Dosing Advice Needed

Status
Not open for further replies.
Ugh. This is crazy. 356 @ Plus 10. Poor cat is still on a roller coaster. He was 266 at AMPS, the went to 53 @ +6, and now 356 +10 where I gave him a 1.2U dose. I figured I'd keep it low and steady and see what happens. Looks like another rebound?

Really wondering once again if this is the right insulin for him. I understand that it takes a bit to smooth out, but this is ridiculous. :YMSIGH:
 
We had the same problem with Ari. At +10 it seemed like all effects of the last shot vanished and she's zoom. We ended up going to TID (shooting every 8 hours) which is working well. I have the hope that we'll be able to get back to 12/12 soon, but I understand your frustration completely.
 
Your plan sounds good to me! On a 150, yeah, I would definitely hesitate to shoot as much as 1u. It seems like it's all sort of an unknown now, with doses that you would have thought would be too little now being too much.

Sorry to pick on your SS - what you should do is put the actual PS (the 266 & 356 I think they were for today) in the PS column, then it's clear that was the # you shot off of. Then the 64 would go in the +4 column - right now it looks like you got that at +7 or wherever it is now. Does that make sense? It's confusing because in PZI Land we don't care that much about 12/12 though the SS is set up for that.... sorry to be so picky, I'm just worried that peeps will misunderstand your #s, and then you might get suggestions that don't match the data.

I'd stick it out with PZI a little longer, and maybe try lowering to 0.8u or 1u and holding steady with that regardless of PS (lowering further if you get low #s) and see where things land. I think he's actually doing really well - I know the #s are frustrating, but you are still feeling things out and that is part of it on any insulin (people get wonky #s on the other insulins too, and it can take weeks to get things consistently better).

As people like to say, diabetes is a marathon not a sprint. It probably doesn't feel like it, but his #s are better than many cats, and the bounces should settle down once he spends more time in good #s, and if you can dodge the super-low #s. A lot of us saw #s in the 500s after a day of blues, so 350 looks pretty good from here. :)
 
Steve and Blue said:
Ugh. This is crazy.
Steve, you are going to make yourself crazy. You have just started at this and are actually doing OK.

My kitty H has a lot going on with him and his appetite is our greatest enemy at this point. If I focused on his appetite I would not be able to do what I need to do for him let alone do what I need to do for me which allows me to do for him [wow - that kind of makes sense]. Sometimes you get the chicken and other times all you get are feathers. I've found that to keep my own sanity I've had to take a step back and just accept that under the circumstances I'm doing my best for H which is a million times more than most would do for their kitty.

You are doing good Steve and you are doing awesome for Blue. You are in the right place and are getting advice no vet would ever bother to give you. So crack a beer and give Blue lots of love. cat_pet_icon
 
Hope and Aria said:
We had the same problem with Ari. At +10 it seemed like all effects of the last shot vanished and she's zoom. We ended up going to TID (shooting every 8 hours) which is working well. I have the hope that we'll be able to get back to 12/12 soon, but I understand your frustration completely.

Thanks. Did Ari zoom after her numbers went real low, or were they 'decent' numbers before she zoomed? That number 356 in PINK took my by surprise. I still suspect that the liver wakes up at around 40 BGL and shoots it up high(er) than the PS level. If I get time I'll have to check out your SS.
 
Joanna & Bix said:
Your plan sounds good to me! On a 150, yeah, I would definitely hesitate to shoot as much as 1u. It seems like it's all sort of an unknown now, with doses that you would have thought would be too little now being too much.

Can I start the game over?
:lol:

Sorry to pick on your SS - what you should do is put the actual PS (the 266 & 356 I think they were for today) in the PS column, then it's clear that was the # you shot off of. Then the 64 would go in the +4 column - right now it looks like you got that at +7 or wherever it is now. Does that make sense? It's confusing because in PZI Land we don't care that much about 12/12 though the SS is set up for that.... sorry to be so picky, I'm just worried that peeps will misunderstand your #s, and then you might get suggestions that don't match the data.

No problem, please pick! I think I corrected it but had to lose a couple readings to straighten it out.
I'd stick it out with PZI a little longer, and maybe try lowering to 0.8u or 1u and holding steady with that regardless of PS (lowering further if you get low #s) and see where things land. I think he's actually doing really well - I know the #s are frustrating, but you are still feeling things out and that is part of it on any insulin (people get wonky #s on the other insulins too, and it can take weeks to get things consistently better).

