Dosing advice needed! Pmps 211 on ProZinc 4u

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tucker'sMom-Jen

Member Since 2014
I would greatly appreciate it if someone would look at Tucker's SS and let me know how many units to give him! This is the lowest pmps he has had YAY but coming off the bounce a few days ago I am not sure if I should give 4u again??

If you are not familiar with Tucker, he gets prednisolone 5mg with his pm insulin, 2.5 mg with his am insulin.

Thanks!!!!
 
Hi Jen!

I'm not a ProZinc user, but usually we hold the dose until we start seeing at least some blue

We have a "protocol" for ProZinc but it's not official...have you seen it? ProZinc protocol

Since he's not dropping more than 50% from his PS numbers, I think you're probably good to keep with the 4 units for now and just keep testing

You might want to jump over to the ProZinc Insulin Support Group and start posting over there too. Sometimes it's slower, but that's where the most experienced users are going to be


There is no established protocol for ProZinc. Dose is determined by looking at the history of the kitty – his doses and how he has responded including preshot numbers and midcycle numbers.

Starting Doses
The recommended starting dose for ProZinc or BCP PZI is .5 units or one unit twice daily. It is suggested that if the initial numbers are high, doses can be changed every three cycles, increasing by .5 at a time. If the initial numbers are in the 200-300 range at preshot and midcycle (nadir) numbers are not too low (not 50 and under), increases can be made .25 units at a time. During this early period, especially if wet low carb food is replacing higher carb dry, monitoring is very important. Insulin plus a diet change can result in sudden low numbers or in a gradual lowering of numbers overall, depending on the cat.

Over time, as data is collected and nadir numbers are available, doses can be adjusted more confidently.
If the cat is in the 250+ range at preshot and does not drop 50% or more for nadir, a small adjustment could be considered, if monitoring is possible.
If the cat is in the 250+ range at preshot and drops below 50% at nadir, bouncing is a possibility (bouncing occurs when the cat’s body perceives a drop that is below what has been occurring and releases extra glucose, resulting in an “artificial” rise in numbers) Bouncing most often involves a lower midcycle number than the cat has experienced previously. If bouncing is suspected, any increases in doses should be tiny and monitored carefully.
If the cat is high and flat during the entire cycle, the dose could be raised .5 units, as long as monitoring is possible.

ProZinc and PZI are unique in that they can be dosed in two ways, depending on how the car responds. Some cats seem to do best if a specific dose is held for several cycles. It seems to take that long for their numbers to really change. Some cats respond to a sliding scale, getting a different dose for different preshot numbers. Collecting data will help you see which regiment works best for your cat. If you need help with a sliding scale, ask people on the PZI forum to guide you.

Low Preshot Numbers
The general recommendation for new diabetics is not to shoot a preshot under 200, but to wait 20 minutes (without feeding as food raises blood glucose levels) and retest. If the number is rising and above 200, then a shot can be given with perhaps a little less insulin given.

If midcycle (nadir) numbers are in the 40-50 range, the cat should be carefully monitored for the next couple of hours with tests given every 30 minutes as long as the cat stays low. First small amounts of low carb food can be given to raise the blood glucose levels. If that doesn’t raise the levels, higher carb food should be given. If the levels are dropping and below 40, then honey can be put directly on the cat’s gums. If the numbers still aren’t rising, a trip to an emergency vet is probably necessary.

If one preshot is above 200 and shootable, and one preshot is too low to shoot, it probably means the dose is a little too high and lasting more than the usual 12 hours. Try reducing by at least .25 to see if you get two shootable preshot numbers (ideal) rather than one that is too high and one that is too low to shoot (not ideal)

If you are using U40 syringes and find yourself trying to eyeball doses under .5, you may want to consider using U100 needles and the conversion chart. (Conversion chart) This will allow you to give mini doses.

It is important to test for ketones regularly, at least once weekly even if the cat is eating well and has no infection present. Test daily if any infection is present, the cat is not eating well and/or is in higher ranges. Testing for ketones can catch DKA early. Cats with DKA should be seen immediately by a vet.

Data Collection
Until the bean gets data on their cat’s responses to the insulin, advice on dose changes can be gotten on the forum or from the vet. Using a spreadsheet to record data is the best way to share this data with forum members and the vet.
 
Hi Chris! So happy to "see" you :-)

I was just reading that, so thank you for confirming I was looking in the right direction.
You think I am safe with 4u? I can't believe how nervous I am now that he is showing yellows LOL

I will retest in 2-3 and can set the alarm if needed -that is what I had to do when we hit blues.

Jen
 
So far it's not taking him too low, so I'd just hold for now

The cool thing about home testing is that you are always in control...IF his BG goes down under 50, you just give food or Karo and it comes up. The people that get into big trouble are the ones that don't test.

Now Tucker...it's time to work that juice!!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top