Dosing advice for today needed-PMPS 5.3

Cheryl and Monster

Member Since 2022
PM - blood sugar is at 5.3 Hello, I posted yesterday as I was concerned with the amount of bouncing around Monster is doing leading to extreme highs. He doesn’t seem comfortable yet with low numbers. This means often when he earns a reduction it fails. We decided to reduce the threshold for a reduction. The problem is when he goes low he would go really low and lead to a potential hypo situation if I wasn’t there to feed. Today I was lucky I was working from home to give. Mc food to prevent this from happening. He did earn a reduction, but I’m concerned he will go high again and then have to increase. Any advice is appreciated.
 
Last edited:
That is a lovely am cycle.
You can't do much about bouncing except let him get used to the lower numbers.
The bounce could last for 6 cycles. Just keep doing what you are doing. The new dose is 3.5U.
The drop to the greens was because he came off the bounce. Just be aware when he is coming off the bounce he could drop into lower numbers, which is ultimately what you want.
 
I see you shot just 1 unit tonight. I would go back to 3.5 units tomorrow morning. At some point, you will have to start shooting lower numbers, when you are home to monitor him. People following SLGS can shoot as low as 90 with the data to do so. The lovely thing about Lantus is that low preshots lead to very flat cycles.
 
That is a lovely am cycle.
You can't do much about bouncing except let him get used to the lower numbers.
The bounce could last for 6 cycles. Just keep doing what you are doing. The new dose is 3.5U.
The drop to the greens was because he came off the bounce. Just be aware when he is coming off the bounce he could drop into lower numbers, which is ultimately what you want.
Thank you.
 
I see you shot just 1 unit tonight. I would go back to 3.5 units tomorrow morning. At some point, you will have to start shooting lower numbers, when you are home to monitor him. People following SLGS can shoot as low as 90 with the data to do so. The lovely thing about Lantus is that low preshots lead to very flat cycles.
He doesn’t seem to be flat. We seem to have significant drops when I shoot him with the insulin. We have had some nice lower numbers, but than he bounces extremely high.
 
Right now Monster is still bouncing. It's very typical behaviour until he starts getting used to lower numbers. He's not there yet. From the New to the Group Sticky Note:
Bouncing is simply a natural reaction to what the cat's system perceives as a BG value that is "too low". "Too low" is relative. If a cat is used to BGs in the 200's, 300's, or higher for a long time, then even a BG that drops to 150 can trigger a "bounce". Bouncing can also be triggered if the blood glucose drops too low and/or too fast.The pancreas, then the liver, release glucogon, glycogen and counter-regulatory hormones. The end result is a dumping of "sugar" into the bloodstream to save the cat from going hypoglycemic from a perceived low. The action is often referred to as "liver panic" or "panicky liver". *Usually*, a bounce will clear kitty's system within 3 days (6 cycles).

Note that last night, you shot an 11.1 (199) and he was very flat for the first half of the cycle, until he bounced.
 
Right now Monster is still bouncing. It's very typical behaviour until he starts getting used to lower numbers. He's not there yet. From the New to the Group Sticky Note:
Bouncing is simply a natural reaction to what the cat's system perceives as a BG value that is "too low". "Too low" is relative. If a cat is used to BGs in the 200's, 300's, or higher for a long time, then even a BG that drops to 150 can trigger a "bounce". Bouncing can also be triggered if the blood glucose drops too low and/or too fast.The pancreas, then the liver, release glucogon, glycogen and counter-regulatory hormones. The end result is a dumping of "sugar" into the bloodstream to save the cat from going hypoglycemic from a perceived low. The action is often referred to as "liver panic" or "panicky liver". *Usually*, a bounce will clear kitty's system within 3 days (6 cycles).

Note that last night, you shot an 11.1 (199) and he was very flat for the first half of the cycle, until he bounced.
Yes but more often I am seeing that he drops quickly. Will he eventually get use to lower numbers? I am sorry to be a pain. It scares me.
 
How are you feeding him now? We use food to control the fast drops. Typically a fast drop will happen at onset (when the insulin takes effect). You want to try to have more food on board 1/2 hour before that happens, to slow the rate of the drop. Here is a post that talks about it: Using Food to Manipulate the Curve The more time you can get him to spend in normal blood sugar numbers, the quicker he'll get used to them. Some cats just take longer than others.

What you are seeing is very common. That's why I preferred shooting lower numbers, you don't see those steep drops. Unfortunately steep drops can also cause bounces.
 
How are you feeding him now? We use food to control the fast drops. Typically a fast drop will happen at onset (when the insulin takes effect). You want to try to have more food on board 1/2 hour before that happens, to slow the rate of the drop. Here is a post that talks about it: Using Food to Manipulate the Curve The more time you can get him to spend in normal blood sugar numbers, the quicker he'll get used to them. Some cats just take longer than others.

What you are seeing is very common. That's why I preferred shooting lower numbers, you don't see those steep drops. Unfortunately steep drops can also cause bounces.
Thank you I tried feeding snacks at +1, +2 and +3 and then I started getting too many numbers around 30 without the lows….it is so hard
 
Are you talking about the first week of July? Food experiments take a couple of weeks. At what times are you feeding him now, AM and PM cycles?
 
Thank you I tried feeding snacks at +1, +2 and +3 and then I started getting too many numbers around 30 without the lows….it is so hard
Are you talking about the first week of July? Food experiments take a couple of weeks. At what times are you feeding him now, AM and PM cycles?
i started that on June 27. Now I give snacks in the am when I am home at +3 and +5 and in the pm around +1.5 or 2 and +3 because I go to bed.
 
Back
Top