Sorry, I'm an impatient SOB admittedly. That 356 in pink surprised me.


As people like to say, diabetes is a marathon not a sprint. It probably doesn't feel like it, but his #s are better than many cats, and the bounces should settle down once he spends more time in good #s, and if you can dodge the super-low #s. A lot of us saw #s in the 500s after a day of blues, so 350 looks pretty good from here. :)

OK. I think I got my hopes up too high for some balanced levels. Was hoping I was done checking for Ketones for awhile. Oh well. He is still acting great so that's more important than the numbers I suppose. Danke!
 
Gator & H said:
Steve and Blue said:
Ugh. This is crazy.
Steve, you are going to make yourself crazy. You have just started at this and are actually doing OK.

Heh heh. I guess my disappointment was obvious. Good to know the people that know better thinks things are going ok. Thank you. :cool:

My kitty H has a lot going on with him and his appetite is our greatest enemy at this point. If I focused on his appetite I would not be able to do what I need to do for him let alone do what I need to do for me which allows me to do for him [wow - that kind of makes sense]. Huh? (j/k, makes sense after the 3rd read ;-) )Sometimes you get the chicken and other times all you get are feathers. I've found that to keep my own sanity I've had to take a step back and just accept that under the circumstances I'm doing my best for H which is a million times more than most would do for their kitty.

You are doing good Steve and you are doing awesome for Blue. You are in the right place and are getting advice no vet would ever bother to give you. So crack a beer and give Blue lots of love. cat_pet_icon

So true. Thanks again for the wise words. I need some sleep I think... Patience is a virgin someone once said... Archie Bunker maybe? :lol: Blue is acting great, and as I mentioned that is great to see. To heck with that pink number. :-D

Good night all and thanks for putting it in perspective for me. I need to look at some of your SS's at some point. I'll hopefully learn something. ;-)
 
Steve,
Regarding the ss
When I tried shooting 3x/day I had to come up with a new way to use the ss, so I used a new row for every shot, and labeled them #1, #2, #3.

You could record those numbers you lost by using more than one line in a day. If you go to +15 for example, you could just keep adding numbers into the right side of the chart with nothing in the pmps space. Then when you finally shoot you could put x x x x in the spaces you didn't use, and start a new row for the next preshot. Take a look at Cody's March ss and it might be clearer what I mean. (just don't have heart failure on our doses).

Has anyone mentioned that sometimes a recovering pancreas will produce a bit of insulin in response to food. I don't know if that could be playing any factor in your numbers, but it might be interesting to watch for.

I'm glad you lowered the dose again- looking good! :-D
 
Late to the post. I just posted over on the other link.... then read this thread ohmygod_smile

I have not read the other post over in PZI land.. but I will after I post this. Looks to me that there still maybe some overlap working through Blue's system, so I am glad you did shoot a bit lower. Looking at his SS. It seems that he definitely starts to raise by +10. Waiting until next PS seems to bring him back into the pink (300's). Since he's just starting out and you're trying to get an idea of his data. You may want to wait another hour or two when his PS is low, so you do not skip a dose. I know this may be hard since it's all about timing and patients, but you're doing a great job. Looks like 1.2 is a good dose, but I feel if you can catch the raise before it hits pink again... you'll be lowering the 1.2 soon :smile: If you catch yellow at +9.5ish I'm guessing that's about 6:30am? If it were me - I'd think about shooting 1.0 and not 1.2 because of bg 53 earlier today.

I know I am posting late.. sorry, I will check back in the morning. Sending you good vibes cat_pet_icon


For what it's worth... I'm posting this photo - maybe it can help when ppl are lowering their doses?

U100syringe_U40insulin.jpg
 
Michelle,

I think those are BD syringes? Anyway, no matter.

Just thought I would post a pic of the syringes I like since you provided a good opportunity. The top one of the one you posted are the ones I'm not to partial about. The half unit markings are narrower than the full unit marking and in my brain make getting consistent very small doses impossible. And I think maybe some other reasons I did not like that my shot memory cannot think of currently. But I know you were posting not as a guide to syringes but as a guide to measuring and that picture is a good guide for that.

Below are the type I like. These are the the layout of the GNP and Monoject syringes.
 

