Dosing Advice for Newbie

Julthejewel

Member Since 2021
Would like some advice on if I should increase my Lucy's prozinc. I am new to all this, diagnosed almost a month ago. I have read as much as I could before starting Lucy's insulin.

A bit of background:
The beginning was tough due to confusing differences between what vet was telling me and what I learned on here and Feline Diabetes Support Group on FB. Vet telling me to give 2u to start every 12hrs. I didn't feel right about that so I started at 1u. Vet was telling me to feed prescription dry DM and that it is acceptable for feline diabetes. Me thinking no way I'm feeding Lucy that and I stop feeding all dry food and switched to low carb wet. Lucy did like dry kibble best so she was being finicky with the wet, not wanting to eat, not eating enough. I think I tried like 10 different brands of low carb foods. She also started out of the gate with constipation issues which didn't help.

Had to bring Lucy back to the vet on 5/14 for constipation. During that visit, vet talked about how 2u was necessary every 12h and me starting at 1u was not good. Also told me to stop testing BG - I said no, I won't do that. Vet told me not to give insulin for the weekend to give Lucy a rest and start again on Monday with the 2units.

I started the 2u 5/16. I think she may have bounced on the 2u, I'm not sure (just learned about this). 5/17 - AMPS was 206 +4 was 56! (took 3 readings) Freaked out, gave Lucy syrup on her gums and higher carb wet. Called vet while this was happening, had to leave message. Got her sugar up and at +6 she was 102. The vet called me back 5 hours later. She again said to stop taking BG, nothing was wrong with the 56, she probably would have gone back up on her own!! Told me spot checking BC and curve checking is not accurate. Told me once again to give Lucy a break since since she is not really eating enough. Said 3 days should get her BG back up and entice her to want to eat. I listened (dumb). Stopped insulin for 3 days.

Started Lucy on insulin again last Friday, 5/21, but only 1u again (not 2u as vet said). Did a curve test on 5/22. AMPS was 286, then she went up to 388 +6. 380 +7, 359 +8, 389 +9 PMPS at +12 was 436. Increased dose by 0.25 yesterday, 5/24, up to 1.25. As of today. 5/25, she has had 3 cycles of 1.25u. AMPS and PMPS have been over 400 - I probably caused this by the roller coaster I explained above, upping dose, lowering dose, stopping and starting. I learned my lesson as far as listening to the vet and I will just take what I want from them and leave the rest of the advice.

Doing a +3, +6, +9 curve today, tomorrow and Thursday, hoping her numbers slowly come down a little more before re-evaluating.

And finally my question!! Based on what I've read, I think I should wait for 3 more cycles before re-evaluating anything as far as dosage. Do you agree ?? Or should I be going up or down with the next dose?

Lucy's spreadsheet
https://drive.google.com/file/d/1yzXhvClfCTF_kNylc4T8qh73IIY6jitO/view?usp=sharing
 
Don’t have excel, nor do most people that help out here. It’s why we use Google sheets.

Our Facebook group is simply titled Feline Diabetes. The group you mentioned is some other group, not affiliated with this group.

Seriously, it’s asking me to sign in to your google account to see the SS.
 
Yes, that SS we can see. Thanks for the fix.

Agree he needs a dose increase. You want to see some blues and greens with the BG levels at nadir.
 
Yes, that SS we can see. Thanks for the fix.

Agree he needs a dose increase. You want to see some blues and greens with the BG levels at nadir.


Thank you! I increased her dose today to 1.50. Will stay at this dose for 3-4 days and increase again to 1.75 as she will probably need it again.

Hope you enjoy your Memorial Day weekend
 
Back
Top