Dosing Advice, Please

Status
Not open for further replies.

Summer and Susie (GA)

Member Since 2020
Had a bit of a scare today. Susie's AMPS were 287 which was unusually low for her AMPS. Felt I needed to keep a close eye on her all day. She dropped to 99 at +7 which worried me so I fed her 1/2 can low carb fancy feast. Glucose came up quickly - to 137 at +7.5. When her AMPS/PMPS are in the 200's should I cut her dose back to 1 unit? She is currently at 1.25, on Vetsulin and I use the ReliOn meter. I am a new member and trying to learn all there is to know.
 
Had a bit of a scare today. Susie's AMPS were 287 which was unusually low for her AMPS. Felt I needed to keep a close eye on her all day. She dropped to 99 at +7 which worried me so I fed her 1/2 can low carb fancy feast. Glucose came up quickly - to 137 at +7.5. When her AMPS/PMPS are in the 200's should I cut her dose back to 1 unit? She is currently at 1.25, on Vetsulin and I use the ReliOn meter. I am a new member and trying to learn all there is to know.
99 is actually a BEAUTIFUL number and exactly where you want her to be at her lowest point. Remember on a human meter normal is 50-120. There was still a safy buffer below. If she falls under 90 we would say reduce to 1. Now if the preshot is closer to 200 and your nervous or can't test, then yes, drop back to one unit. Today was a perfect cycle. :). It is nerve wracking when you aren't used to those greens.
 
99 is actually a BEAUTIFUL number and exactly where you want her to be at her lowest point. Remember on a human meter normal is 50-120. There was still a safy buffer below. If she falls under 90 we would say reduce to 1. Now if the preshot is closer to 200 and your nervous or can't test, then yes, drop back to one unit. Today was a perfect cycle. :). It is nerve wracking when you aren't used to those greens.
Thank you, Janet. The greens are what terrify me, being on the Vetsulin. Would prefer blues in the low 100's.
 
You know, after watching Susie today, I don't think I want to get her into the really low numbers. I do not want to try to get her into remission. When her numbers were higher she was sociable. She came out of my bedroom. She wanted to go outside and was generally a much happier cat. She wanted to play. Today, she has not left my bedroom and has been really sluggish and unmotivated. If I lose a few years of her life, because she is not in the green numbers, I would rather them be quality years for her. This lying around and sluggishness is not the way I want my cat to live. I miss her interactions and her playfulness. I will plan on testing tonight (PMPS) but if it is in the 200's I am going to reduce her dose to 1 unit.
 
@Marje and
@Panic
@JanetNJ
I think I just screwed up. Susie's PMPS was at 198 and I fed her. Should I wait until her glucose comes up before a shot? And, how high should her glucose be before I shoot? I will only do 1 unit instead of 1.25.
 
It is a good thing!!! A great cycle today.

Summer....what you described happens to all of our cats. They get used to higher BGs and learn to function well at them when getting insulin. But when the BG starts to come down into normal numbers, they are going to feel a little bit different at first.

It’s analogous to someone who eats a really unhealthy diet but feels just fine. However, when they decide to start eating healthy after not doing so for a while, it takes their body time to adjust to fresh, healthy food. They will likely have headaches, stomach aches, and other side effects. They just have to keep eating well and their body will adjust and they’ll feel better than they ever have.

Once Susie gets used to normal numbers again, she will also get back to normal behavior and feeling well at normal BGs. It’s tough to see them sluggish at first, but she will adjust. Just be patient and give her time :):)
 
Last edited:
It is a good thing!!! A great cycle today.

Summer....what you described happens to all of our cats. They get used to higher BGs and learn to function well at them when getting insulin. But when the BG starts to come down into normal numbers, they are going to feel a little bit different at first.

It’s analogous to someone who eats a really unhealthy diet but feels just fine. However, when they decide to start eating healthy after not doing so for a while, it takes their body time to adjust to fresh, healthy food. They will likely have headaches, stomach aches, and other side effects. They just have to keep eating well and their body will adjust and they’ll feel better than they ever have.

Once Susie gets used to normal numbers again, she will also get back to normal behavior and feeling well at normal BGs. It’s tough to see them sluggish at first, but she will adjust. Just be patient and give her time :):)
Thanks for all your help yesterday! It was nerve wracking for me.
 
You’re welcome. I’m glad we got some additional Vetsulin knowledgeable members to help you out.
I'm happy with the extra help too. Susie just got a 74 at +6.2. I gave her a little low carb FF and will check again at +7. Please answer a question for me. It was the AlphaTrac that would read about 20 points higher than the human meters - right. I keep thinking that I am in trouble with any numbers under 90 with the Vetsulin.
 
I'm happy with the extra help too. Susie just got a 74 at +6.2. I gave her a little low carb FF and will check again at +7. Please answer a question for me. It was the AlphaTrac that would read about 20 points higher than the human meters - right. I keep thinking that I am in trouble with any numbers under 90 with the Vetsulin.
That’s great for her. That 74 earned her a reduction to 1u so please make that her new dose starting tonight.

No, the AT does not read 20 mg/dL higher than the human meter. There is no equivalency. You can look at my Gracie’s SS and I have a tab where I compared the two for education purposes. You’ll see that I rarely got the same BG on the AT for a specific BG on the human meter. Try not to translate any BG on a human to a pet meter. It’s best just to learn what the safe ranges are on the human meter and for using Vetsulin.

Good luck with the reduction.
 
That’s great for her. That 74 earned her a reduction to 1u so please make that her new dose starting tonight.

No, the AT does not read 20 mg/dL higher than the human meter. There is no equivalency. You can look at my Gracie’s SS and I have a tab where I compared the two for education purposes. You’ll see that I rarely got the same BG on the AT for a specific BG on the human meter. Try not to translate any BG on a human to a pet meter. It’s best just to learn what the safe ranges are on the human meter and for using Vetsulin.

Good luck with the reduction.
Will cut back to 1 unit. I was hoping you would say that. Thanks for getting back with me quickly.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top