Dosing advice needed asap for Bob!

Status
Not open for further replies.

Gummers

Member Since 2013
Its night time and I just got a 166bgl from Bob. I know my options are to skip, stall, or shoot lower, but I'm not sure what is best in my case.

I don't know that stalling is an option because Bob is already chowing down on food.

I don't know that I can lower the dose by much as I already only give 0.5... I guess I could do 0.25?

So best idea to skip? He seems inconsistent so I am worried about giving him insulin and having him get really low tonight.
 
Just to get this out there quickly, I would suggest skipping. It'll take me a while to explain my logic, but I know you need a quick answer.
 
I second the vote for skipping.

You do not have a lot of test number history to base a full dose on.

We don't know if numbers are rising from the food influence or on their own. So reducing to the 0.25U is iffy.

Skipping is always safer.

'Better too high for day, than too low for a minute.'
 
Why I said "skip".

1 - stalling wasn't going to be effective if he was already eating.
2 - You'd never shot a number below 245 before.
3 - You can't be sure if the number was still dropping, steady or rising (although this might not be as big a concern with Lantus as it would be for another insulin).
4 - Whether you shot the normal dose, or the reduced .25u dose, you would still need to monitor tonight in case the number went low.
5 - There isn't enough "night cycle" data to know what his numbers might do.
6 - Looking at the PM number on 6/22 (299) and the AM number on 6/23 (400), there's a chance that he went low that night and the 400 could be a "bounce" due to that. If that is the case, then it could also be possible that tonight's PMPS is evidence that the bounce didn't last long, and it was "clearing". And when bounces clear, there is a good chance that the upcoming cycle could be an "active cycle", meaning his numbers could drop lower. If that happens, you could be up testing for the next few hours. Suggesting that you shoot a number below 200 for the first time would be followed by "if you can stay up and get some tests over the first few hours of this cycle" as a condition.

So given all that, I thought skipping was the best option.
 
Over time you will need to learn to shoot at these lower numbers - shoot low to stay low - but you need the data to know how your cat will behave.. here is some reading.. http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=147

Anyway I think at this point you might want to start posting on the Tight Regulation board now that you have your profile set up (although more photos would have been nice! :smile: ) http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewforum.php?f=9

It is full of more experienced members who can advise on dose and it has a strong sense of community. I post there every other day to ensure they keep an eye on my boys ;) Many people post daily to ensure they get eyes on their cats and are keeping on top of things. You are welcome to continue to post here, I just think that they might be able to help you more over there with dose etc.

Heres how to post
Every day ( or as often as you can) you open a new thread/post. We call them "condos"
- The subject has the date/cats name and BG readings ie 06/23 Bob AMPS 400 +2 333 + 5 224. You add a ? icon if you have a question. You can update your subject as you get a reading, or whenever

- The contents of your post have a quick update on how Bob is feeling as regards the 5Ps ( peeing. pooing, preening, playing and purring) and any questions and a link to your previous post ie : Today Bob was in a good mood, playing and eating well. But he is peeing a lot and his BG is really high. Should I increase the dose?

For your first post put "newbie" also in your subject so everyone can welcome you!
Wendy
 
There is no rush to post in one of the insulin specific support groups. I like to suggest that people go over to their insulin specific support group and check it out. Read the Stickies at the top of the Topics section. Read a few condos posted by other members. Get a feel for how the forum works. See if you think it would be a good fit for you.

Lantus actually has 2 forums, the ISG Lantus TR and the ISG "Relaxed Lantus". More active in TR so if you need an immediate answer that is the place to post. Probably 50-65 people post there on a regular basis. I counted and for today, there were 83 condos so far with todays date.

Relaxed Lantus is a bit more laid back. More people following SLGS protocol there. Much less active, maybe 6-8 people posting on a regular basis. Hold the dose longer. If you need an immediate answer to your post, and aren't getting one, do a new post with a link to it in both the Health and TR forums.

Whichever protocol you decide to use with your Lantus dosing, be assured there are people familiar with the 2 different protocols in both these forums.

As Wendy said, you are always welcome to post here in the Feline Health forum for as long as you want.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top