Dosing Advice for Maui (Lantus)

Status
Not open for further replies.

Bdicologero

Member Since 2022
Hi! Just looking for thoughts on Maui's current dose, 3 units of Lantus. I feed him 2.5 cans of fancy feast pate twice daily that he eats throughout the day (picked up 2 hours before testing/shot if there's any left). He has no noticeable symptoms anymore like peeing/drinking a lot or acting starving, and he's gained back most of the weight he initially lost.

Here's his spreadsheet- https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets/d/1QtJgnYO3FxYucnqrRNI3zK74G9FU0Rlv4QYPmmjxX34/htmlview
 
Are you able to get more tests in during the cycles? There are virtually no tests for the pm cycles when cats often drop lower at night. A before bed test is a good habit to get into.
Also a test during the day most days would be helpful. Dosing is based on the nadir… lowest point in the cycle not the Preshot. I would not be comfortable giving dosing advice until I could see more tests in during the cycles. is this doable?

Also a signature would help.
Have you looked at the two dosing methods at the top of the Lantus page in the yellow stickies?
 
Thanks! I'll try to get more tests in and get a signature up.

I didn't know about the different dosing methods until recently. I was going by what the vet said and none of that was mentioned, so I guess we're doing the slow one rather than TR.
 
Thanks! I'll try to get more tests in and get a signature up.
0
That would be great thanks.


I didn't know about the different dosing methods until recently. I was going by what the vet said and none of that was mentioned, so I guess we're doing the slow one rather than TR.
Ok. You might like to mention in the signature that you are doing SLGS please and also if you could put it at the top of the SS where it says dosing method. When you have your signature up and running you can attach the SS as well. Then they will both appear at the bottom of all your posts for us all to see. If you have any trouble just let us know.
With SLGS you hold the dose for 7 days then do a curve and that decides the dose.
If the BG drops under 90 you reduce the dose by 0.25 units.
And any increases are 0.25 units after the curves if indicated by the nadirs, unless the nadirs are consistently above 300 in which case you increase by 0.5 units.

Once we get you all set up with everything we can send you over to the Lantus page where you will get lots of help and support.
Keep posting so we can help you:)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top