Attachments

  • syringe.jpg
    syringe.jpg
    17.8 KB · Views: 2,773
Gator - I like the syringe photo you posted. I wish I found those when I needed them. You're correct.. I had just posted that photo for a guide to measuring. I actually used the bottom photo w/out the half unit marks. I dunno, just thought this photo would help in some weird way. I need to get to bed, or go make some ~O) haha
 
Thanks for the advice M&P and G&H and N&C on the chart and the syringes. The BD ones posted on the top picture ARE the ones I have now. So far no probs as I just draw to the 3 Unit mark on the U100 to get a 1.2U dose of U40. I don't think I'll have a problem if I adjust the dose. At first they seemed confusing, but I'll order the ones G&H posted if I have a prob. The info on the chart you posted N&C requires further study, as it made made my head spin and I have limited time since I'm @ lunch now.

Thanks for moving your post over here M&P - i haven't checked the other thread like I said I would. ohmygod_smile

Blue just measured a 101 BGL @ +4. So i think that looks good. I'll comment more later when I have more time.
Thanks all.
 
Steve and Blue said:
Hope and Aria said:
We had the same problem with Ari. At +10 it seemed like all effects of the last shot vanished and she's zoom. We ended up going to TID (shooting every 8 hours) which is working well. I have the hope that we'll be able to get back to 12/12 soon, but I understand your frustration completely.

Thanks. Did Ari zoom after her numbers went real low, or were they 'decent' numbers before she zoomed? That number 356 in PINK took my by surprise. I still suspect that the liver wakes up at around 40 BGL and shoots it up high(er) than the PS level. If I get time I'll have to check out your SS.

I do what Nancy said and use a new line for each shot and mark how many hours. I've found for Ari that +6 is usually (not always) her nadir and I work from there. Almost always after getting a nice green number (when she hasn't seen any in a while) we'd get a big fat pink or red number. If it is after that and you're not seeing them all the time (and you're not sending her in the 40's), shoot your normal dose and move on and see how the next PS . Compared to Ari, a 356 as a high number really isn't all that bad. Especially since you're working out a good dose. Right now we're playing the game that 2 units every 8 hours works great for 2 shots, but the 3rd takes her too low which then sends her sky high. So now I'm sticking with the 2 units to get her back to good numbers then I'll shoot 1.8 and see if that holds steady. It's a lot of narrowing down and my girl is sensitive to a .2 unit change. One of the good things about TID (for us) is that if I get a high cycle, I don't have to wait out until the 12 hours comes around to shoot. It can be an exhausting schedule at times, but when you're trying to get a difficult cat to regulate, it does help. Also, because she has so many tests per day, I was able to see that something bad was going on with Ari before she showed any clinical signs because of the wild BG swings she was having.
 
Just took a look at those TID spreadsheets from M&P and H&A - Very interesting and impressive. I suppose that once I think I have some things figured out that is always an option. My girlfriend works very close to home and I wouldn't be much of a problem should the numbers eventually show that TID would be a good bet. Acutally 8/4/12 is very doable. I've read up on the sliding scale protocol as well and it looks promising.


So far today I'm happy with Blue's numbers, so that must mean I'm due for a pink very shortly. :lol: He's doing well it appears but I found some kitty puke in the kitchen. Appeared to be a hairball w/ food. I'm going to look at some other SS's now - and see if I can figure out the patterns. I do realize every cat is different.

He's still eating very well and acting well. He's a bit lazy today it looks like - most likely due to the fact it's 85F degrees.

Good ideas and info everyone. You're certainly helping speed up the learning process. You guy's rock! drinking24

Edit: I almost forgot - a special congrats to someone who's kitty may be almost there... :thumbup (don't want to set up a jinx by naming names.) :-D
 
Hey Steve:

Yeah, if you notice that Blue keeps hitting those pinks by +10/+11ish and TID is doable... wouldn't hurt to give it a try. Just remember it can be emotional and challenging. It's all about timing and finding those pinks & yellows to shoot. Sometimes it means shooting at +7 etc. Having to face those scary moments when you shoot and think... OMG, did I just shoot :o then wait it out to make sure sugarkitty doesn't go hypo nailbite_smile I've had a few of those nights! Just try to be consistent with your dosages. Jumping around a lot will keep a sugarkitty on a rollercoaster.

