Dosing advice needed

Status
Not open for further replies.

Sara&Noodles

Member Since 2020
I know I haven’t been testing enough and I’m going to try and do another glucose curve early next week and test more often. Noodles numbers have been lower for her pmps test then normal and lower during the day when I’ve tested but her amps have still been higher. We have been working with a new vet to change around some medications for her other issues but so far we have just started leukeran as of last week and the veterinarian said that it won’t affect her blood sugar. So I’m just wondering If I should be lowering her dosage and not sure by how much. First post so hopefully I have all the information right. Thanks.
 
More eyes over here, to see your post. A big Thanks to Shelley for pointing you over here for help. :)

I'm Deb by the way and that guy over there in my avatar giving you the "side eye" was my sugardude Wink. ;)Shelley tagged me. It's how I knew you were looking for help with Prozinc.

On Noodles SS, I'd like to see a row for every day. Even if you did not get a test. My brain can interpret what is going on better, if it sees a row for each day. Would you do that please?

That 4.3 mmol/L (77 mg/dL) BG at +4 on 4/15 AM means you should have given a 0.25U dose reduction immediately. Please reduce the dose to 0.75U and hold it there for at least 6 cycles, unless Noodles goes below 5 mmol/L (90 mg/dL). That 5 mmol/L (90 mg/dl) is the reduction point for cats diagnosed less than 1 year with diabetes, using the SLGS Prozinc dosing protocol.
 
Thanks for replying! I will fix up my spreadsheet as soon as I can. And I was reading the Prozinc dosing file and had read about the reduced dose but I was confusing myself reading it. So much new information for me. I will start with the .75u ASAP.
Was I right with only giving her .25u last night when she was at 8.4mmol/L?
 
Was I right with only giving her .25u last night when she was at 8.4mmol/L?
With the paucity (lack of, slim amount) of test data, better to err on the side of caution with the dose. So that "token dose" of 0.25U last night was fine.

If you had more test data, you could have given the shot at that 8.4 mmol/L BG (151(md/dL). Prozinc SLGS protocol says anything over 8.3 mmol/L (150 mg/dL) is shootable.

Please do try to get a pre-shot test every cycle.
Then a test in the middle of the cycle sometime is nice. Somewhen between +5 and +7 is when most cats have their nadir.

You might not be able to get those nadir time tests every PM cycle. But do try to get at least a "before bed time" test, every evening.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top