Thanks so much @Bandit's Mom!

I've been shooting lower numbers based on PS levels because of the testing issue, as I am terrified to overdose her because I haven't been able to do some in between tests regularly; today is the first day her ears aren't ridiculously sensitive, so I am trying a 12 hour curve, but testing only every 3 hours.

She's just tested 241, but that is post chobbles (and I suspect she mowed down George's leftovers too, she is a greedy girl ;)), so will have a better idea when I do her PMPS later on.

Thanks for pointing out the spreadsheet issue with the percentages, I've updated them to formulas to calculate percentage of 0.75, which is the dose we currently have her on.
 
Last edited:
Back
Top