I've also realized with prudence - taking all these bg's can drive you nuts. She's actually had a few bg's in the mid 200's that I have not posted b/c I want to keep my SS blue & green ;-) kind of a visualization thing I'm doing for my own sanity :lol: but she always drops down to the lower 100's or more, so I am still walking the fine line whether or not she needs a bump of insulin. I just want to give her a break on her poor ear! I know it's ideal to have sugarkitties in the 60 - 100 range to fully heal their pancreas, but I am wondering if it makes a difference with older kitties? She's 14yrs old and when her bg's are somewhere between 80ish to 150ish... she very happy. Anyways, I will still be keeping on top of it... I actually tried to give her a shot the other day before I realized she would drop pass 100 and she wouldn't have it. She was like... no way woman cat(2)_steam then I stuck myself with the damn needle ohmygod_smile thank goodness there was less than 0.1 if even that... but it was just the needle that got me :YMSIGH:

Sending you good vibes Blue!!!
 
I'm not sure Blue is often shootable by +8, so I'm not sure TID would be the best route for you. I'd probably consider trying some shooting at +10 or so, or really whenever you can catch the upswing where the #s are past 150 but not yet in the pinks - if it's +8, great, but from the #s I see he often looks too low then. I like the nadirs you are getting, and personally I wouldn't want to see you to lower the dose with the intention of getting a shootable # at +8.... Not saying TID wouldn't work for you, but it doesn't look as needed to me as with some cats who get a lot of zoom in the later half of the cycle... Just my 2c :)
 
Joanna & Bix said:
I'm not sure Blue is often shootable by +8, so I'm not sure TID would be the best route for you. I'd probably consider trying some shooting at +10 or so, or really whenever you can catch the upswing where the #s are past 150 but not yet in the pinks - if it's +8, great, but from the #s I see he often looks too low then. I like the nadirs you are getting, and personally I wouldn't want to see you to lower the dose with the intention of getting a shootable # at +8.... Not saying TID wouldn't work for you, but it doesn't look as needed to me as with some cats who get a lot of zoom in the later half of the cycle... Just my 2c :)


my bad, i didn't make myself clear and i am so sorry about that ohmygod_smile

It's all about timing and finding those pinks & yellows to shoot. Sometimes it means shooting at +7

when i had mentioned about shooting at +7 i was talking about only if you are doing TID. it would be more of +7.5 or +8.5 but definitely make sure kitty is raising before you shoot. seems that Blue is hitting low 300's by +11ish/PS so he's is showing good numbers. he may even hit yellows by +11ish or PS. just keep in mind that on 4/5 at 1.2 units of PS266 had brought him to bg of 53. you gave him 1.2 this morning with PS of 270, so he maybe hitting that range again. since he's doing so well, if it were me - i'd try to test around +11ish to see if you get yellow then shoot a thin 1.2 (1.10ish maybe 1.0 - again depending on his low today.
 
Hi J&B and M&P. :smile:

I couldn't make it home today to test at hours +4 and +5 so I most likely missed the low, but I just tested at +7 and he's @ 101 - surprisingly (to me) he seems to be holding consistency. I had planned on giving his ears a break anyway. As far as going to 8/8/8 right now I'm going to hold off to see where this goes - maybe fine tune the 12/12 as much as I can and see if 8/8/8 would work better once I have this 12/12 tweaked.

This weekend I plan on being more thorough with the testing to try to see where exactly that nadir is happening with the 1.2U. My thinking is if he's consistently hitting nadir over 50 I 'may' consider raising the dose to 1.3U to see if I can lower those pre-shot numbers. At least that was my thinking before reading your posts. ;-) Of course, that all hinges on the fact that his pre-shot numbers remain pink(ish). (I read Dr. Hodgkin's Protocol again to convince myself not to be afraid of some low numbers, but don't want to risk rebound either!) To tell you the truth, I think that if Blue were to go hypo he would have done it already - I think his liver is paying very good attention! :mrgreen: Even when he had those 'low' numbers he showed absolutely no signs of hypo. I sure don't want to go there again tho!

If the above plan didn't work out, I suppose I could try shooting him on the upswing or 'possibly' try the 8/8/8 within a few weeks. Obviously for convienience I'd like to keep him @ 12/12 if possible - but would no doubt go to 8's if it was to his benefit - (darn cat!) :lol:

Shooting on the upswing heading toward the pink around +10: It seems to me that's a good idea as well, but wouldn't that really mess up the 'routine'?

Thank you both so much for your insight on Blue's numbers. Please let me know what you think of the 'plan' I mentioned above. Thank ya!

