? Dosing advice please?

Molly and Sammy

Member Since 2018
Sammy is finally dropping into low numbers after diagnosis 4 months ago and 3 1/2 months on Lantus. I have been trying to follow the SLGS protocol despite my conservative vet's advice and my nervous nellie nature. Today his +5 was 74 on AT2. I gave him two tablespoons of gravy lovers ff h/c food, and at +6 he's back up to 110. I had reduced his dose to 3.0 from 3.25 after some low numbers a few days ago, and am now thinking I need to drop it further or even skip tonight. If you look back at 2018 you'll see that this is very new territory for us. Sammy has responded wonderfully to the diet change and insulin - gained weight, is peeing and drinking normally, lovely fluffy coat, and friskier than I have seen him in years. (He's 11). Any advice for me? And thank you all for getting us this far. I read the posts daily and learn so much!
 
It’s good to see Sammy going into uncharted territory. :) Looks like some pancreatic healing going on,. With that 74 today, you definitely want to reduce his dose by 0,25 units. Down to 2.75 units now.

Out of curiosity, is there a reason you aren’t shooting when he is in the low 200’s? Those are shootable numbers if you are around to monitor and you have enough test strips and high carb food. When you shoot lower, the entire cycle becomes flatter. With experience, people following the SLGS method can shoot anything over 90, I am not suggesting that right now, but maybe over time lower your no shoot number. You are def8nitely experienced tomshoot over 150 now. Skipping just sends him into high numbers,

For continuity, here is the link to your last post here: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/11-27-drastic-drop-in-bg.207126/
 
It’s good to see Sammy going into uncharted territory. :) Looks like some pancreatic healing going on,. With that 74 today, you definitely want to reduce his dose by 0,25 units. Down to 2.75 units now.

Out of curiosity, is there a reason you aren’t shooting when he is in the low 200’s? Those are shootable numbers if you are around to monitor and you have enough test strips and high carb food. When you shoot lower, the entire cycle becomes flatter. With experience, people following the SLGS method can shoot anything over 90, I am not suggesting that right now, but maybe over time lower your no shoot number. You are def8nitely experienced tomshoot over 150 now. Skipping just sends him into high numbers,

For continuity, here is the link to your last post here: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/11-27-drastic-drop-in-bg.207126/
Thanks so much. Vet set 250 threshold for no/shot. That's on AT2. IF I'm going to be here I could go lower- maybe start with 200 and work down? Part of my caution is that I can't drive so emergency vet trips are not an easy option. I appreciate your help!
 
For what it’s worth, kitties can drop low just as easily from high numbers. Neko earned her first reduction, below 50 on the human meter since I was folowing TR, starting the day at 430. Later she earned reductions from the 470’s. Just make sure you always have at least 20 test strips on hand (I felt nervous if less than 100), plenty of high carb food and karo or honey on hand. As long as people are testing sufficiently and have the supplies, we very seldom see people have to go to the vet to handle low numbers.

Yes, start with shooting above 200, gather data on what happens and that will help you shoot lower.
 
For what it’s worth, kitties can drop low just as easily from high numbers. Neko earned her first reduction, below 50 on the human meter since I was folowing TR, starting the day at 430. Later she earned reductions from the 470’s. Just make sure you always have at least 20 test strips on hand (I felt nervous if less than 100), plenty of high carb food and karo or honey on hand. As long as people are testing sufficiently and have the supplies, we very seldom see people have to go to the vet to handle low numbers.


Thanks, that helps. And I'm obsessive about strips, always have no less than 100. It also helps to know now that he does respond to the h/c wet food .

Yes, start with shooting above 200, gather data on what happens and that will help you shoot lower.
 
For what it’s worth, kitties can drop low just as easily from high numbers. Neko earned her first reduction, below 50 on the human meter since I was folowing TR, starting the day at 430. Later she earned reductions from the 470’s. Just make sure you always have at least 20 test strips on hand (I felt nervous if less than 100), plenty of high carb food and karo or honey on hand. As long as people are testing sufficiently and have the supplies, we very seldom see people have to go to the vet to handle low numbers.

Yes, start with shooting above 200, gather data on what happens and that will help you shoot lower.


thanks so much and I do have lots of strips, always. My obsessive tendencies serve me well in treating Sammy. Did I feed the h/c at the right threshold, 70?
 
Back
Top