? Dosing advice in advance for 9:00PM shot

Status
Not open for further replies.

shelaghc

Very Active Member
I had increased Jester's dosage to 1.25u because his preshot numbers had been in the 300s for a while.

Pre-shot BG came down over four cycles to the 200s; mid-cycle mostly 100s.

This morning his AMPS was 126 and, after some consulting and considering, I gave him .75u.
His +3 BG was over 200 (non-fasting) and his +6 was 124 (fasting, unintentionally).

Depending upon his PMPS, should I:
go back to 1.25u,
stay with .75u,​
or
return to 1u - his dosage before I increased it on 1/14/18?​

Asking for opinions / advice well in advance so I'm not caught off-guard.

tyk
 
I had increased Jester's dosage to 1.25u because his preshot numbers had been in the 300s for a while.

Pre-shot BG came down over four cycles to the 200s; mid-cycle mostly 100s.

This morning his AMPS was 126 and, after some consulting and considering, I gave him .75u.
His +3 BG was over 200 (non-fasting) and his +6 was 124 (fasting, unintentionally).

Depending upon his PMPS, should I:
go back to 1.25u,
stay with .75u,​
or
return to 1u - his dosage before I increased it on 1/14/18?​

Asking for opinions / advice well in advance so I'm not caught off-guard.

tyk
The frustrating answer for now is it'll depend on what his PMPS is. So far today he's doing nicely at the 0.75 u dose. It looks like he had extra duration from last night's 1.25 u dose. That can be a sign of a slightly too high dose but his numbers after today's AMPS are fairly flat. Lots of guesswork in this game ... o_O
 
So if he's in the upper 100s or above, maybe give 1.25 a try again?
And if he's in the mid-to low 100s try .75 again?
 
So if he's in the upper 100s or above, maybe give 1.25 a try again?
And if he's in the mid-to low 100s try .75 again?
If he's in the low-ish blues like this AM and this afternoon I'd give 0.75 u again. I'm not a fan of widely divergent doses AM and PM so maybe 1.0 u if his PMPS is low to mid yellow. If he's high yellow or pink, maybe try 1.25 u. Basically you have to look at your SS data to see how he responded when you gave these doses at certain PS levels.
 
If he's in the low-ish blues like this AM and this afternoon I'd give 0.75 u again. I'm not a fan of widely divergent doses AM and PM so maybe 1.0 u if his PMPS is low to mid yellow. If he's high yellow or pink, maybe try 1.25 u. Basically you have to look at your SS data to see how he responded when you gave these doses at certain PS levels.

I've noticed one school of thought is, unless there's a chance that the BG might go dangerously low, to keep to the same dosage for at least three cycles.

Do you think that might be a reasonable rule of thumb for me to use right now?

Using that as a guideline, along with the suggestion to not change doses between AM and PM, might help me when I'm uncertain of whether to change dosages or not.
 
I’d only keep the same dose on low-ish PSs for three cycles if the odds of going too low are very slim. Having a large SS data base to refer to is helpful there. You keep a dose for at least three cycles to see what it can do. If BG stays too high you’d increase after those three cycles. All it takes is one cycle where the BG goes too low to trigger a decrease in dose. If a dose is producing a nice range of numbers you keep it as long as it’s working.
 
So Jester's PMPS went to just over 300. I decided to go with your philosophy of keeping the AM/PM dose the same.

I got less than four hours of sleep last night and my brain cells aren't communicating very well with each other.

:-)

I'll do a +3 at midnight. Presuming all is well then, Jester will go about 8 hours without eating and the chances of him going low will be low as well.

Thank you for holding my hand.

*g*
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top