Also, how much do you think feeding him less on the 'upswing' could lower his PS numbers? Is it even worth a try?
 
This weekend I plan on being more thorough with the testing to try to see where exactly that nadir is happening with the 1.2U. My thinking is if he's consistently hitting nadir over 50 I 'may' consider raising the dose to 1.3U to see if I can lower those pre-shot numbers.

If it were me - I wouldn't consider raising his dose to 1.3. You are getting good numbers with 1.2 right now. I would try to get him in the yellows then work down to blues etc. Again, every cat is different and I am sure someone else will chime in, so go with what feels right to you. You know your Blue better than we do. I've just found with Prudence if I stayed consistent with my doses... it brought the PS down. Look at Pru's SS again and you will see that I've even shot at a PS of 353 with 0.2 units. I've tried to get her body used to the 0.2 and shooting at the right time to bring things down. I just feel that upping & lowering doses back and forth will keep numbers kind of off.

As far as feeding... how are you feeding now? free feed or just before shooting?
 
Michelle & Prudence said:
This weekend I plan on being more thorough with the testing to try to see where exactly that nadir is happening with the 1.2U. My thinking is if he's consistently hitting nadir over 50 I 'may' consider raising the dose to 1.3U to see if I can lower those pre-shot numbers.

If it were me - I wouldn't consider raising his dose to 1.3. You are getting good numbers with 1.2 right now. I would try to get him in the yellows then work down to blues etc. Again, every cat is different and I am sure someone else will chime in, so go with what feels right to you. You know your Blue better than we do. I've just found with Prudence if I stayed consistent with my doses... it brought the PS down. Look at Pru's SS again and you will see that I've even shot at a PS of 353 with 0.2 units. I've tried to get her body used to the 0.2 and shooting at the right time to bring things down. I just feel that upping & lowering doses back and forth will keep numbers kind of off.

As far as feeding... how are you feeding now? free feed or just before shooting?

OK thanks. I'll cap it at 1.2 for a bit and see if the numbers continue to drop over the next few days/week. I wasn't going to change it (increase or decrease) for awhile in any case.

Right now, Blue eats @ -2, AMPS, +2, and I leave him food while I got to work. If I come home @ +5 I'll feed him some then, but usually he will not eat again until -2 PMPS and then at PMPS. He'll have some more between +3 and +4. Hmmm. So basically he is free feeding. :lol: As I mentioned, I'm currently cutting back a little on the food before PMPS to see if it effects his PMPS numbers. Though I just saw that my GF just fed him a while ago so that screws up my experiment. :-x
 
Another 'hmmm'. 156 @ PMPS - Did not expect that. Dosage suggestions? Maybe a .5? Maybe wait an hour and test again?
 
Hope and Aria said:
I'd wait a 15 minutes to 30 minutes then test again.

I think the site went down for a bit so I didn't see your post til now. I did test at his usual +1 - but no shot given yet. He was at 169. Will test again in 15 min. (+2 usual +PMPS)

I was tempted to shoot a low dose at the 169, but prefer to wait til he approaches 200 and give him the usual 1.2. Maybe a slim 1.2 or 1.0? Sound Reasonable?

I thought I had everything planned out but the extended blues did surprise me. At this point I shouldn't be surprised at anything!

edit: 176 @ the usual +2 ( no shot). I'm really not comfortable shooting him unless there is a clear upswing toward 200. 156, 169, and 176 does not indicate a clear upswing to me considering margin of error. Sorry Blue, I tried to give your ears some time to heal up but apparently they're in for a rough time tonight. ohmygod_smile

Edit 2: Shot him 1.0U at PMPS +3 - he was 218. In hindsight I wish I would have shot him a bit earlier, but played it safe. I think that is a good compromise since I didn't want to stray too far from his usual 1.2U dosage and do not to risk rebound. Things are changing fast it seems, so I guess that is always a possibility. Also, I think that maybe I will be able to stick to the regular schedule more or less. That is one reason I didn't want to shoot a low dose at PMPS.

I will most likely test him once or twice overnight and then GF can test at -2 AMPS to see where it goes. Now that I shot the 1.0U - I'll be tempted to keep him there a bit should the numbers not get out of hand.

Please feel free to post what you all would have done and whether you're in agreement with my dose/timing. As always it is appreciated - especially any criticism.

I've been reading lots of posts and looking at your SS's. I am often tempted to offer opinions, but I'm much too noobish at this point. :mrgreen:
 
I totally agree on not raising the dose just yet. The #s are so good overall, I would stick with 1.2 for a few days (or I think 1u is fine too if the #s don't start trending upwards), lowering if the nadirs start getting down into the low 50s or PSs start coming in under 150 - as you can see, improvement may already be in the works! :) I might try a slightly lowered dose on a 150 PS given his history, maybe 1u or so, and if that doesn't give him good #s then go back to 1.2u.

As far as tonight's shot, it is all a learning experience & data gathering. So after this you will know how this dose did, shot at this timing on this PS, and that will help you make decisions next time. If you had wanted to you could have shot on any of the #s you got (#s were clearly rising based on the 101 to 156 rise), but I totally agree with not shooting on the PSs that are lower than 200 until you have more data - he is a "dropper" ;-) so really, why risk it if you don't have to.

Personally, I wouldn't worry too much about finding his nadir. From what I can see it moves around - sometimes from the dose probably being too high, others could be pancreas action, or just still adjusting overall to the insulin. So I'm not sure that any one (or several even) curve would actually pinpoint it for you, might as well save the test strips for something else IMO. :cool:

I wouldn't worry either about tweaking BID per se or planning ahead for possible TID, i.e. I wouldn't think long-term. I would focus on keeping him in the upper greens and low blues for as many hours as you can. When it appears that cats are going to be long-timers, then to me it makes sense to sit down and figure out what strategy will work best for your lifestyle, keeping them in acceptable #s, etc. When they look to have a sputtering pancreas, what makes sense to me is to focus on as much extended time as possible in non-diabetic #s (knowing that you won't keep them there 24x7, but if you can get a few hours ride most days, that is awesome). For some cats that means going TID or shooting as-needed, for Blue I think sticking with BID is fine, or if you want to shoot early when it looks needed, that makes sense to me too.
 
I have been told by someone that a "safe" upswing should be around 40 points after about +7 to be sure you aren't seeing normal variation.

Yes the +10 shooting does get crazy and I couldn't do it. You end up shooting at all different hours. I don't work and I'm a night owl, so I was OK with 8/8/8 (8:00,4:00,12:00), but he frequently/usually wasn't high enough at +8. (but he was at +10), but then he was due again in the middle of the night, and I just couldn't think clear enough in the middle of the night to not screw up the shot. Then the next shot would be when you are at work...

I have a feeling if you keep doing what you are with a 12/12 that his pancreas is healing, and he is going to keep improving. It might be worth a try, not feeding between +8 to +12. Or it might be ok to feed a very light snack, which might stimulate his pancreas- experiment (and than expect it to change :lol: )

When I first mentioned it, I was not referring to YOU trying TID, but rather to how you might be flexible with the data on the spreadsheet. It seemed at the time that you weren't ready to shoot even at +12,(and you said you lost data cause there was no place to record it), so I was suggesting that you use the right side of the ss to record your +13, +14, +16 or whatever; and then use a new row for the next shot once his number was shootable. In other words, you can use multiple ROWS for the same date. That's what I was suggesting you look at on our ss. Hope I made that more clear this time ohmygod_smile ohmygod_smile ohmygod_smile

edited to add-
I just looked at tonights data and this is a perfect example. The way it reads, I think you shot 1u on a PMPS of 176, when actually you shot 1u on 218 at +15 (not pmps+3 which is what you called it). You could have put the 169, and 176 into the right side of the ss with nothing or 0 written in the PMPS space.
Then you could have put the 218 on the next line as the PS and you are starting over at +1. I bet you are going to see longer durations as he recovers.

Oh and i was also told that the numbers can suddenly jump up in 20 minutes. and sure enough they were right, so if you are really trying to catch the upswing you need to test frequently, (another reason it is very labor intense to shoot TID)
 
I only have a minute, but wanted to jump on here real quick. I think you're doing great at 12/12. Blue is showing awesome numbers :thumbup depending on how the 0.8 works today, you can probably stay between 0.8 or 1.0 then work down from that. As far as feeding - Whatever you're doing... seems to be working :-D I wouldn't change it. Sending you good vibes Blue! cat_pet_icon
 
Wow, you got an 85 nadir off the late shot of 1u, pretty darn good!!!! I agree with your decision to try 0.8u then on a normal shot, since that should have more oomph to it than a late shot. Hope you see good #s today, Blue is doing AWESOME!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Go kitty!!! :mrgreen:
 
Snuck away from work to test Blue so don't have much to say right now except THANK YOU for all your help and good vibes and wishes. I won't be happy until Blue guy is off the juice, but at this stage I'm pleased things 'seem' to be headed in the right direction... more to say later.

drinking24

edit: having a beer or 5 tonight and watching a movie. I've had enough drama for awhile and really don't want to test tonight, but may check on Blue @ +6 or so to see where he is on the 1U. I keep waiting for the pinks to show and won't be surprised when they do - I won't be happy, but I won't be surprised. ;-)

N&C: I'll get that SS corrected to avoid confusion, and you made perfect sense each time you spoke about it. It's me rushing around - not you being unclear. :lol: The 40 point 'safe' swing def seems like a sound rule to go by. If I had more data I would think that I could rely on 30 at some point - just not yet.

M&P: Your Info and vibes are much appreciated! Both are helping...

J&B: I'm glad to see that you agree with my thinking as far as dosages. You're right, it's still a bit of experimentation to see how he reacts while trying to keep his numbers in the 'zone' without crapping out. ( Reminds me a bit of my internet gambling days.) ;) I'll take your advice on the nadir, too. Until I can get a steady dose for a few days I'm not going to worry about it. I'll check around +6 to +9 though just to make sure he's good.

Thanks to you all for being so helpful. I study every word you font very carefully. It's also important to know that I'm doing something positive from folks that have been there. Blue and I and Mitla Cat and GF are sending out GOOD VIBES to all of you as well. Your kitties are lucky to have you, and vice versa I'm sure. :cool:
 
Just something to keep in mind - You had mention on Blue's SS that GF said Blue was eating a lot at pm. Eating a lot could be triggered by low bg's, but shooting the 1.0 he should be fine. Blue could of been lower than 85 maybe he was riding in the 60's around +7... just wanted to point that out to you. Not sure what time PMPS was? but you may want to check at +4 You're doing great! :smile:
 
Agreed, when Cody's numbers are dropping (250 wupppeeee :lol: ) he starts begging for food like he's gonna starve to death. When he starts drinking from the fish bowl we have the other problem :shock:
 
Thanks for pointing that out. However, I should have been more specific in the notes. He was eating 'very well' pre - PMPS - so late afternoon. He gets his shot at 7:30PM. So he was somewhere between 150-200 and rising when he was real hungry.

I tested Big Blue @ PMPS +5 tonight (Well, technically it's morning) and he was @ 128. I prefer it to be slightly lower, but can't complain. He'll most likely drop a bit more hopefully into the green. At least I can get some sleep! 'nite all!

Off topic: Love the AccuCheck Softclix Plus Lancet. Always gives a reliable and measured stick. Much much better than the ones I've used from OneTouch and Relion.
 
Thought I would mention that if you withhold feed at one time then with a normal cat they should want to eat more at the time food is available which has a compounding effect of the food on the BGs. Sometimes one may want this, other times maybe not.
 
Gator & H said:
Thought I would mention that if you withhold feed at one time then with a normal cat they should want to eat more at the time food is available which has a compounding effect of the food on the BGs. Sometimes one may want this, other times maybe not.

Thanks. I'll keep that in mind and look for it. His appetite is good no matter the numbers - green/blue/pink. He loves the Wellness and FF. He's giving me a 'look' when I feed him the Special Kitty Walmart stuff tho.
 
Steve,
When you get to the bottom of page 2 posts, it's probably time to start a new thread- it gets too hard to follow. As you see, folks make topics like "Blue- 4/10" AMPS xxx" If your profile is up to date, then new readers can get the fast facts. :smile:
 
Nancy and Cody said:
Steve,
When you get to the bottom of page 2 posts, it's probably time to start a new thread- it gets too hard to follow. As you see, folks make topics like "Blue- 4/10" AMPS xxx" If your profile is up to date, then new readers can get the fast facts. :smile:

Yes, I knew that about 20 posts ago, but wanted to be polite and respond to the posts directed at me. :mrgreen:

OK. Last post here! I'll start fresh thread when the time comes. - Something like "OH MY GOD! I had A Pink Number 4-10-2010!" :lol:

Thanks for all the input everyone. You've been incredibly helpful!

/End of thread :smile:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top